BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Sherpa House Restaurant and Culture Center

4.5
772 reviews
()
 1518 Washington Ave, Golden, CO 80401

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(303) 278-7939

Write a review

4on Google, Jan 29, 2017
Great Lunch-Time Buffet! Great Yak Stew! more »
5on Google, Jan 29, 2017
I always love going here. The service is great and the food is amazing. The ambiance is also awesome! more »
3on Google, Jan 29, 2017
Food is pretty good (we usually have the buffet). It's just not over-the-top good. The outdoor seating is great when the weather cooperates. Inside is a bit run-down and low budget. The room that hols the buffet looks more like a temporary structure. None of that really matters though. Everything is clean and the prices are excellent. We like to have lunch here when we're in Golden. more »
5on Google, Jan 29, 2017
Good Nepal food more »
5on Google, Jan 29, 2017
more »
5on Google, Jan 29, 2017
The lunch buffet is great if you want to try a wide variety of food. The Chia Tea is always very delicious. The yak stew is spicy and tasty. My favorite is the vegetarian platter to try a little of everything. The building is beautify decorated. more »
5on Google, Jan 29, 2017
more »
5on Google, Jan 22, 2017
All the food here is excellent. The service is great and the decor is very sherpaesque more »
4on Google, Jan 22, 2017
more »
4on Google, Jan 15, 2017
Very good. A bit small so you may have to wait. Not much like it in the area, definetly worth a try if you live in the area. more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jan 07, 2017
Well I didn't know I was going to love nepalese food. I had the traditional nepalese plate that consisted of a variety of food eaten by Nepalese on a daily basis. It was so good! I'll be back. more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jan 01, 2017
We love to go the Sherpa House. Delicious food, many choices, spicy if you like - but not required to be spicy. Try it. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Dec 20, 2016
I've been to Nepal twice, and love the sense of Nepal brought back by a trip to Sherpa house. Simple dal baht is delicious- warming and satisfying. Haven't had a disappointment on anything on the menu. Vegetable thupka is tasty. If you like Indian food you'll find familiar dishes. You'll also find Tibetan and Nepali dishes. The interior is a worth the trip alone. First room is appointed like a Nepali home. Other rooms have decorations and photos from the country. You'll feel like you traveled farther than Golden. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Dec 15, 2016
Always an experience to have at least once if needed t more on a trip
to Golden. I wish we had one inSan Francisco.
Staff are terrific and very customer service oriented. Ambiance and food
is PERFECT. Eclectic menu.
Well worth checking out.
more »
4on Trip Advisor, Dec 14, 2016
This could be considered an attraction as well as a restaurant. It is packed with pictures, maps and artifacts related to Sherpas and Mt. Everest. The lunch buffet ($9.99) has plenty of spice if that's what you like, but also several mild dishes, mostly chicken. The place was packed for lunch with a long line by the time we left at 12:30, glad we went early before 11:30. The service was generally pretty good. This place is really great in the summer when you can eat on the very large patio. more »
4on Trip Advisor, Dec 03, 2016
Great food and lots of real artifacts makes it seem like you are in the Himalayas!! Get there early or make reservations as it is small more »
4on Trip Advisor, Nov 29, 2016
Parked in downtown Golden, Colorado. We walked up the hill to the Sherpa house where we discovered a charming building and welcoming staff. The buffet was extensive and menu item portions were quite large. We took home leftovers. There was both inside and outside dining available. In addition the menu provided an in depth history of the owner and the Sherpa house. I can see why it is ranked by TripAdvisor as one of the top restaurants in Golden. Try it; you'll like it. more »
4on Trip Advisor, Nov 22, 2016
A great place to bring the kids, they had lots to look at, with the Everest expedition mementos, and various Buddhist and Tibetan artifacts. The service was prompt and friendly, and the food was well-priced and delicious. A nice selection offered. Go early on a weekend night. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Nov 20, 2016
Will be back! We moved from Omaha Ne and loved a place called Mother India. This can now be our home away from home. It's a beautiful atmosphere too. Highly recommend coming on a Sunday for the buffet! more »
4on Trip Advisor, Nov 15, 2016
This is a unique food that will not appeal to everyone (as it did not in our group) but it is fresh and well prepared. Read the menu closely before you go to make sure it is the type of food you would like to try. The setting is an old house which is very cool. Service was very good. more »
4on Trip Advisor, Nov 15, 2016
We were at lookout mountain for the super moon. Found the Sherpa house.
It was very good. Are server was the best compared to what we saw with the rest of the team. Very helpful. Someone was hav
ing there birthday there. Wow what a deal! I'm going for my next birthday. more »
4on Trip Advisor, Nov 14, 2016
It is not just a restaurant. It is a cultural experience. Beautiful building, each room has historical interest and is a shrine to Nepal. The entry and outdoor patio/garden area have artifacts and lovely landscaping. The food has Indian flavors, lots to choose from and craft beer and chai. One of my favorites here in Golden. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Nov 05, 2016
Wow, heard about this place on a restaurant show and tried it. What a find. The food and service are excellent and the cultural experience is top notch. They really work hard to promote the Himalayan mountain culture thru pictures, decoration, and food. The only thing missing is the t-shirt & jeans clad waiters. Traditional dress would complete the setting, at least for the wait staff and greeters. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Nov 04, 2016
We are so glad to have discovered Sherpa House. The service and patio are so pleasant, with a menu that satisfies both curious and cautious diners. We like to take visitors from out of town because the dining is so different from run-of-the-mill restaurants. We much prefer the full menu to buffet. The appetizer platter is a must-do, esp if you have guests. And you can order mild, medium or spicy. You are sure to find something that will please your taste buds here. more »
5on Google, Oct 30, 2016
Just fantastic. Wonderful food, service and environment. Going back asap more »
Page 1 of 31
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
1518 Washington Ave, Golden, CO 80401
Indian
Today 11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
Specialties
Authentic Himalayan food that has a 2,000 years old history. We serve mouth watering dumplings from the plateau of Tibet, delicious curries from the Indian sub continent and the famous Dal Bhat from the city of temples Kathmandu.
History
Established in 2009.
SHERPA, the word describes itself. Hard working people ! After working for different restaurants and industries for many years, i have developed an awareness between the people, food and culture. Culture and food is an integral part of human civilization. They both need to go together. Having this important concept in mind, i looked for putting an authentic Himalayan home with its household artifacts. It took many months for me to find the perfect building that resembles the Sherpa House in the Himalaya. We found this older building in early 2009 and could not be any happier. Ever since we have opened the Sherpa House, it has become the spot for adventure seekers place to get together, talk about their past and future adventure trips to the Himalayas and more importantly we have put more people to their cultural journey. We hope to serve you more many more years.
Meet the Manager
Lhakpa S.
Manager
Quality control and customer service,
more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  474
4  190
3  52
2  13
1  17
26 reviews with no rating
4.5
772 reviews

Request appointment

Date
Time :
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 10,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 100+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence