Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Russ & Daughters

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
1167 reviews
|Bagels|New York, NY 10002

179 E Houston St, There Are Three Russ & Daughters: The Store on Houston and the Cafe on Orchard Street, New York, NY 10002

(212) 475-4880 ext. 2

https://www.russanddaughters.com/

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(25) · Bagels

1565 County Road 517

(908) 852-8424

1 person is looking at this business

4.8
(16) · Restaurants

1032 Yonkers Ave

(914) 613-9741

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(235) · Restaurants

100 Summerhill Rd

(732) 251-8857

5 people are looking at this business

4.7
(246) · Bagels

117 Front St

(516) 541-7375

1 person is looking at this business

4.6
(231) · Restaurants

700 Plaza Dr

(201) 330-0744

1 person is looking at this business

4.6
(127) · Restaurants

19 N Broad St

(201) 652-9421

2 people are looking at this business

About

You will be more than happy to line up for the amazing smoked fish and fresh cream cheeses, nuts and dried fruits at this institution of a Jewish deli. Russ and Daughters has been on the Lower East Side since 1914 and is still going strong, partly because of the wide range of gourmet merchandise they squeeze into the little space, and partly because of the way they make every customer feel special.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
1,167 reviews
5812
  
4251
  
352
  
222
  
124
  
6 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
ridetheseal review for Russ & Daughters
ridetheseal on Trip Advisor

2 months ago

09/10/2021, 02:47 AM
Stale Rhugellah and tastless Black & White cookies Since moving from NY to Florida I have not been able to find good black and white cookies. So as a treat I ordered from Russ and Daughters through Goldbelly. The delivery process was smooth but we were so dissapointed in the B&W's. The frosting, which makes the cookie, literally had zero taste or flavor. Was literally like wax. We ended up throwing out over half the order they were not worth eating. We also ordered assorted Rhugelah which came to us stale. Never again
Respond to negative reviews
Smb1600 review for Russ & Daughters
Smb1600 on Trip Advisor

2 months ago

08/23/2021, 04:38 AM
Great tradition lives on Short wait to get in , only allowed 5 people at a time.food is as good as always with very helpful staff to serve. Herring and their salty belly lox are still the best
Connector58499152574 review for Russ & Daughters
Connector58499152574 on Trip Advisor

3 months ago

07/31/2021, 08:36 AM
Spot on Haven’t been back here since the pandemic but this place ranks high on the places to go again. Food is great and consistent and even the online gift baskets are top notch
Featured content
Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It
Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management
LoveTravelers1015 review for Russ & Daughters
LoveTravelers1015 on Trip Advisor

4 months ago

07/10/2021, 11:46 AM
The best NYC bagels! The best bagels, lox and dry fruits! We will revisit again soon! We ordered a few different tasty bagels to go as well! This is a jewel deli!
dkunis12 review for Russ & Daughters
dkunis12 on Trip Advisor

7 months ago

04/05/2021, 05:23 AM
Awful Gefilte Fish Ordered some appetizers for Passover. Some were good, such as the horseradish. But the gefilte fish was a group thumb's down with comments such as "worst ever" and disgusting. It has a weird consistency -- like gelatin versus flakey. As bad as the stuff in the jar is, you would be much better off with that than this stuff. Or get it from Meal Mart.
suznmf review for Russ & Daughters
suznmf on Trip Advisor

7 months ago

03/24/2021, 12:39 PM
Disappointed and disgusted with ordef I received $300 of food yesterday Through Goldbelly. The creme fraiche had expired 3/17/2021. The lakes are watery and tasteless. The bully's are average at best. I can't report how the rest of the order is because I haven't got to it yet. I will never order from them again.
Respond to negative reviews
BaysideConnecticut review for Russ & Daughters
BaysideConnecticut on Trip Advisor

8 months ago

03/11/2021, 03:03 AM
Their Western Nova and New Zealand King Salmon are the Arisotelian Ideal of Lox! This review if for the store. We have been going to this wonderful establishment for at least 30 years, the quality never varies. This was our first time since the virus hit and the only thing that has changed is that there is a three person limit in the store at one time. My personal favorite is the Western Nova it is light, delicate, pure flavor, not a hint of grease. This is not cheap at 50 bucks a pound but it is worth every penny. This time I tried the New Zealand King Salmon and it is as good as the Western Nova but in a different way, its texture is finer and the smoky overtones are a bit stronger. So from now on I will be ordering at least half-a-pound of each they are equally good. Don't forget the cream cheese with scallions! After you have some of their Western Nova (or any of their others they are all superb) you will realize that what you have been eating as 'lox' was a pale imitation of this, the essence of lox. As their sign says "In Lox Veritas". They have an extensive selction of other items, to be sure, but the lox is why I go here. If you are living some distance away may I suggest that you take a cooler, buy what you want, and take it home with you. Enjoy!
Experience469899 review for Russ & Daughters
Experience469899 on Trip Advisor

9 months ago

01/30/2021, 06:59 AM
Perfect experience I ordered through Goldbelly for my husband’s birthday and everything arrived perfectly packaged on time and fresh. Everything has been delicious and it has been like a trip to NYC during COVID. Thanks Russ and Daughters.
336alvinm review for Russ & Daughters
336alvinm on Trip Advisor

9 months ago

01/20/2021, 00:21 AM
The Worst DO NOT ORDER RUSS AND DAUGHTERS THRU GOLDBELLY!!!!! We received stale bagels and challah bread. Smoked Salmon was oily and smelled like rancid fish. We threw everything bout. Customer service at Goldbelly told me that there was nothing that they were willing to do about it. I WILL NEVER USE GOLDBELLY AGAIN!!!!
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.