Logo White
Watch Demo
4.2
275 reviews
|Restaurants|Chamblee, GA 30341

4897 Buford Hwy NE, Ste 113, Chamblee, GA 30341

(770) 220-0308

https://www.penangchamblee.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits

About

One of Atlanta's few Malaysian restaurants, Penang has been applauded by distinguished critics like The New York Times. The intimate dining room never gets very loud, and it provides the perfect atmosphere for a date. Many dishes are strictly vegetarian, but the menu offers a wide array of chicken and beef dishes, too. Try their signature noodle soups, Nasi Lemakor the roti canai. Many dishes are extremely spicy, but fortunately, these are indicated as such on the menu.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.2
275 reviews
5145
  
459
  
325
  
215
  
116
  
15 reviews have no rating
  • 256 Reviews4.2Google
  • 3 Reviews3.7Yellow Pages
  • 1 Review4.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Selva N. on Yellow Pages

4 years ago

02/10/2016, 08:09 AM
If you are in the mood for Malaysian food in the Atlanta area, you have to try this place. The food is excellent, the service is fast and friendly.
Pooja s. on Citysearch

8 years ago

04/01/2012, 06:30 AM
got ripped of and insulted in the end for overpriced food – so so food and awful bad service.Very greedy and rude people. They will charge you more for what you see on the menu. Then they will say you rude things if you try to argue call u fat, or try to call 911. best is stay away for them. There are honestly many other better thai food places in the city where you can go. I honestly do not recommend this to anyone as food is really pricey and owner is really very greedy and rude. I would not recommend anyone to go there not only me there are several other people who have encountered the same thing. I wish I could really complain about the behaviour of that manager.
tzippyd on Citysearch

9 years ago

07/21/2011, 14:27 PM
Worst Restaurant in Atlanta – Worst restaurant experience of my life. I visited Penang last night after hearing good reviews from a friend. The appetizers we ordered were based off of the server's recs and they were mediocre at best. But that's not the point of this review. The real focus is the fish. We ordered the Thai Chili Fish as one of our mains. As soon as the fish was put on our table the stench was nauseating. It was hot, rotten fish covered in red sauce. I immediately told the server and she removed it. Out came the "manager" from the kitchen. He said nothing is wrong with the fish but I can "subsidize" you with something else like a desert. We said no thanks. At this point everyone is sick from the smell of the fish. He brings us the check and the fish ($26) is on the bill. I told the server, we are not paying for fish that is inedible. So the manager comes back out. He has a cell phone in his hand and says "You call or I call". We are confused. Who is he calling? A fish monger to tell us the fish is edible? No, he says "911. You don't pay, I call 911". I said, please call and bring the rotten fish back out here. Of course, he didn't call. They brought us a new bill sans fish. Paid and left. Needless to say, the food was horrible and the management atrocious.
Featured content
How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business

How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business

How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business
Increase online presence with free Scan-Your-Business tool

Increase online presence with free Scan-Your-Business tool

Increase online presence with free Scan-Your-Business tool
EastAsianFoodGuru on Citysearch

9 years ago

02/18/2011, 12:32 PM
Best Malaysian I've Found in Atlanta – This is one of my less frequent Buford Highway haunts, but still a good one. It should be noted, though, that I only rate the food. I'm not into ambiance getting in the way of some good eats. As others have said, the service is poor (sometimes exceptionally so), and the decor of the place is campy at best (with an explosion of fake bamboo). Also mentioned by others, the food does have some occasional misses, but my experience is that it's more like 1 miss out of every 4 visits (although that may be 1 of 3 for trying new items). I've found most of the food to be very good, especially the twice cooked pork shank (which might be one of my top 5 dishes on Buford Highway). So brace yourself for the waiters when you go in (I once had one ask me, "You sure you don't want DIET Coke?"), and get ready to play a little food roulette, but for me the rewards are worth the risks.
jmartin77 on Yellow Pages

9 years ago

01/25/2011, 08:53 AM
This place is only good for a to-go. Roti Canai is simply awesome especially for the price ($3). If you dont mind your food a lil greasy, try the char qua tweay noodles ($7) which is good too. Most menu items are reasonbly priced. The waiters definitely need lessons in hospitality.
kris30096 on Yellow Pages

9 years ago

11/14/2010, 12:42 PM
I just cannot believe the customer service at this restaurant. Make no mistake, the food was good, nothing extra ordinary. The waitress thinks this is a third world country. I don't know how they serve in Malaysia but this is USA, goddammit. No words, threw the menu on the table, didn't ask for a drink. Roti canai was cold, literally cold. The curry was good though. Entree came after 30 minutes, the place was not even crowded. They never wait on the table, ask how everything is. Reading reviews here from years back, I can tell one thing -- they just don't get it.
jentugman on Citysearch

9 years ago

10/23/2010, 02:20 AM
will not return – have been 5 times... each time is a crap shoot. the first time was amazing, second awful and so on....last night we decided to give it one more try.... I still can't get the awful taste out of my mouth. service isn't good either. rude and slow.
kikhan on Citysearch

10 years ago

03/05/2010, 03:36 AM
Excellent Malaysian food! – I have been to Malaysia a couple of times for considerably long visits; and I can tell that this restaurant truly offers authentic Malaysian food. The roti canai, beef rendang, kari puffs, kari ayam, nasi lemak and Hanianese chicken rice are all absolutely fantastic, as are the noodle dishes, the various kinds of fried rice and the couple of different types of whole fish. I have been to this restaurant at least fifty times over the last couple of years and the food has been consistently delicious. Those complaining about customer service must really broaden their minds a little bit. We go to this restaurant to experience Malaysian cuisine in a Malaysian setting. We really should not be expecting the same style from every culture. In most other cultures, the server does not come to your table every few minutes to ask you how you are liking the food. I thought the staff here was nice enough and, of course, the food is absolutely marvelous!
Susan L. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

04/22/2009, 09:12 AM
Great food! I love Penang! The food has never failed me, and the prices are reasonable. One of the most popular dishes, the penang kari mee, can be made with meat or tofu. The satay tofu appetizer is also fabulous. As a vegetarian, I have found Penang to have one of the most extensive vegetarian menus available.
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.