Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Southport Grocery & Cafe

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
496 reviews
|Cafes|Chicago, IL 60657

3552 N Southport Ave, Ste 1, Chicago, IL 60657

(773) 665-0100

https://southportgrocery.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.9
(12) · Restaurants

3100 Ivy Tech Dr

(219) 462-3805
4.9
(72) · Latin American

3349 N Sheffield Ave

(773) 661-2490

1 person is looking at this business

4.9
(45) · Cafes

19 N Williams St

(815) 477-3296

2 people are looking at this business

4.9
(106) · Restaurants

11 E State St

(630) 296-6690
4.9
(58) · Cafes

2127 W Division St

(872) 206-5581
4.9
(11) · Cafes

600 S Dearborn

(312) 987-1041
About

Southport Grocery & Cafe is an excellent place to go to for brunch or lunch and offers delicious sandwiches and more made with fresh local ingredients. Brisket & Gravy, Chorizo & Eggs, Stuffed French Toast are a must try here. Burger, Grilled Turkey or Club are good options for sandwich lovers. Red Velvet, Vanilla or Chocolate Cupcakes are amazing and taste and smell divine. Freshly made biscuits, scones and various gourmet items can be purchased from the store section.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
496 reviews
5349
  
491
  
328
  
214
  
18
  
6 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Steve l. review for Southport Grocery & Cafe
Steve l. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

03/03/2010, 00:16 AM
Great Place for Lunch Went for lunch twice on a Tuesday & Friday service was quicker on Tuesday. I had a sandwich that was sooooooo good. It was called something Cuban I know it had brisket & ham on it. I was disappointed they didn't have fries but my mouth & waistline thanked me for having the mixed greens salad. I also had the famous cupcakes they were good the icing was really good I have had better but not by much. The cake part was OK they only have 2 flavors white & chocolate. On my 2nd visit I got the cookie to go & it was really good. Servers were attentive place is kind of small (the kind I like) It is located in a cool little area. I will for sure go back a lot when I am in Chicago.
ztr review for Southport Grocery & Cafe
ztr on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/25/2008, 04:27 AM
grubby waiters, pretentious food, expensive – Went for breakfast on a Friday and the waiters all looked like they had just rolled out of bed after a bender. The food was barely ok but the prices were not. Just spent a week in London eating all over the city and did not once have the low level of service that seems standard here. And actually every meal in London was better prepared and less expensive for value received. Suggest the owner take a page from Lettuce Entertain You on staff appearance and attitude. For instance, don't serve cream that has a hair floating on it and make sure that omelets are delivered hot, not cool. Make sure that everything ordered is delivered without being reminded again. Yes, each of those things happened and it wasn't particularly busy. Went to another breakfast spot recently, Orange, that also has a relatively expensive, "interesting" menu but the service there was good and the food worth the $--also served hot.
Megan H. review for Southport Grocery & Cafe
Megan H. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

03/27/2008, 02:32 AM
Favorite Breakfast/Lunch Spot This place is one of my favorites in Chicago for a gourmet breakfast or lunch. I have tried almost everything on the menu and all are excellent. Be prepared to wait - the very small kitchen means entrees take a while to come out but it is worth it.
Featured content
The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy
How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business

How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business

How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business
ken3602 review for Southport Grocery & Cafe
ken3602 on Citysearch

15 years ago

06/12/2007, 04:07 AM
gourmet food in a casual setting – My wife and I had a lunch here once, and were really impressed with their foods. I had a roast beef sandwich, and my wife had a french toast. Both were simply amazing!! We don't live around the cafe, but if we did, we would go there everyday.
Devon R. review for Southport Grocery & Cafe
Devon R. on Insider Pages

15 years ago

08/02/2006, 03:23 AM
Gourmet Goodies The Southport Grocery is a great place to find gourmet gifts for the special cook in your life. They have a wonderful selection of unique and hard to find cooking ingredients, including oils, cheeses, and spices.
timmymc3 review for Southport Grocery & Cafe
timmymc3 on Citysearch

16 years ago

07/22/2006, 06:05 AM
Brutal Service and Overpriced!!! – I went there today and was seated almost immediately as the restaurant was not busy. Our waitress took our order and which included hummus as an appetiser. Thirty minutes later we were still sitting there with no food while four waitresses walked around the nearly empty establishment. We left the restaurant because we were not only frustrated that we could not even get hummus in 30 minutes but the fact that noone even came to check on our table. As we were sitting there we also watched two different couples send their food back. If you are going to charge those prices you should at least get a decent product!!!
natastic review for Southport Grocery & Cafe
natastic on Citysearch

16 years ago

07/14/2006, 01:23 AM
Adorable Brunch spot on Southport! – I adore this place. The food is gourmet at reasonable prices, and there are about 10 different menu items I'm dying to try (cupcake pancakes, ham/cheese french toast, southwest eggs, etc. etc.!) And one of the best parts is the people watching - young/old, conservative/liberal, and everyone is having a great time talking to one another. It's also located in one of the best neighborhoods of Chicago, the Southport corridor. If you're looking for a great way to spend a lazy Sunday morning, go to SoPo Gro!!
Jeanne L. review for Southport Grocery & Cafe
Jeanne L. on Insider Pages

17 years ago

06/02/2005, 06:50 AM
Southport Grocery & Cafe Delicious cafe menu and fun place to shop for tasty non-perishable delicacies, cooking ingredients, high-end chocolate bars, etc. The menu, changed seasonally, is fresh and light. Sit outside and enjoy people-watching along Southport Ave. and catch some rays on a sunny day.
esubkowsky review for Southport Grocery & Cafe
esubkowsky on Citysearch

17 years ago

05/17/2005, 01:05 AM
Pancakes to die for – The bread pudding pancakes with vanilla custard sauce are incredible. Everything we've tried is special and well-executed. A nice touch is seeing how items from the store may be used.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.