Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Piperade

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
353 reviews
|Basque|San Francisco, CA 94111

1015 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111

(415) 391-2555

http://www.piperade.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
About

Before Gerald Hirigoyen gave the cityBocadillos, a restaurant dedicated to tapas and Spanish cuisine, he established this acclaimed Basque (a region that borders Spain) bistro, in San Francisco's Telegraph Hill neighborhood in 2002. Piperade offers top quality food in a charming atmosphere. The menu incorporates American elements. People flock to this attractive restaurant to enjoy steamed Pacific Snapper, oven roasted duck breast, New York Steak and Marinated Rack of Lamb.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

Birdeye Score

The Birdeye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the Birdeye Score® is calculated
4.5
353 reviews
5200
  
484
  
323
  
29
  
13
  
34 reviews have no rating
  • 319 Reviews4.5Google
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
MelSF on Citysearch

11 years ago

04/21/2010, 02:35 AM
What the heck? – I went to Piperade for two reasons: 1) It's on the Chronicle's top 100 and 2) 7x7's list says you have to try their garlic soup. I went and I hated everything I ate. The garlic soup was pretty gross, I could barely finish it. I ordered some fish dish so boring that I can't even remember what fish I ate. My friend ordered the dungeness crab appetizer, and the New York steak as an entree and didn't like her food either. For over $100 meal, I was not impressed! And we aren't even picky eaters at all!
gbullard on Citysearch

11 years ago

11/09/2009, 03:34 AM
I was born in Spain and mostly all of what I ate during my childhood was Spanish food. Safe to say, I know good Spanish cuisine. Piperade's food is authentic and tastes the same as my grandma would cook. Go there, you'll like it.
willbythebay on Citysearch

13 years ago

03/08/2008, 02:20 AM
Feeling rushed ruins an otherwise great meal – Heard some great reviews and invited another couple to join us. Arrived for the first seating @ 5:30 pm. Practically empty but the hostess nevertheless proceeded to sit us in the back right next to the water station. She brusquely complied when we asked to be seated elsewhere but then seated us right by the front door near the hostess' station. She was not the most welcoming individual and we felt as though we were putting her out. We quickly ordered, the meals came quickly. As many have said, the food was excellent. We had several appetizers (calamari, stuffed peppers and crab) and ordered the duck, chicken and fish. Throughout the course of the evening, we felt rushed by the hostess and the waiter. We felt the glare of the hostess. It seemed that they did not want us to order dessert or after dinner drinks but still had to ask and were disappointed when we said yes to looking at the dessert menu. Although the food was excellent, we'll think twice about returning as it was not a relaxing experience. Given how much we spent, we thought we deserved better service.
Featured content
Birdeye's New Offices: Now in Dallas and Denver too!

Birdeye's New Offices: Now in Dallas and Denver too!

Birdeye's New Offices: Now in Dallas and Denver too!
Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network
welove2eat2008 on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/23/2007, 00:37 AM
Supreme Flavors – Creative menu and flavor pairing! Tasted as if we took a quick trip to San Sebastian. We started with Spanish "cava" and a variety of the most interesting tapas, our favorite was the bacalao carpaccio with fresh oysters and caviar! We also tried the cold white bean salad with fresh anchovies ~ delicious. As a main course, the blue nose bass with brussel sprouts should not be missed; it was cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. Excellent Spanish wine selection.
osgood on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/23/2007, 04:22 AM
My new San Francisco favorite – We showed up late, the place was pretty full and smelled divine. There were some seats at the bar, where we ordered drinks and dinner. It was fabulous. I'd been eating in San Francisco for five days on my company expense account, and Piperade was by far the best money spent. What a relief from the steel and glass ice palaces that are dominating the city. Rustic tables, elegant flatware, excellent glassware, wood floors, low , beamed ceiling gives it a warm, intimate feel. The food was incredible -- the grilled calamari spicy and flavorful, the mussel salad the best I've had outside France -- and the service was remarkable (easy going, efficient and cheerful.) The bartender took great care of us and even doctored up a drink to suit our taste. This is a marvelous restaurant and the price is reasonable, given the quality of the food, service and ambiance.
littlejj on Citysearch

14 years ago

09/18/2006, 01:07 AM
Great Service, Delicious Food, Wonderful Wine, Easy Parking. – I love this restaraunt. I have been here about four times, and the food is always consectutively great! The fish is done to perfection, and the service is excellent. The wine is always a good choice, and the waiters and waiteresses definintely make you feel welcome, and are very good at their job. The atmosphere instead is very romanatic and relaxing. The chandeler made of bottles is very attractive. I highly recommend eating at this restaraunt. And the parking is extremely easy.
senatorsmith on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/20/2006, 04:35 AM
Microwave food in an atmospheric ambience – The food at this establishment has a certain hotel room service quality -- with obviously pricey ingredients that have been thrown together in an uncaring way. And I should know. I travel almost non-stop on business and try my best to go to local restaurants to avoid hotel room service, even of luxury hotels. Unique among restaurants this one actually seems to microwave their food. Dishes were served to me in that super-heated state that can only be generated by a microwave when the food is left beyond the recommended time. I still have some severe burns on my tongue from tucking in too fast into the food. The garlic prawns appetizer I ordered had the mushy quality that is a give away for non-fresh seafood that has been in the freezer too long or have been boiled to the point that the prawn flesh has broken down and completely lost all it prawny texture and flavor. The prawns came with skins on -- probably to hold together the degraded flesh. Desserts were unremarkable and not worth a try. Although the food was unpleasant, the overall ambience of the establishment was quite atmospheric with a candle-lit cellar fit. This could be a romantic place if food is not an important ingredient to the romance, otherwise discussing food and wine shortfalls could become a distraction. The location of this restaurant is in a remote industrial area without much foot or car traffic, potentially something of a security risk at night. Service was professional but cold, without any Latin exuberance. Reservations were very easy to come by.
mluerra on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/07/2006, 03:56 AM
Fabulous! – We finally got around to trying this restaurant, and it was as wonderful as we had heard. The food was amazing, as was the service. The atmosphere is warm and inviting as well. This is now one of our favorites!
m_violet on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/07/2006, 02:39 AM
Fois Gras to die for. – Truly the most memorable portions of my multiple meals at Piperade is the Fois Gras. Absolutely delicious and creative combination of seafood, fruit, etc to make it stunning. I enjoy the boisterous noisy interior, the tapas, the Sauternes but I CRAVE the fois gras. The other day I actually woke up, thinking about the grapes and richness of the liver. Take a risk and try it, check your foods morality at the door - it's worth it.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.