Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Sigiri

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
490 reviews
|Sri Lankan|New York, NY 10003

91 1st Avenue, New York, NY 10003

(212) 614-9333

https://casinoofthekings.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.6
(548) · Sri Lankan

668 Bay St

(347) 857-6619
4.5
(314) · Sri Lankan

250 Broome St

(646) 781-9222

2 people are looking at this business

About

Sigiri is an authentic Sri Lankan joint, which serves traditional cuisine with a very Indian touch. A lot of coconut based curries and well cooked vegetables, add a spicy tang to the food. The restaurant itself is cozy and intimate, with a decor of hues of orange and brick red. Sigiri is amazingly inexpensive and a great place for a dinner out if you're feeling adventurous and want to try a new and interesting cuisine.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

Birdeye Score

The Birdeye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the Birdeye Score® is calculated
4.5
490 reviews
5310
  
498
  
330
  
210
  
114
  
28 reviews have no rating
  • 462 Reviews4.5Google
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
surescott on Citysearch

10 years ago

05/07/2011, 08:50 AM
bring cash and peptobismol – I was excited trying this restaurant in view of the excellent reviews. Disappointing. I ordered vegetable fried rice which was watery and tasteless. The beef curry was also overcooked and tough I hardly tasted the curry. The service failed to redeem the bad food. The British wannabe Chinese lady was rude and failed to give the place the authentic Sri Lankan feel that it should exude. Overall, very poor experience. Will not be coming back. Sigiri probably had it's time 3 years ago when all these reviews were made.
aronschor on Citysearch

13 years ago

04/19/2008, 03:19 AM
Great Sri Lankan food – I had the chicken mulligatawny and it was great. It tasted like there were many different spices. It was also BYOB which is nice. Good service.
epicure222 on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/28/2007, 03:14 AM
Uptownisis is a total b*tch. BYOWater next time wuss or maybe you can't handle the heat. Also, this is a BYOB, why would you be consuming water anyways.
Featured content
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
What you need to know about Google customer reviews

What you need to know about Google customer reviews

What you need to know about Google customer reviews
uptownisis on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/01/2007, 09:41 AM
Good, very spicy food--BYOB, but service was inacceptable – I liked how small and intimate this restaurant is. It smells delicious and the food does match the smell. I especially liked the BYOB policy which really helped in keeping our bill affordable. What I didn't like is that we had to ask for everything, service-wise. It was relatively busy because pretty much all the tables were occupied but we literally had to flag down a waiter for menus, water (each and every fill up), to order, to get the bill, etc. Since the food is really spicy I think they should've been more attentive to our water level. Overall though I enjoyed it, the prices are reasonable and the food is really good.
jhartvu on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/01/2007, 01:09 AM
good food at a great price – Before eating here, I'd never had Sri Lankan food before, so I can't say if this is good Sri Lankan food or bad. What I can say, though, is that this food is amazingly tasty regardless. It's got wonderful spiciness and richness to it; everything I had was delicious. The restaurant itself is cozy and intimate. The service isn't amazing, but it's adequate I suppose. Your server's not going to wait on you hand and foot, but the food comes out quickly, which is what's important. Best of all, this place is amazingly inexpensive. Well worth the trip down to the East Village.
missy2silly on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/24/2007, 05:28 AM
A Hidden Find – My boyfriend and I love eating trying out at different restaurants and we're glad we came across this one. The ambiance is casual and romantic, the service was pleasant and the food was delish! We highly recommend the appetizer sampler (great for sharing) and the kotthu roti (a traditional Sri Lankan dish). To finish the night off we ordered the Kiri-Peni (a must-try) and the sweet mango ala mode (to die for). The whole experience was a real treat and we'll definitely come back for more.
wisebrain on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/21/2007, 11:15 AM
MUST TRY!!! – This is AMAZING and deserves 5 stars (I rarely give 5 stars). The food is exquisite, the ambiance is great, and the price is too good to be true!
mr_meursault on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/01/2007, 11:20 AM
Great place – This is a very good and inexpensive restaurant, just off the Indian block in the East Village. The food incredibly tasty, albeit spicy. Just trust the waiters as to their recommendations and you won't be sorry. If you come on a weekend night, you, might have to wait a bit, but they place will be pretty much empty on the weekend.
bajomono on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/17/2007, 02:00 AM
high in sodium and spices – I thought that Sri Lankan food would be very similar to typical Indian food (which I love), but boy was I wrong. The spices are overwhelming and complex, which can usually lead to a good dining experience, but unfortunately that wasn't the case here. After the appetizer sampler (all the sampler pieces tasted the same), my tongue was getting dry and my taste buds were very sensitive to the spices. You know how your tongue starts hurting after eating too much sour candy? That's how my tongue felt after eating the appetizers. The main dishes came and all the spices started blending in together to make my tongue even more sensitive and make eating even more painful. I had to keep drinking water to cleanse my palate throughout the meal and even that didn't really help. To make matters worse, both my boyfriend and I got extremely sick after eating dinner there. In addition, the place was so small that only one person can stand up and walk around at the same time and they hired an overweight waiter who kept bumping into me (without ever apologizing).
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.