BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Po Po Family Restaurant

3.4
18 reviews
(American (Traditional))
 829 FM 289, Boerne, TX 78006US

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(830) 537-4194

Write a review

1on Google, May 12, 2015
Our son and daughter-in-law came to town for the weekend and we decided to eat at PoPo's since we hadn't been in a while. BOY, WAS THAT A MISTAKE! Prices went sky high and portions down. Since my husband are seniors (no senior menu at all) we opted for the not so hungry thinking we could have meat, baked potato and salad but just smaller portions. Were we wrong! The side (1 only) was $1.99 extra and if you wanted a salad etc. you paid full price for that side. RIPOFF! Daughter-in-law had the special (beef tips) - they were overcooked. Son had chicken fried steak - more batter than meat. My husband had the not so hungry catfish strips. They brought him chicken strips and said they were cooked in error but would bring the catfish strips when they were done and he wouldn't be charged extra. Certainly hope not since it was restaurant error. And don't expect to get cheese free for the baked potato - $.99 extra. And no biscuits. Half was through the meal we asked about the biscuits and the waiter said you had to ask for them - cutting down on waste. The waiter tried to make jokes about the different problems and pricing but he wasn't funny at all. Waiter cleared our plates but it was another 10 minutes before he brought the check. Bad experience all the way around. Won't go back. And by the way - Sea Island in San Antonio and Bourbon Street Cafe in Leon Springs put out food just as good if not better and half the price of what PoPo's is. more »
Business Response:
We apologize for your less than extraordinary experience as our guest. We strive to provide our guests with outstanding service and satisfaction when they visit us and that does not appear to be the case here. We would like to rectify these shortcomings with you. To further discuss this review please reach out to a manager.
2on Google, Jan 27, 2015
unhh! more »
3on Google, Jul 28, 2014
They are expensive and overpriced. Wait staff was terrible. On a positive note, our salads were very fresh and the dressing was delicious. However, our bill was over $60 for three salads and a kid9;s chicken plate with fries. more »
3on Google, Mar 23, 2014
Very average and overpriced more »
4on Google, May 16, 2013
We have lived in this area and gone to Po-Po's since I was a little girl. The food has always been very good. It is very unique, with all the plates on the walls. Was a bit concerned after seeing a few negative reviews, but my family went again last week for the first time in 3 years. As always the chicken fried ribeye was tender, crispy and delish. The mashed tators and homemade biscuits excellent. My son said his burger was the best he ever had (all the extra toppings are included), the onion rings crispy and yummy. Its still a great place to eat out in the Hill Country. more »
5on Google, May 16, 2013
We have lived in this area and gone to Po-Po's since I was a little girl. The food has always been very good. It is very unique, with all the plates on the walls. Was a bit concerned after seeing a few negative reviews, but my family went again last week for the first time in 3 years. As always the chicken fried ribeye was tender, crispy and delish. The mashed tators and homemade biscuits excellent. My son said his burger was the best he ever had (all the extra toppings are included), the onion rings crispy and yummy. Its still a great place to eat out in the Hill Country. more »
2on Google, May 16, 2013
absolutely the worst experience i've ever had as a customer and as part of the wait staff. the butter and sour cream you put on your potato is the same butter and sour cream I put on mine last night -- they dump it back and re-serve it to the next customer. i dare you to eat a salad after a short walk through the prep room. staff is unfriendly, the guy doing dishes eats the scraps off dirty plates, Frank the cook is an absolutely nightmare, management sucks and the owner is nuts. more »
3on Google, Jan 14, 2013
I have been here a few times. This is a great place for anything deep-fried. I really enjoyed the fact that I can eat fried gizzards, livers, okra, catfish, and frog legs in one sitting if I should choose to do so. Unfortunately, the hoarding of plates on the walls usually distracts me and makes me wonder if it is truly possible to keep the place clean. more »
3on Google, Jan 14, 2013
An old favorite no longer. The prices have gone through the roof and the food quality has gone through the floor. I would not recommend this restaurant, nor will I return. I can see this restaurant being featured on kitchen nightmares. more »
1on Google, Jan 14, 2013
The person seating had no concept of customer service. He gave is the option of two tables. One was a booth wedged next to a 2-seater with someone in it. The other was next to a table full of old people, one of whom had a walker propped against our table and wouldn't move it. The guy next to the booth moved, so we at down and waited. The host didn't offer us a baby seat, so our infant seat was on the floor. The seating was old with torn leather and the menus look like they were printed in 1975, except the steaks were $30 and the fried chicken was $15, meaning they must've been printed cheaply in the modern monetary system. We waited 5 minutes and no one came to take our order, so we left. Not worth the drive at all. more »
4on Google, Jan 15, 2012
Worth the drive! Everything is good. Service is always great. Try to get their on Rib's night. Recommend making it a part of your trip to the old tunnel to see the bats. more »
2on Google, Jan 16, 2011
I really do not understand the attraction to this place. The food is mediocre and not particularly inexpensive. I mean, they serve frog legs as an appetizer! I find that the plates on the wall in the faint odour is very unappealing. more »
4on Google, Jan 16, 2011
Fried shrimp with hushpuppies was just what I wanted :) more »
5on Google, Jan 16, 2011
i have loved this place for 40 years more »
5on Superpages, Dec 26, 2009
A local favorite and a highly recommended family restaurant serving country fare, excellent black angus steaks, and delicious seafood, etc. . Excellent bar serving international and domestic beers and wines as well as a well stockedhard spirits section. Very friendly and efficient serving staff. Modest to high prices. more »
5on Citysearch, Mar 16, 2009
Best food and service in a long time – The staff is very friendly I was greeted upon walking in and out of the restaurant by quite a few staff members. There is so much to look with the massive amount of plates on the walls a true collection. Our food took a little longer than… more »
5on Yellow Pages, Mar 16, 2009
Dinner at this restaurant was fabulous. When you first walk in there is a warm country home feeling and the walls are COVERED in plates! The hostess and waitstaff did a wonderful job making us feel comfortable while taking care of us. The meatloaf and fried chicken were AMAZING!!! Will be coming back again and again. more »
5on Yellow Pages, Mar 15, 2009
The staff is very friendly I was greeted upon walking in and out of the restaurant by quite a few staff members. There is so much to look with the massive amount of plates on the walls a true collection. Our food took a little longer than expected but nothing to complain about (the waitress did mention that fried chicken does take a little longer to cook). My wife got the Turkey special and I got the Dark Fried Chick more »
Page 1 of 1
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
829 FM 289, Boerne, TX 78006
American (Traditional)
Today 11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
Specialties
Home cooked meals and excellent customer service!
History
Established in 1949.
The structure was first built as a dance hall in 1929 by a rancher and dairyman, Edwin Nelson. There were just gravel roads in the area then. First, he built a gas station and then the dance hall. Nelson City was put on the map at that time and still is on the Texas Highway map, although there is no post office now. Edwin's son, Harold, said he was twelve years old at the time and his job was to cook hamburgers at 5 cents apiece. Soda pop was also a nickel. Another interesting thing was that it was during prohibition so no alcoholic beverages were allowed inside the dance hall. That didn't seem to be a problem however, outside the building because bootleggers peddled moonshine for 25 cents a shot. You could buy larger sizes of moonshine up to $3.00 a gallon. Sold from family to family it is now owned by Sam Bournias who keeps all the recipes and food the exact same!more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  6
4  3
3  4
2  3
1  2
3.4
18 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence