Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Russ & Daughters

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.0
10 reviews
|Smokehouse|New York, NY 10002

179 E Houston St, Ste 1, New York, NY 10002

(212) 475-4880 ext. 1

https://www.russanddaughters.com/

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.6
(1166) · Restaurants

179 E Houston St

(212) 475-4880 ext. 2

5 people are looking at this business

About

You will be more than happy to line up for the amazing smoked fish and fresh cream cheeses, nuts and dried fruits at this institution of a Jewish deli. Russ and Daughters has been on the Lower East Side since 1914 and is still going strong, partly because of the wide range of gourmet merchandise they squeeze into the little space, and partly because of the way they make every customer feel special.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.0
10 reviews
52
  
41
  
30
  
21
  
10
  
6 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
maineh20guy review for Russ & Daughters
maineh20guy on Citysearch

11 years ago

10/18/2010, 15:23 PM
Female strand of hair in very expensive fish on holiday – So be prepared for stuck up staff (Jen) that will reject any fault and can’t take any complaints without making you feel horrible. The 50 plus years and 3 generations of family purchasing specialty fish from Russ and Daughters ends now! Our special family occasion reveals a female hair packaged within our very expensive fish. When I called to speak with Niki co owner, the service became ruder and I was called a liar. 100 years is all they have. Keep this up and the decline of long time loyal customers will continue to leave. Think twice if this is for a special occasion.
ragazzamilanese review for Russ & Daughters
ragazzamilanese on Citysearch

12 years ago

11/10/2009, 06:18 AM
Good food but pricey! – This place gets a lot of hype, and the lox is really very good. However, a bagel sandwich with normal lox will easily cost you $12 depending on some of your fixins... Too pricey for daily consumption, but a nice treat on occassion.
Ebozeon review for Russ & Daughters
Ebozeon on Citysearch

13 years ago

12/10/2008, 07:26 AM
Tastiest Treats in New York at Russ & Daughters – We always pass by Russ & Daughters on our way to and from Katz's for pastrami and corned beef sandwiches (yum!) but never stopped in until we saw them featured on a television program. It all looked so clean and the proprietors took such pride in the thin slicing of the smoked salmon that we made a special effort to go the next day. It is a scrupulously clean store, beautifully stocked with all the fresh delicacies for which Jewish cooking is famous. Although we only purchased a quarter pound of smoked salmon (which was FABULOUS), they gave us samples of a few different kinds and were very friendly, funny and informative. One of the owners was there and shared stories about his family with us. The other customers were very helpful and entertaining, as well. We are putting it on our regular Houston Street routine.
Featured content
Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews
Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management
m.a. t. review for Russ & Daughters
m.a. t. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

10/18/2008, 17:57 PM
great fish I love Russ and Daughters. It has great fish and it feels like you've stepped back in time. The people are nice but lines are really long on weekends. The whitefish salad is the best I've ever had.
Ian K. review for Russ & Daughters
Ian K. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

05/17/2008, 11:34 AM
Great Smoked Fish You will be more than happy to line up for the amazing smoked fish and fresh cream cheeses, nuts and dried fruits at this institution of a Jewish deli. Russ and Daughters has been here forever and they still serve up the best quality of food. Always friendly and they make you feel right at home as soon as you walk in.
pattimayonnaise review for Russ & Daughters
pattimayonnaise on Citysearch

15 years ago

11/30/2006, 21:42 PM
Best Lox! – I come here to get my lox and cream cheese. The fish is always super fresh and their cream cheese is delicious. They have different varieties of cream cheese, caviar, baked goods....The staff is super nice, even on the busiest weekends.
Thomas B. review for Russ & Daughters
Thomas B. on Insider Pages

16 years ago

11/03/2005, 00:00 AM
A worthy NY tradition Russ & Daughters is a historic Lower East side tradition that is worth the visit. With a fantastic selection of fish, it is truly a place to see and smell (if you like fish of course). This place does have significant other food selection but this is the place for the kosher seafood lover in all of us.
YOLANDA G. review for Russ & Daughters
YOLANDA G. on Insider Pages

16 years ago

10/26/2005, 03:17 AM
Prices High Classic and historic NY deli doesn't offer much except for high prices. It's been a tourist attraction, but has disintegrated of late. Prices very high.
Contributor review for Russ & Daughters
Contributor on Citysearch

17 years ago

10/13/2004, 15:26 PM
Your every smoked-fish wish will come to life at this Lower East Side legend. – Since 1914, the homey Houston Street establishment has been a hit with both plain and fancy folks on a quest for the tastiest salmon, caviar and herring in town. And though the eponymous daughters have long since retired to points south, there's still ample evidence of the old-school craftsmanship that's made the store such a favorite. Customers' eyes go wide at the sight of succulent oceans of smoked fish and cream cheese. In addition to the fish itself, Russ & Daughters' stock-in-trade is providing party platters for events of all sizes. The generous, sumptuous spreads could impress even cranky old Aunt Sylvia, who's always complaining that she hasn't had decent creamed herring since she left the Old Country.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.