Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Shanghai River Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.2
278 reviews
|Shanghainese|Houston, TX 77098

2407 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77098

(713) 528-5528

https://www.shanghairiverhouston.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
About

We are a family-owned and operated establishment that has been serving Szechuan and Hunan cuisine since 1970 that is fit for a president, literally! Our executive chef David Wang's Click to enlarge pic of president recipes are family traditions passed down to him by his father, Chef Yung-Lin Wang, who was the personal chef for the former President of Taiwan, Chiang Ching-Kuo.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.2
278 reviews
5154
  
449
  
322
  
216
  
116
  
21 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
michelewambaugh on Citysearch

15 years ago

12/25/2006, 03:40 AM
Great customer service ~ they remember the odd way we like our rice even though we are not regulars! – I thought I could only find (my top favorite) and the rare Chinese dish of prawns with honey glazed walnuts (or pecans) in my home town of San Francisco. You might imagine how high the standards are coming from S. F. So I was completely delighted to find my dish here and well prepared.
marcomman on Citysearch

15 years ago

08/23/2006, 05:41 AM
A great place for a party. – RECOMMENDED Had a birthday party there and it could not have been better. The staff was very helpful in selecting dishes and the closed off room was perfect for 20 people. The food was excellent and you cannot beat the value for the experience! We also have take out from there often and rate it as "very good". TIP: Some dishes are better than others, ask your waiter for recommendations and follow them.
mistress_zazel on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/16/2006, 11:52 AM
Not very good! – The only part of my meal that was even halfway decent was the wonton soup. Everything else was below standard. The egg rolls were greasy, meatless, and very bland, and even the duck sauce had little flavor. For my entree I ordered Moo Goo Gai Pan which was okay, and pork fried rice which was burned. I would certainly not recommend this restaurant!
Featured content
Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers
The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy
alpina on Citysearch

18 years ago

01/21/2004, 01:24 AM
Get the peking duck!!! – I haven't had peking duck...or chinese food this good since I traveled to asia. The food is very authentic and the peking duck is delicious...the skin is very crispy, and it is always fun to watch them prepare it in front of you. The people are friendly and the atmosphere is set in the posh River Oaks/Galleria area. The inside of the restaurant is lavishly decorated with ancient chinese antiques and artifacts to please the eye. The one hour commute was worth it for the peking duck alone!!!
firenginered on Citysearch

19 years ago

07/23/2002, 02:49 AM
Yay for the Spicy Sechwan Dumplings!!! – This is a great place to eat! I have been there many times, and the food and service are always outstanding. I especially love Phillip, the waiter who takes care of us on the weekend. Ask for him- he's great. He will make dinner a lot of fun. Reasonable prices and a pretty decor round out this place as a favorite.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.