Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Russ & Daughters

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
1167 reviews
|Bagels|New York, NY 10002

179 E Houston St, There Are Three Russ & Daughters: The Store on Houston and the Cafe on Orchard Street, New York, NY 10002

(212) 475-4880 ext. 2

https://www.russanddaughters.com/

Open now:8:00 am - 6:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(25) · Bagels

1565 County Road 517

(908) 852-8424
4.8
(16) · Restaurants

1032 Yonkers Ave

(914) 613-9741
4.7
(235) · Restaurants

100 Summerhill Rd

(732) 251-8857
4.7
(246) · Bagels

117 Front St

(516) 541-7375
4.6
(231) · Restaurants

700 Plaza Dr

(201) 330-0744
4.6
(127) · Restaurants

19 N Broad St

(201) 652-9421
About

You will be more than happy to line up for the amazing smoked fish and fresh cream cheeses, nuts and dried fruits at this institution of a Jewish deli. Russ and Daughters has been on the Lower East Side since 1914 and is still going strong, partly because of the wide range of gourmet merchandise they squeeze into the little space, and partly because of the way they make every customer feel special.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
1,167 reviews
5812
  
4251
  
352
  
222
  
124
  
6 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
RootBeerFloat review for Russ & Daughters
RootBeerFloat on Trip Advisor

11 years ago

05/12/2011, 08:22 AM
Not a Restaurant, but No Matter ... Go There! I'm not a big smoked salmon/lox, cream cheese, bagel person ... but every time in the area of R&D's, I have to stop. Huge selection of smoked fish, from salmon to herring, and so on. They make great bagel sandwhiches. You will not be disappointed.
hihokie review for Russ & Daughters
hihokie on Trip Advisor

11 years ago

05/03/2011, 07:40 AM
What an experience! Ended up here on our way to the Tenement Museum for lunch on a Friday. The place was jam packed! Mostly locals, some other tourists - all getting some great smoked fish! They have the largest selection I've ever seen. My husband & I got sturgeon, salmon & cream cheese on a bagel (minor complaint - he got the type of bagel wrong for my husband - but not a big deal). For as crowded as it was - they did a good job of keeping it organized (you have to take a number when you come in). FYI - not a sit down restaurant - just a counter - but there are a few benches outside to sit and enjoy the goods!
torourke review for Russ & Daughters
torourke on Trip Advisor

11 years ago

04/24/2011, 07:59 AM
If you like lox and bagels or herring this is the place So glad we found Russ and Daughters, every kind of salmon available and fresh. Now I can even have it shipped to me in Colorado. Awesome.
Featured content
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps
maineh20guy review for Russ & Daughters
maineh20guy on Citysearch

11 years ago

10/18/2010, 04:14 AM
Female strand of hair in very expensive fish on holiday – So be prepared for stuck up staff (Jen) that will reject any fault and can’t take any complaints without making you feel horrible. The 50 plus years and 3 generations of family purchasing specialty fish from Russ and Daughters ends now! Our special family occasion reveals a female hair packaged within our very expensive fish. When I called to speak with Niki co owner, the service became ruder and I was called a liar. 100 years is all they have. Keep this up and the decline of long time loyal customers will continue to leave. Think twice if this is for a special occasion.
Skyler K review for Russ & Daughters
Skyler K on Trip Advisor

12 years ago

03/11/2010, 05:46 AM
This IT for Spoked Salmon of all kinds and Sturgeon It's not a "restaurant". This is the Number 1 purveyor of "lox", Smoked Salmon of all kinds, Sturgeons and actually many other smoked fish. This place has been here forever and hasn't changed except for the hand off to the 3rd generation. It's The BEST ! I've been going there since I was an infant (with my parents of course). Now my Daughter enjoys it as well. I must say that the current generation really does not "get" what Customer Service really means, like their predecessors did. Ask for Herman if you can. He's not there on Fridays, Saturdays or Sundays. The place (Like Katz's down the street) is an institution. So it can get VERY crowded on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. They do ship anywhere for properly packed next-day delivery. There is no comparison with this place. It is THE BEST. This review by Your Personal Assistant LLC
ragazzamilanese review for Russ & Daughters
ragazzamilanese on Citysearch

12 years ago

11/10/2009, 09:42 AM
Good food but pricey! – This place gets a lot of hype, and the lox is really very good. However, a bagel sandwich with normal lox will easily cost you $12 depending on some of your fixins... Too pricey for daily consumption, but a nice treat on occassion.
Simonetslsk review for Russ & Daughters
Simonetslsk on Trip Advisor

12 years ago

07/12/2009, 07:56 AM
New York on a Bagel As I was celebrating my birthday in New York on the 4th of July I decided the best place to have a brunch would be Russ and Daughters. I wasn't dissapointed. The quality and service is unbeatable. We had Sturgeon on a Bagel and the Imperial Delight. I am a big fan of new catch Holland herring and, actually, I am from Holland, so, I know a good herring. Of course I needed to try one. Honestly, this was the best one in years, these people know their herring, very fresh and wel cleaned, I was amazed......
Ebozeon review for Russ & Daughters
Ebozeon on Citysearch

13 years ago

12/10/2008, 17:22 PM
Tastiest Treats in New York at Russ & Daughters – We always pass by Russ & Daughters on our way to and from Katz's for pastrami and corned beef sandwiches (yum!) but never stopped in until we saw them featured on a television program. It all looked so clean and the proprietors took such pride in the thin slicing of the smoked salmon that we made a special effort to go the next day. It is a scrupulously clean store, beautifully stocked with all the fresh delicacies for which Jewish cooking is famous. Although we only purchased a quarter pound of smoked salmon (which was FABULOUS), they gave us samples of a few different kinds and were very friendly, funny and informative. One of the owners was there and shared stories about his family with us. The other customers were very helpful and entertaining, as well. We are putting it on our regular Houston Street routine.
m.a. t. review for Russ & Daughters
m.a. t. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

10/18/2008, 03:40 AM
great fish I love Russ and Daughters. It has great fish and it feels like you've stepped back in time. The people are nice but lines are really long on weekends. The whitefish salad is the best I've ever had.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.