Logo White
Watch Demo

Shiok Singapore Kitchen

Own this business?
4.1
219 reviews
|Restaurants|Menlo Park, CA 94025

1137 Chestnut St, Menlo Park, CA 94025

(650) 838-9448

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits

About

Whether you already have a taste for Singaporean cuisine or waiting to try it, there is no better place to experience it than Shiok! Singapore Kitchen. Located on the restaurant strip of Menlo Park, this little eatery is a neighborhood favorite and is known to serve the best Singaporean staple dishes. For those who are new to this cuisine will find that it is actually a blend of flavors native to three nations of the Asian continent - India, China and Malaysia. While keeping the same roots, the flavors have distinctly evolved. Try the Roti Prata, Laksa, Singaporean Chili Crab or Chicken Satay. There is a large variety of meat and seafood specialties on the menu from rolls to noodles and& ric

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.1
219 reviews
587
  
468
  
332
  
212
  
12
  
18 reviews have no rating
  • 201 Reviews4.1Google
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
jharinstein on Citysearch

12 years ago

11/27/2007, 07:49 AM
Tasty and relaxing – I've eaten here several times and always have a good experience. The menu is diverse and affordable. My wife and I always get 5+ dishes. The sea bass and chili crab and amazing. The staff is very friendly and the setting is relaxing and casual.
kokeri2000 on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/07/2006, 03:09 AM
Just average and pricey – The food was OK, nothing special, and the portions were small for the price. We had 2 appetizers, and 3 entrees, the ostrich, pepper prawns and seabass. I felt it was not enough food for 4 people. We ordered rice for 4 and it came in a bowl as if it were for 2 people. I would look for another Singaporean restaurant in the Bay Area.
pmoraisjr on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/17/2006, 11:16 AM
Very good asian – This is one of the best places to eat in the area. They are very nice and the service is great. Check out all the tea selections they have, yum.
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
jasonhwitty on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/11/2006, 07:53 AM
Singapore Fusion!!! – This is authentic singaporean: malay based recipes with chinese cook, mixed in with some indian and then misprononounced to be something you can call Singlish. I like to look at the menu and see chicken rice SURROUNDED by chili based foods. It looks like a little yellow dot in a sea of red.
jackshigh on Citysearch

13 years ago

04/17/2006, 04:33 AM
Finally, Lunch for Adults ... – I recently got the "Cholesterol lecture" from my doctor ... no panic, just eat better and exercise. I quickly discovered how hard is was to eat well for lunch. A burger with fries? Eeek!
I finally found Shiok. For $6.95 I get a tasty (and surprisingly healthy) complete meal with meat, rice, vegetable and salad. And not garbage steam table Chinese. Don't tell the doctor that we share the Roti Prata (bread with curry dipping sauce) for appetizer.
kujala2001 on Citysearch

14 years ago

03/06/2006, 02:48 AM
Keeps you coming back for more!! – Great food and service all round. It's authentic SINGAPORE food... nothing like your make believe fusion types. Neither is it Malaysian or Indonesian cuisine. If you have been to Singapore you'd definitely agree. Prices are reasonable. Considering the sauces and the spices that they use, well, they are to die for. A great blend of taste to boot. We tried the chilli prawns and the pepper crab and it made me miss Singapore so much more. A novel way of serving on plastic plates... cos of the "hawker-center" culture in Sinapore. I'd definitely go back.
ailenelee on Citysearch

14 years ago

10/28/2005, 08:11 AM
Expensive and Not Authentic – We tried the beef samosas which had no beef. Waitress suggested that the beef and vegetarian samosas look the same. Cost $6 for 2 small-ish samosas filled with just potato. We had Hokkien Mee - not authentic Malaysian Hokkien Mee with dark sauce. This dish had barely any sauce or taste. We tried Nonya Fish - tasty but not crispy as advertised. Ambience quite nice. However, every dish was served on a plastic plate - tacky! Overall prices are ok but not worth it for the quality of food. Food arrived quickly. Service was good. There are better Singapore/Malaysian restaurants with better prices - Banana Island, Westlake and Mango Bay, Redwood Shores. A disappointing...  more>>
txfire17 on Citysearch

14 years ago

07/19/2005, 01:31 AM
Fabulous food – I tried this place on the recommendation of a friend...and loved it so much I went back twice more in the same week! The appetizers (sort of tapas style) are fabulous...and the coconut rice...yummy. The dessert menu is not huge...but sooooooo good...coconut ice cream, fried bananas...I'm salivating just thinking about it. Ambience is pretty good, easy to take friends there, not too loud or anything. Service is a little lackadaisical, but the food makes up for it.
foodie911 on Citysearch

14 years ago

06/18/2005, 09:24 AM
Definitely new and improved – Had dinner at shiok last night and was surprised at how different it is now. the deco is much better. love their music selection. the tapas style menu is definitely a great idea. still love their roti prata and the little curry sauce that comes with it. tried their new dish BBQ salmon. definitely not your regular BBQ dish! Their dessert menu is still too small. guess they are not big on dessert in that part of the world. Will definitely go back with some friends again.
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.