Logo White
Watch Demo

Shanghai River Restaurant

Own this business?
4.2
226 reviews
|Restaurants|Houston, TX 77098

2407 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77098

(713) 528-5528

https://www.shanghairiverhouston.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits

About

We are a family-owned and operated establishment that has been serving Szechuan and Hunan cuisine since 1970 that is fit for a president, literally! Our executive chef David Wang's Click to enlarge pic of president recipes are family traditions passed down to him by his father, Chef Yung-Lin Wang, who was the personal chef for the former President of Taiwan, Chiang Ching-Kuo.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.2
226 reviews
5119
  
439
  
320
  
215
  
112
  
21 reviews have no rating
  • 203 Reviews4.2Google
  • 2 Reviews2.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Joan A. on Citysearch

7 years ago

08/28/2013, 14:55 PM
great food! This is a best place for a family dinner. Lots of seats.
Jeffrey S. on Citysearch

8 years ago

12/26/2011, 00:39 AM
Terrible Chinese – My wife and I ate here regularly for years but the last several months things have really gone down hill. There are just so many great places to eat in Houston way waste money on a bad meal. If you ask they will bring out a pickled cabbage which is great but you have to ask. Generally we dine early and usually ate simple selections like hot and sour soup, wonton soup, barbequed ribs, fried rice and their house specialty whole crispy fried fiush. The soups have failed being consistent, If the won ton soup is good it is usually great, but often it is served warm (not hot) and the won tons taste uncoojked? The ribs when fresh are also tastey but we gave up the last time after eating ribs which tasted like they were cooked a month bvefore we arrived. The whole crispy fried fish was typiucally a very good dish but the last time we ordered oit the fish smelled like fishg and you know what that means. We will not go back.
jamani03 on Citysearch

10 years ago

10/20/2009, 03:25 AM
really good food – my family and i love the food. we will go back. the dinner for four was more than enough
Featured content
Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
ADSpreeman on Citysearch

11 years ago

04/28/2009, 05:57 AM
Not made to order – The food was not bad, but it was not the best either. Ming's restraurant was a lot better than this. I had asked the server for sesame chicken with noodles instead of fried rice. She said, "I'm sorry, but we do not allow that." I said, "Why?" She repled, "We just don't." That made me angry, but I was hungry, so I figured I would just eat what I could. There was no way for me to even get noodles on the side! The noodles they make have shrimp, beef, and chicken in it. It was good, but it frustrated me that I could not just have prepared noodles with my sesame chicken. I won't go there again.
imajin8 on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/16/2009, 04:39 AM
Still searching for great inner loop delivered chinese – In the endless pursuit to find the best chinese food delivery we decided to try Shanghai river, which I hadn't tried in a couple of years. It's more expensive than Auntie Chang's. But then again, A. Chang's has started halving the size of their portions and using lots of cheap fill ingredients. So, here was the order: hot & sour soup, spring rolls, moo goo gai pan, spicy fried tofu and veggies, and spicy walnut chicken w/ brown rice. Overall, the food arrived hot and promptly. I don't know if it was an off night for the chef - but it was all incredibly bland. Off to a bad start with the soup - it was neither appropriately spicy or sour, and seemed mostly to be bamboo shoots and eggs without all of those luscious exotic mushrooms or flavor I could get at PF changes. The spring rolls were better - large and filled with meat, but again pretty bland. The entrees were better (even if the spicy ones had no spice). They were all filled with luscious real chinese vegetables - baby corn, straw and shitake mushrooms, huge chunks of fresh bamboo... Still because of the blandness of the sauce I ended up soaking them in soy sauce and hot mustard to gain a bit of flavor. They charged extra for the brown rice which wasn't particularly cooked through all the way. The saving grace, was the Walnut Chicken which actually managed to have at least a bit of zing to it and great ingredients. But, I could have paid less and gotten a better meal by just picking up food at PF Chang's (gee, I wish they had delivery). Anyway, I think it'll be another year or so before I give this place a try again. But, if you like bland vs. spicy it might not be a bad option for you.
missarugula on Citysearch

11 years ago

01/19/2009, 13:26 PM
Worst meal we've had in a long time! – I cannot believe that anyone would rate this place highly, much less return after one visit. Although it was nearly empty at 7 pm on a Thursday night, there was no one at the hostess stand when we arrived so we loitered about and then finally ended up sitting at a table on our own. I ordered their steamed chicken with vegetables and special sauce. All I received was vegetables - no chicken or special sauce. My vegetables had been steamed so hard that they were literally slimy and brown. My boyfriend had their tofu/vegetable dish which was so awful that he only ate half of it (and that NEVER happens!). And to top it off, this place ain't cheap. For the food mentioned above plus 2 small cups of soup and 1 house wine and 1 beer, our bill was $50 (before tax and tip). I don't care if Marvin Zindler loved this place before he died, Shanghai River is not somewhere I will ever return.
loveshouston2 on Citysearch

11 years ago

01/18/2009, 11:46 AM
Nice atmospher and service – The atmospher was nice and the service was excellent. Your food was out quickly also. However, the food was just average. My boyfriend had the lamb and said it was okay, a little pland. I had the lettace wraps and thought they were also just okay. We don't regret trying it, but will also continue to seek other establishments to find one that is amazing.
DABarnes on Citysearch

11 years ago

10/03/2008, 15:06 PM
Not edible – Wow. That was the most disappointing chinese food I think we've ever had in our lives. My boyfriend, who will eat just about anything, even refused to take a second bite. They are closed, but in the morning we are bringing everything except the dumplings (just needed jelly and you have a pb&j) and greasy egg rolls(because it's the only decent thing in the order) back for a refund. DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!
DA B. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

10/03/2008, 03:06 AM
CAN'T BELIEVE HOW BAD THE FOOD WAS Wow. That was the most disappointing chinese food I think we've ever had in our lives. My boyfriend, who will eat just about anything, even refused to take a second bite. They are closed, but in the morning we are bringing everything except the dumplings (just needed jelly and you have a pb&j) and greasy egg rolls(because it's the only two decent items in the order...and we were very hungry) back for a refund. DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.