BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Phia Salon

4.7
539 reviews
()
 755 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(614) 545-7100

Write a review

1on Google, Aug 01, 2015
I went here a couple weeks ago and I regretted it. A white lady was doing my hair and as I watched her flat iron it & flip it in the mirror, it looked horrible. It looked worst than when I walked in. I don't think she knew how to do African American hair. She kept asking her co-workers how to do it and what products to use. Overall, the lady was nice. I think her name was Erin. We had good conversations and she was a nice person. I felt sorry for her. So I still payed her and left her a tip. more »
Business Response:
Kanisha, I'm certainly sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. You are right that super curly textures require very different treatment. Our levels are appropriate for 80% to 90% of our clients, but we do have people who are particularly talented with different ethnic hair (Asian hair is very different from African-American hair for example). The great news about that is that since the levels don't always exactly correlate for every hair type, you may be able to get a GREAT value by seeing a lower level who happens to be amazing with your hair type. For your hair, from more expensive to less expensive, I might recommend: Annah, Alyssa, Jonell, and Dovana. You can also always describe your hair type to anyone you speak with when you call in to set an appointment, and the person who books you can make recommendations for a stylist that will be able to meet your specific needs. Your visit was NOT acceptable, so I want to work directly with you to take care of this for you. Please feel free to contact us at guestservices@phiasalon.com so we can make this right. -Elizabeth, Owner
On Citysearch, Jul 27, 2015
The stylist was very helpful is pulling a new style together for me and wasn't afraid to tell me what didn't look good. Besides her great service, the rest of the staff was helpful and friendly from getting tea and putting additional money… more »
On Foursquare, Jul 24, 2015
Betsy always goes above and beyond to make sure I'm satisfied and does a tremendous job! more »
5on Superpages, Jul 24, 2015
I had a great experience at Phia. The staff was great and very accommodating. I felt welcome and appreciated. The facial I received felt amazing and the results lasted. During the facial, I was told what each product was and how it would help my skin. more »
2on Google, Jul 18, 2015
I had bad experience with new talent chopped my length and the senior stylist gave some suggestion to him for proper layers which is also so terrible. At last manager came in and he suggested another stylist should be able to fix it and they have rescheduled again for some alterations and I hope they will do good job. more »
5on Google, Jul 18, 2015
I wanted to experiment with hair color as I've always had very dark hair and unsuccessful results in trying to go lighter. It was important to have an open dialogue with my stylist (Ryann) about skin tone (I'm very rosy) and realistic expectations. I wasn't feeling well the day of my appointment, and Ryann, as always, took super good care of me, including refilling my tea. The color is a unique dark ash blond and works great with my skin tone, and after all the lifting and toning, my hair is still soft. Great job, as always! more »
Business Response:
Victorina, I'm so glad to know we're responsible for that new look you love so much! I can't wait to share your awesome comments with Ryann -- thank you so much for writing to us. Hope to see you again sometime! Take care. -Elizabeth, Owner
5on Google, Jul 18, 2015
Loved how personalized it was, and with the groupon I saved a lot of money. I cant afford my top stylist anymore but i will be back to find a new one thats a bit more in my price range. She did an amazing job and i was able to get an appointment in last minute due to a cancelation.
For Columbus, this is the third place i have tried and so far they are the best, and they obviously care about professionalism, individuality ( we both had septum piercings, yay!), and just a great job achieved. I have recieved several emails on what I would like done, and how I like my hair afterwards. If anything needed to be touched up all i had to do was stop in. Oh, and she showed me how to cut my bangs at home, which was very helpful.
I recommend, which is saying a lot.
more »
Business Response:
Victoria, a personalized experience with us is what you deserve -- thanks for your appreciation. I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience with us so much, and it's simply wonderful to know you'd recommend us. Do you have a recommendation for one of our stylists that work in your price range? If you need some suggests, contact us at guestservices@phiasalon.com. Come back soon! :) -Elizabeth, Owner
On Foursquare, Jul 17, 2015
Wonderful experience, swiftly helped (not always the case) I had the results I hoped for. more »
On Citysearch, Jul 17, 2015
I wanted to go a little lighter with my color for summer. Sabrina did an amazing job using highlights to bring dimension and a lighter, more summery shade to my usual red. It looks great????????but I am always happy after Sabrina does my… more »
5on Google, Jul 12, 2015
I have never had such an amazing experience at a salon! Maria was sweet, funny, and totally understood what I was hoping for! It was a fun environment, the free facial was AMAZING, the blowout was so sleek and gorgeous-- I never usually go for blowouts because I have such straight hair already, but Maria made it look incredible!!- and the color... the color is PHENOM! I felt genuine excitement from everyone I encountered at Phia too. TOTALLY going to always go to them now, for all of my hair needs! more »
Business Response:
Erica, nothing beats knowing we're responsible for the best salon experience you've ever had! Thank you for all of your kind words, and I'll most definitely be sharing them with Maria. Can't wait to see you again! -Elizabeth, Owner
On Citysearch, Jul 06, 2015
The service, care, and attention to detail are just but a few great attributes about going to Phia. Everyone is friendly and willing to help in whatever way possible. Highly recommended. more »
5on Superpages, Jul 01, 2015
Jess was attentive and provided suggestions on how to style my hair. Always a consistently good experience. more »
On Foursquare, Jul 01, 2015
Excellent color n cut...great team wrk....Ryan is a great asset to your salon. ..luv luv luv my hair more »
1on Google, Jun 30, 2015
Save your time and money! Do not go to this salon. I've gone to Phia twice...each time I've gone, I've had to go back a second time to get it redone. The third time I went to there sister salon, Philosophi, and still had the same results...brassy, over processed, over priced, over hyped result. Third time is a charm for me to realize that this salon has no clue how to do hair. They talk like they know what they're doing but I don't believe they actually listen to their clients needs. I booked an appointment with a stylist that was simultaneously doing my hair as well as two others. Perhaps, if they would have focused more on my hair, I would of had better results. This salon does have open availability, but more than likely the stylist will be doing your hair along with someone else's. And more than likely you'll have to return a second time because they didn't listen to what you originally wanted...probably because they overbook. Before I went to this salon, I had very long blonde/highlighted/lowlighted hair. I was tired of getting highlights so I told the stylist that I was looking to do an all over honey/golden blonde color. She must have heard that I wanted to turn my hair light brown because that's what happened. After expressing my disappointment to the manager, and not receiving any kind of remorse for ruining my hair, I was transferred to the owner who spent more time trying to defend the situation rather than trying to find a remedy. Needless to say I had to go back a second time to fix it which left my hair FRIED! I had to purchase protein treatments and deep conditioners to try a nurture my hair back to health. I made this mistake of booking a third appointment and ended up with a bad result once again. Perhaps they do well with cuts and dark shades of hair color, but they definitely don't know how to do blonde hair color. There's no way I will be returning to either of these salons. more »
Business Response:
Laura, I'm extremely perplexed by this review as Phia Salon has not seen seen a Laura Smith since Fall of 2014 (when Philosophi Salon was not open yet). Since that her services do not match your description, I'm certain that was not you. Philosophi Salon on the other hand, has had one Laura Smith as a guest, but she only got a cut. Since there is no record for any of the services you describe, I'm not sure where to go from here. Please feel free to contact us at (614) 545-7100 should you wish to discuss this matter further. -Elizabeth, Owner
5on Google, Jun 30, 2015
My experience was fantastic! The staff was eager to get me taken care of and my stylist (Alyssa) was incredibly personable. She listened to everything I was interested in for my visit and told me what she would do to get me there. My all over highlight was speedy and worth the price. I remember telling Alyssa at the end of my appt that it was the exact look I was going for! My visit was excellent! more »
Business Response:
Deborah, thank you for choosing us! Alyssa constantly brags about how great her salon guests are, and I can see why! We appreciate the review, and please know we'd all love to see you again. Take care :). -Elizabeth, Owner
On Foursquare, Jun 25, 2015
Short wait time, friendly staff, Jess is the best, always get compliments on my hair after i see Jess more »
5on Superpages, Jun 25, 2015
I always have such a great experience at Phia salon. My previous hair stylist left and my new stylist, Sabrina, did very well with my cut. I got a mini facial with my service and she touched up my makeup afterward, which I appreciate. Because my previous stylist left, I was given a 60% discount on the service. It was so nice and shows that Phia salon really cares about their clients! more »
5on Superpages, Jun 17, 2015
I really enjoyed the education I received on caring for my hair, improving the moisture and how to lags longer between washed and appointments. Very knowledgable staff! more »
On Foursquare, Jun 17, 2015
Everything was awesome. Phia always creates a great experience, and my stylist always nails it! more »
5on Google, Jun 16, 2015
In the past I've never had a great experience at a hair salon. Now after going to Phia I can finally say I have. Annah, my stylist, was SUPER knowledgeable, explained what she was doing and why, and did a beautiful job! I will definitely be returning! more »
Business Response:
Jacqui, I'm honored to know that we're responsible for your first great experience at a hair salon! Thank you for your kind words -- I'll be sure to share them with Annah. See you soon! -Elizabeth, Owner
5on Google, Jun 13, 2015
My first visit will certainly not be my last. I loved how thorough they were about everything. They write everything down, double check everything to make sure they know exactly what it is you want done, and then they do an excellent job. I had Sam fix the color of my hair because the previous salon I went to left a toner on for too long. Sam did wonderful work on my hair. She gave me multiple options and we picked the best option for me. Also, free mini facial! This was a refreshing experience at a salon for me. more »
On Citysearch, May 29, 2015
I had a botanical and blowout from Lindsay. It was great she's awesome. My hair looked and felt great afterwards. I didn't wait long at all, was offered a beverage, and treated very nicely! more »
On Foursquare, May 28, 2015
Sabrina is a fantastic stylist. She is the reasom I drive an hour to come to you salon. more »
5on Superpages, May 14, 2015
I love Phia! I only wish that more ladies that like to do up-do's could work on Saturday nights! They are all taken for morning weddings and now with Gretta leaving, I want to continue to keep coming back! more »
On Foursquare, May 13, 2015
I got a trim from Lindsey again.She's awesome and my hair always looks fantastic after visiting. more »
Page 4 of 22
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
755 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215
Hair Salons
Today 7:00 am - 10:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
Specialties
Come be pampered in our upscale, yet down-to-earth "snob-free zone."
With four levels of talent to accommodate any budget, plant and oil based AVEDA products and a complimentary AVEDA Ritual with each service, we aim for your phia experience to be nothing less than perfect. Choose from over 20 stylists who work together as a team and encourage guests to try out another teammate on their next visit. The atmosphere is real, electric, energetic so you can just breathe a sign of relief as you walk through the door and get ready for some pampering.
History
Established in 2004.
Originating from the word "phi" known as the Golden Ratio or Divine Proportion, it is a mathematical ratio that seems to appear recurrently in beautiful things in nature as well as in other things that are seen as "Beautiful". We felt this was appropriate for a salon and for what we wanted to create for our clients, stylists and community. Now in our 2nd year as Phia, we have grown more than 60% over last year. We also decided to partner with Aveda and have earned Concept Status, and expect to be a Lifestyle Salon in the next 6 months (there are under 50 salons Nationwide that have earned Lifestyle status). Our catch phrase is: Come be pampered in our upscale, yet down-to-earth "snob-free zone." We hope you will visit us soon.
Meet the Business Owner
Elizabeth B. Business Owner
As a successful Franchise owner in the past, Elizabeth chose to enter into the field of Beauty to revolutionize the industry. She wanted to bring a business element to her stylists and teach them how to treat clients with class and care, in a positive and "snob-free" atmosphere. Elizabeth's passion is in Health and Wellness, which is one reason why she chose Aveda as her product line. She is involved in the salon on a daily basis and continues to create and follow up on systems that will give clients an amazing experience every time they walk in her salon.
more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  289
4  52
3  6
2  1
1  8
183 reviews with no rating
4.7
539 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence