Logo White
Watch Demo

Oaks Veterinary Clinic

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.9
443 reviews
|Veterinarians|Des Moines, IA 50310

2030 27th Street, Des Moines, IA 50310

(515) 279-3654

https://www.oaksveterinaryclinic.com/index.html

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(3) · Veterinarians

1716 Detroit St

(515) 836-4001
5.0
(5) · Healthcare

4631 Merle Hay Rd

(515) 727-4872

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(29) · Healthcare

4450 Northwest 128th Street

(515) 331-9035

6 people are looking at this business

5.0
(27) · Veterinarians

7333 Buffalo Rd

(515) 348-4221
4.9
(155) · Veterinarians

1834 SW White Birch Cir

(515) 963-4565

1 person is looking at this business

4.9
(124) · Healthcare

1126 Greene St

(515) 993-3410
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 60,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.9
443 reviews
5376
  
420
  
32
  
20
  
16
  
39 reviews have no rating
  • 319 Reviews4.9Google
  • 101 Reviews5.0Facebook
  • 12 Reviews4.8Insider Pages
  • Show All
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Kim L. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

02/10/2010, 08:09 AM
Best Vet Practice in Town I can't say enough about Dr. Harmon. Skilled vet with a very nice, pleasant personality. We switched to the Oaks from another vet clinic in Des Moines and are just amazed at what we (and more importantly - our pets) had been missing. Although I have tons of examples - here's a simple one: he was the first vet to discover that one of our dogs was actually missing his microchip, even though we had seen three other vets at the old clinic for nearly two years. I'm just thrilled with Dr. Harmon and the Oaks Clinic and recommend him to everyone. You'll do yourself and your pets a favor by going to him!
Holly S. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

02/10/2010, 07:01 AM
The Oaks Surpasses All Expectations We came to The Oaks after several years of bouncing around to other vets within the Des Moines metro. We were referred by other rabitt owners for their extensive knowledge of rabitts and chinchillas since we have a small zoo here and one of our babies always seems to need good vet care. The Oaks has handled all of our emergencies expertly, from rabitt bladder stones (surgery under $100 and complete recovery), to a severe care of bot fly infestation in two rescued rabitts, to ongoing chinchilla teeth grinding for malocclusion ($30-40 every couple of months), to long term care of a bunny with a paralyzed hip. They helped us to care for our paralyzed bunny for years and were extremely patient with us and unbeliveably kind to our bunny. My Mom also took her cat to them for years as well, until she passed away last year at 28 years old! (not a typo - I thought she might outlive us all) The Oaks says our household is known for the longevity of our pets - but we are positive that our pets are healthy and happy for so long because of the excellent vet care we get there. There may be bigger, more fancy vet offices around town, but where is your money going in those offices? We'd much rather pay for expert care from people who obviously love animals, than office decor or a prime location. Don't your pets deserve the best too?
Jason P. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

02/10/2010, 05:40 AM
Your pets deserve Oaks Yeah, it's a little hard to find at first and may not be a state-of-the-art facility, but it is truly a diamond in the rough. You'd be hard pressed to find anyone as qualified, honest and fair priced as Oaks. The other 5 star reviews of Oaks are deservedly spot on.
Featured content
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
Increase online presence with free Scan-Your-Business tool

Increase online presence with free Scan-Your-Business tool

Increase online presence with free Scan-Your-Business tool
aaron r. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

02/10/2010, 04:08 AM
Top Notch Vet Care With No Frills Beware of first impressions at Oaks Vet Clinic. If you judge this book by its cover, I think you are making a big mistake. Dr. Harmon spends dollars from your fees on top quality staff and equipment instead of building upkeep, and he keeps the fees substantially lower than anywhere else.
AMY W. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

02/10/2010, 04:07 AM
Best Vet In Town Dr. Harmon is the most honest and forthright vet in town. He has taken care of my family's animals for almost 20 years - from the day we brought them in as pups until he helped us through a euthanasia. He tells it like it is - this is no-frills veterinary care. He wants the best for you and your animal, and is gentle with you if it is time to say goodbye. I have never once felt as though I was being pushed into a decision. He is friendly, as is his staff. I wouldn't go to anyone else.
Jordan S. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

02/10/2010, 00:16 AM
Truly a great clinic We've been taking our pets to Oaks for 5+ years now. We first stumbled upon the clinic because we had two rabbits with head tilt. We had taken them to 3 other vets who weren't really sure how to handle the issue. We found Dr. Harmon and he knew exactly what was going on and how to proceed with treatment. He was able to cure one of our rabbits and the other one, who he termed "the miracle bunny", he gave a long comfortable life with the disease. He coached us through this painful process of decision-making and supported us along the way. Dr. Harmon has an uncanny ability to relate to every animal that walks through their door. Now we take our healthy cat and dogs and he is just as good with them as he was with the rabbits. My partner often says that Dr. Harmon doesn't wave with a hand, he waves his paw.
barbaradurrell on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/28/2007, 01:08 AM
Oaks Veterinary Clinic – I cannot say enough about Dr. Harmon and his staff at Oaks Veterinary. He has been my family vet for years and has seen me go through the best and the worst of times. The expertise, empathy and compassion for his customers and their pets is far beyond anything I ever experienced with any other Veterinarian, and I've had pets my entire life. I can call anytime and receive the information I need (even if it may seem dumb at times I'm sure) immediately or I get a call within a very reasonable time. They are so good about working in emergencies and urgent needs which is so important especially when you have older pets. I talk to others sometimes while I'm waiting and we all agree - we'd NEVER go anywhere else. I've seen some fancy new clinics going up but their prices are through the ceililngs as well. Dr. Harmon's clinic is smaller and older, but his prices are reasonable and he will work with you if the need is there. He's so good about handing you a bag of special food or whatever and say try this and see if it helps. Another big plus is my pets don't get all nervous about visiting their doctor. I know some still do, but it's usually pretty layed back in there and every pet leaves with a treat. Of course my dog knows right where they are and will try to help herself even if someone else is already in the treatment room! I really like the fact that everyone is on a first name basis - it's like family. Most of his staff has been there a long time now and know their clients. It's amazing how they remember names and histories which makes me feel all the more confident in the care my pets will receive. I definitely have a lot of faith in Dr. Harmon. I don't know what I'll do when he decides to retire. It will be a huge loss to all of us.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.