Logo White
Watch Demo

Seres Restaurant

Own this business?
5.0
53 reviews
|Restaurants|Portland, OR 97209

1105 NW Lovejoy St, Portland, OR 97209

(971) 222-7327

http://seresrestaurant.com

Closed now
Suggest edits

About

Seres Restaurant & Xiao Chi Bar embodies the new age world of Asian cuisine. Their contemporary menu of Szechuan-American cuisine adheres to self-imposed quality factors such as gluten-free ingredients, locally sourced proteins and use of organic produce wherever possible. Whether dining in or taking out, Seres promises classic and familiar favorites of soups, fried rices and noodles with distinct and potent flavor combinations. Serving food that good in every way makes this place quite the highlight here in Portland.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

5.0
53 reviews
53
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
50 reviews have no rating
  • 3 Reviews5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Robert S. on Citysearch

7 years ago

10/17/2012, 01:32 AM
Whenever in the Portland area visiting I try to make it to Seres Restaurant in the Pearl District. The food is excellent and the service is great. The atmosphere is comfortable and quiet. Great restaurant for real Chinese food at a reasonable price.
Jim P. on Citysearch

7 years ago

04/17/2012, 01:07 AM
Either you get it or your don't. This place has been around for a reason. For fresh, clean flavors and a modern Chinese menu that accommodates special requests, it doesn't great better than this. This is not a Cantonese restaurant and should not be compared to restaurants on 82rd. This is a Chinese restaurant with western style that keeps the original flavors of Northern Chinese cooking. I'm from Hong Kong and am used to western influenced Chinese dishes. This style is very popular in Asia. Seres would rock in Hong Kong, no doubt.
merchant460986 on Citysearch

7 years ago

01/10/2012, 00:14 AM
Delicious Chinese food in the Pearl District! Love this place!
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
fortunaminor on Citysearch

9 years ago

02/05/2010, 01:27 AM
Comparing Seres to PF Chang is like comparing pinot noir to grape soda. Seriously, there is no comparison. I have eaten at Seres many times over the year (before and after the name change), and I've eaten at PF Chang's too. PF Chang's? A bland, predictable excuse for Chinese food designed to appeal to suburbanites. Seres? The real thing. The food is amazing-- easily the best in Portland (with Hunan Pearl in L.O. coming in a distant second).
Katie R. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

10/06/2009, 01:58 AM
fresh and tasty
Sungari Pearl really is wonderful. You can tell that the ingredients are fresh and of good qualitiy. I especially notice this in dishes with very light sauce, like the sliced prawns with snow peas or chicken in broccoli. If you are vegetarian and like things a little spicy, the dry sauteed string beans are a must. The service is usually good, but it can sometimes depend on how busy the restaurant is or which server you get. Either way, the food is worth trying, even if you just get takeout.
audrarose on Citysearch

10 years ago

10/05/2009, 01:08 AM
The best Chinese food in Portland – I like Chinese food, but I was never picky about where I got it or what kind of quality it was until I came to Sungari Pearl ( now Seres). You can tell that the ingredients are fresh. I love the Dry Sauteed String Beans and I won't order General Tso's anywhere else.
danitastic on Citysearch

10 years ago

06/30/2009, 01:17 AM
Fresh Food – The enviroment was clean and relaxing. The service was not real fast, but we didn't mind since we were out for a dining experience. The food was DELICIOUS and our drinks with dinner were fabulous. DO NOT EAT HERE if you are looking for your typical chinese restaurant chain food....it is not even comparable in freshness or quality.
Stephanie M. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

12/01/2008, 00:16 AM
Great Chinese Food!
Sungari's is wonderful. The food is great... enough to share! The place is nearly always quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful. Some traditional things on the menu (General Tso's, etc.) and some new things as well. Try is all. Always a great experience when we go there. Romantic and kid friendly, too. Enjoy!!
PDXLuver on Citysearch

11 years ago

09/08/2008, 01:58 AM
Overpriced - even if the food is okay at best. – My husband and I picked Sungari Pearl over PF Changs, because we were looking for a change. We went in this last Friday - with reservations (even though we DID NOT need them, we were 2 of 6 people there!) and were seated immediately. The service was outstanding, the drinks were amazing (real orchids in the mojito's!) but the food was just so-so! At $15-$17 per entree (for what we ordered), I would expect the food to be amazing, or at least better than PF Changs, and it just wasn't. PF's Seasame Chicken is better, as is their Mongolian Beef! The fried rice at Sungari's doesn't even compare to PF's. Sungari's fried rice was bland - utterly taste...  more>>
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.