Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Spices

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.8
75 reviews
|Breakfast & Brunch|Denver, CO 80218

1510 Humboldt St, Denver, CO 80218

(303) 861-7333

http://spicescafe-hub.com/

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(4) · Restaurants

3225 E 42nd Ave

(303) 339-6967

4 people are looking at this business

5.0
(5) · Beer Bar

311 10th St

(303) 927-3648
5.0
(1) · Sandwiches

720 S Colorado Blvd

(303) 758-6239
5.0
(1) · Barbeque

703 Wilcox St

(303) 688-6018

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(4) · Restaurants

5216 Marshall St

(303) 483-1846

5 people are looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt

12021 Pecos St

(303) 451-5131

1 person is looking at this business

About

Specialties Conveniently located in downtown Denver, Spices Café serves delicious breakfast and American fare in a cozy space with patio seating. Next time you find yourself down near Humboldt Street, come check us out! Fresh is the operational concept behind our menu's selections: sandwiches, salads, soups, and breakfast plates are the focus, but all are given a twist of green or grain by chef and proprietor Michael Watren. We prepare all of our items with the highest-quality ingredients. Our delectable breakfast croissant sandwich with cheese & artichoke parmesan spread is a fan favorite in addition to our award-winning soups, our three egg omelettes, and our uniquely delicious

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.8
75 reviews
550
  
43
  
32
  
20
  
11
  
19 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Meghan Nicholson on Foursquare

9 years ago

04/09/2012, 03:42 AM
Can't beat the service! Great place to go for a quick weekend breakfast... definitely try the coffee and the breakfast croissant.
Linda Fogel on Foursquare

10 years ago

02/19/2012, 03:31 AM
A surprise. Limited seating off the beaten path. Breakfast was prepared just right; a generous amount of food . Sorry Snooze, you have been replaced as my favorite breakfast place.
Steve Angelo on Foursquare

10 years ago

11/04/2011, 05:44 AM
Seafood chowder!!
Featured content
Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?
Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices

Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices

Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices
ToscaTosca on Trip Advisor

10 years ago

10/31/2011, 06:36 AM
A unprententious place with absolutely delicious food at rock bottom prices. Spices is the kind of little place that natives discover and treasure, but tourists rarely find out about. Spices deserves better. Chef Michael Watren manages to turn out an amazing array of high quality, delicious breakfasts, lunches, and dinners in his small restaurant, tucked into a narrow triangle behind The Streets of London English pub and a liquor store. Don't be put off by the somewhat-seedy nature of the other two businesses: Spices is a class act. The secret is that Watren is a real chef, who also runs Toque Blanche, his catering business, out of his little deli-style restaurant. The cafe menu offers plenty of choices already, but his daily breakfast and lunch specials take advantage of whatever he has been cooking for the latest wedding reception or corporate function. If you're lucky, you will hit bacon-lettuce-tomato-avocado and salmon sandwich day. Absolutely delicious, with well-prepared fresh salmon topping a fabulous sandwich on good whole wheat bread. . I've enjoyed lamb chops, turkey and dressing, beef stroganoff, and the best cream soups in town. (Watren makes them all in house). The regular menu offers a nice choice of cafe food, but everything is better than usual. Patrons rave about the grilled turkey and avocado melt ($6.50) , the country fried steak and eggs ($8.50), and the Spices Breakfast burrito with eggs, potatoes, pico, lettuce, and bacon, sausage or ham "smothered" with cheese and chile verde sauce ($7.50). I think Spices offers the best vinegar-based cole slaw and the best egg salad that I have ever eaten--anywhere! The salads--Garden, Farmer's, Chicken Caeser ($2.75-$7.95)-- are huge, fresh, and tasty.The burgers, including a black-bean veggie burger ($4.95,) are char-grilled, weigh 1/2 pound and can be enhanced with bacon, onions, mushrooms, blue cheese, jalapenos and more, There is also a selection of English dishes, since the kitchen also serves the pub: curries, Sheperd's Pie, fish and chips. I like the little things about the place. Although the space is tiny, there is an array of sunny windows facing onto a leafy vista outside. There is a great selection of condiments and sodas (Coke and Pepsi products both! Bliss! My coke-drinking boyfriend and I, a Pepsi fan, are in heaven). And best of all: The local classical music station is playing. The locals have discovered Spices for sure; lunchtime will bring a patient line of mental health therapists from the agency across the street, businessmen types from the nearby downtown, retirees from the senior facility nearby, tatooed and pierced kids from the Colfax hip scene, and an occasional lady who lunches, enjoying the good salads. I like to go there mid-morning, catch the lunch special at its freshest and sip my latte in peace, and listen to the classical music. Take the trouble to find Spices and you will be rewarded with an authentic Denver experience and some great food. http://www.spicescafe.com/blog/menus/spicesmenu.pdf including English specialties from the pub at the front of the complexthat he ALSO cooksIt is the back half of a comple
Katieflossom on Trip Advisor

10 years ago

10/02/2011, 01:12 AM
Hidden gem off Colfax Spices Cafe is actually my favourite breakfast and lunch spot in Denver. Slightly tucked away behind Streets of London on Colfax, it doesn't get crazy packed which adds to it's charm. They do a great range of breakfast food for really good prices. I always go for 2 eggs any style, with hash browns and a side of bacon. And also do a whole range of sandwiches, burgers and specials for lunch. The staff are super-friendly and the owner seems to work every hour, but is always happy to help. Nothing more to say, just get down to Spices and give them a try!
Cory Casciato on Foursquare

10 years ago

06/28/2011, 01:29 AM
Breakfast croissant sandwich head become my goto breakfast.
Kate Gilbert on Foursquare

10 years ago

04/18/2011, 06:58 AM
Incredible breakfasts and at great prices. Go for the 2 eggs any style with a side of pancakes, you won't be disappointed!
Mike Luetjen on Foursquare

11 years ago

02/24/2011, 05:05 AM
Ahhhh breakfast!!!!
Mike Luetjen on Foursquare

11 years ago

01/26/2011, 04:14 AM
Now that's Mac and Cheese!!!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.