Logo White
Watch Demo
4.5
321 reviews
|Restaurants|Chicago, IL 60657

3349 N Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60657

(773) 477-9189

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits

About

This bar's owners have built "The Field of Dreams" for Chicago's gay community. Much like the famed mythical baseball field, "if you build it, they will come"... in droves. This video bar has more than tripled its size since it first opened. But night after night, an eclectic mix of athletic types and club-goers pack the place in. The big-screen TVs show a mix of musicals, comedy and retro 80s videos. But, as with any other self-respecting gay bar, the best watching isn't on the screens, but in the crowd.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.5
321 reviews
5205
  
462
  
318
  
23
  
113
  
20 reviews have no rating
  • 296 Reviews4.5Google
  • 4 Reviews4.3Insider Pages
  • 1 Review5.0Yellow Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Anthony C. on Yellow Pages

2 years ago

12/27/2017, 13:29 PM
Great place to meet up with friends, great music and atmosphere.
Highly recommend this place. Regards
Philou on Citysearch

8 years ago

09/11/2011, 12:53 PM
Passage oblig – En 5 jours pass
Christine T. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

10/01/2009, 08:50 AM
Sidetrack is the place to go for their frozen drinks
You must order their frozen drinks you can even ask them to mix the different flavors. There are always a lot of people there but the place is big and worth going there to witness and or to take part in their sing-a-longs.
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
Elisa C. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

09/25/2009, 06:12 AM
Showtunes and slushies
There are two reasons to go to Sidetracks. First and foremost, you go for musical theater Monday. They play movie showtunes and Tony award performances all night long, and every person in the bar sings along and shouts at the screens. It's a unique experience that everyone must have at some point. The second reason is the frozen drinks. It's what you get there, and that's that.
Emily D. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

11/19/2008, 05:25 AM
Fun for the boys (and girls)
huge , always popular bar that caters to the boystown crowd and their female friends. Fun frozen drinks that actually taste good, and a multi floored atmosphere to please all different types, love the rooftop in the summers
Contributor on Citysearch

12 years ago

05/12/2008, 08:22 AM
Boys Town's premier gay bar, this sprawling hangout draws a professional crowd with videos, slushy drinks, and a bi-level rooftop deck. – The Scene
The polished metal facade gives way to a dark, warm interior lit by wall sconces and video screens. There's a room here for every mood, from the dimly lit front and back areas to the sunny, loft-like "glass bar" and rooftop deck. Crowds of casually dressed professional men in their late 20s and early 30s pack the place most nights.
The Draw
Frozen, slushy drinks like the Ketel One krush taste like Kool-Aid, but pack a serious punch. Videos play on more than 30 video monitors scattered around the bar, from showtunes and old-school disco classics t
...  more>>
michaeljjohn on Citysearch

12 years ago

03/11/2008, 12:49 PM
Fantastic – This is the best bar Ive every been too. The bartenders are great, the space is really cool and very clean. Job well done. I LOVE CHICAGO
jericsmall on Citysearch

12 years ago

11/24/2007, 04:37 AM
A Gay Chicago mainstay – Sidetrack has really grown up. The bar is huge nowadays and many of the bartenders have been there for what seems like forever. For good reason...they're probably the friendliest group of bartenders at any gay bar in America of this size. The drinks are poured right too. The bar is a stand-and-model type but with the right friends can be quite fun. For me, it's a walk down memory lane, as I get to see the same old acquaintances from my days in Chicago as I did when I lived there. Sidetrack has the right formula and hopefully will for a long time to come.
seamusid on Citysearch

12 years ago

09/06/2007, 03:10 AM
Great place to relax, & have fun! – Sidetracks is one of the most beautiful bars I've ever seen. The metal and woodwork are just great!
They offer several rooms for different feels.
I noticed a lot of comments about an older crowd and pricey drinks, but I've never noticed that. I think the drink prices are pretty average. And every time I've been here the crowd has been fairly well mixed age-wise.
A great aspect to this bar is the fact that the cruising, meat-market feel is pretty faint. Most people are more caught up in the videos and friends.
If you're visiting, make this a must-see!
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.