Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Shanghai River Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.2
278 reviews
|Shanghainese|Houston, TX 77098

2407 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77098

(713) 528-5528

https://www.shanghairiverhouston.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
About

We are a family-owned and operated establishment that has been serving Szechuan and Hunan cuisine since 1970 that is fit for a president, literally! Our executive chef David Wang's Click to enlarge pic of president recipes are family traditions passed down to him by his father, Chef Yung-Lin Wang, who was the personal chef for the former President of Taiwan, Chiang Ching-Kuo.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.2
278 reviews
5154
  
449
  
322
  
216
  
116
  
21 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
aggieplushokie on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/18/2008, 12:02 PM
Highly Recommended – This is the best place we have found in Houston to go for Chinese food. This is one of the only places in town that serves schezuan shrimp and they do it well. The food here has never been greasy or of poor quality. Service has always been great and waiters are polite and attentive. It is in a very nice setting which you would not expect upon driving up to it in a strip mall. The decor is very classy with a Chinese flair. It would be fine for a date. Portions are good. The prices may seem a little more expensive than other restaurants, but we have found none that compare to the quality put forth from this restaurant. Everything that we have ordered has been good. The sizzling soup is tasty in a comforting way. I really enjoyed the Peking duck which is served table side and schezuan shrimp. I always order their hot tea - you get your own teapot to yourself. We highly recommend this restaurant as so far it has been outstanding in service, quality, and taste.
Jureke on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/22/2008, 14:14 PM
Good Food, Bad Service – We went to Shanghai River recently. The food was great as usual , the ambiance is beautiful as well. The only problem that make us feel very uncomfortable was the waitress . She was rude , have the dont care attitude and never smile.
downtowndiner713 on Citysearch

13 years ago

05/21/2008, 18:45 PM
This is my favorite Chinese restaurant – My favorites are the steamed vegetable dumplings and pan fried dumplings. I can't seem to find them better anywhere else in town. There was only one occasion that I had the pan fried dumplings delivered, and they definitely taste better when you are there eating them at the restaurant because they are more crisp. I have been coming here for years and it is one of my favorite places to eat at. I also recommend the barbecue ribs and peking duck!!
Featured content
How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?

How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?

How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?
How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation

How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation

How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation
Jeanie L. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

04/28/2008, 14:39 PM
Good Shanghai food The customer service is good normally. The food comes kinda slow during the busy hours. The food tastes pretty typical. Meanwhile, there are much variety. The price is OK. A little bit expensive, like all Shanghai food.
oooitzbe on Citysearch

14 years ago

09/25/2007, 15:46 PM
Not great! – I read all of these great reviews on here, so I went with a couple of friends. Our waitor was horrible. She ignored us. The food took forever, and the good was not good. I've had way better Chinese food at other restaurants for cheaper prices. They overcharged my debit card, and eventually they put the money back. I do not recommend it.
stahmer713 on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/29/2007, 15:37 PM
Food is great and nice delivery people – My favorites here are the barbecue ribs, steamed dumplings, and peking duck. Whenever I forget about Shanghai River, my daughter is always there to remind me to order her favorite dish...the steamed dumplings. She is absolutely hooked on those things. Our family has never been to visit the restaurant, but the food and delivery is always great. However, if I could change one thing it would be to bring back the online ordering on the website. That made it sooo much easier to order.
montroseguy on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/16/2007, 05:55 AM
Excellent Food! – A group of us at work ordered delivery today since the weather was so bad. The Chinese restaurant we normally order from was either too busy or they had taken their phone off the hook because we just could not get through. I was thankful that we didn't. Granted I had a very basic chinese meal (Beef Pepper Steak), but I was amazed at the taste. This is the best Chinese food I have had since I moved from New York City. I will be frequenting this restaurant in the future.
houtx on Citysearch

14 years ago

05/05/2007, 18:43 PM
Even the rice was terrible! – Do not go to Shanghai River Restaurant! Based upon the reviews I tried both the spicy dumplings and peking duck. Both were terrible. If you added a bit of jelly to the dumplings it would taste like a peanut butter and jelly sandwhich. The duck was wrapped in a paper like substance which was hard and tasted like paper (I assume that is what paper would taste like). Overall everything was pretty much void of any flavor, and no spice at all. The only funny part is that the rice was no good either. It was dry, and stale!!! I left the restaurant hungry, frustrated and 70 bucks lighter
Contributor on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/06/2007, 02:04 AM
Longtime River Oaks favorite for white tablecloth dining and authentic Chinese flavors. – In Short The Wang family has been serving authentic Hunan and Szechuan dishes to Houstonians for more than 30 years. The candlelight illuminates the upscale decor and beautifully lavish Chinese paintings, adding to the intimate atmosphere. Savor a predinner cocktail at the cozy, walnut-paneled bar which is ideal for dinner for one. Menu favorites include the crispy Peking duck prepared tableside as well as the order-ahead ginger steamed fish. Spice can be adjusted according to your palate.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.