BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

North Pointe Motors

4.5
31 reviews
(Auto Repair)
 9140 Terminal Ave, (at Arcadia St), Skokie, IL 60077

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(847) 470-9393

Write a review

5on Facebook, May 19, 2017
more »
5on Facebook, May 05, 2017
Always perfect work! So very happy. My Volvo is like a brand new car. Thank you. more »
Business Response:
Thanks for your business Alexandra!
5on Google, Apr 11, 2017
more »
Business Response:
Thank you for your business Julie!
5on Google, Mar 11, 2017
Great place. Quoted me very fair pricing for the repairs I needed. I ended up using them and couldn't be happier. The owner Tim was very straight forward and honest with what I should expect.
/>Thank you for delivering great service more »
Business Response:
Thanks Thomas! We are glad we were able to assist you!
1on Google, Mar 11, 2017
Hello guys. Unfortunately had bad experience with this company and I want you all to know about it. Recently I came in North Pointe Motors with shuttering vibration problem while driving between 30-35 mph. My thoughts were that problem is coming from transmission. After I talked to them I've been offered to leave truck so they can check what the problem is. After 2 days I received phone call from Adam (front desk guy) and I've been told that problem is coming from intake manifold since one flap is stuck and that causing the vibration and also there is 2 sensors that need to be replaced. Total parts&labor estimate was over 2200$ including 100$ diagnostic fee (determining what the problem is ) (even I haven't been told in the beginning that it would be a charge for it). Okay! I agreed! My extended warranty covered almost "nothing" so I ended up paying over 1800$ directly to them and left vehicle there for another 5 days. After 5 days I received phone call from Adam who told me that problem is fixed there is 99% improvement and I can come to pick my truck up. I was happy about it and didn't even think about over priced charge for this "repair". So after I picked vehicle up and drove it around the block I was shocked ... VIBRATION IS STILL THERE. And there is no improvement at all. I called back and talked to Adam again, explained him that problem is still there and I'm very disappointed since they need to fix the issue that I came in with. He asked me to drive car for another 5 days and if it's not going to disappear to come back. Which I did. After a week I stopped by and asked them what's going on. Vibration is still there, no improvement in dynamics , nothing!!!
They asked to leave the vehicle for another couple days. During this couple days vehicle was parked outside since it was winter time and snow was sitting on top of it , they not even brought it in the shop (yeah I especially was passing by the shop since I work in the area and I felt that they are "fishy")
I got tired of it and I walked in the shop again and talked to the owner Timothy. I was asking for full refund and to install my old parts back and explaining them that they charged me for "diagnostics" and it was their responsibility to find the problem and fix it and if they can't fix it they are obligated to return my money back. Other parts that were replaced had nothing to do with shuttering vibration. He denied and after 2-3 days of constant arguing with owner, he agreed to return only 400$ out of 2200$. They just told me that :-"We dont know what to do with this vehicle"
I would never come back to this shop and do not recommend you to deal with this guys!!! I lost lot of my time and money with them and I don't want you to experience the same.
Btw. My shuttering vibration was fixed by another mechanic , problem was in transmission and he laughed hard that they "sold me" intake manifold replacement since there was no codes for it in ecm errors history.
more »
Business Response:
On November 14th, 2016 Paul Zarubin brought his Mercedes-Benz into our service facility for repairs. He stated that the check engine light was illuminated, and the vehicle had a hesitation and was shaking when driving. We performed diagnostics on his vehicle and determined that there were three failed components on the vehicle that needed replacing. These failed components were: Evaporative emissions purge control solenoid Bank 2 exhaust camshaft adjustment magnet solenoid Physically broken intake manifold flap adjustment levers due to failed intake manifold flaps. The third item that we diagnosed as failed (intake manifold) has visibly broken (snapped in half) linkage rods. These linkage rods failed due to seized adjustment flaps that are internal to the intake manifold and not serviceable without complete replacement of the intake manifold. Mr. Zarubin advised us that he had an extended warranty (Penn Warranty Company). We contacted his warranty company and explained to them the issues Mr. Zarubins vehicle was experiencing. They approved replacement of the emissions purge control solenoid and the camshaft magnet adjustment solenoid. Due to the cost of the failed intake manifold assembly they requested that the intake manifold be removed from the vehicle, and that an inspector would need to come out and confirm the failure. We relayed this information to Mr. Zarubin, and he authorized us to remove the intake manifold on his vehicle so that Penn Warranty Company could perform the required inspection. Once we removed the intake manifold, we again contacted Penn Warranty Company to inform them that the part was removed from the vehicle, and the failed component could now be verified by an inspector. Approximately 48 hours after our communication with Penn Warranty Company regarding the dispatch of an inspector, they still had not been to our repair facility to inspect the failed intake manifold. We contacted Penn Warranty Company regarding this, and at this time they stated that they would go ahead and approve the replacement of the intake manifold. Due to the terms and conditions written into Mr. Zarubins extended warranty contract, they approved a total amount of $638.50 out of the $2301.24 total amount we requested. Once we completed replacement of the failed components on Mr. Zarubins vehicle we test drove the vehicle to verify correct replacement and function of the new components. During this test drive we noticed that a vibration was present, although the dynamics of the vibration were improved from when the vehicle was originally brought in to us for repair. We informed Mr. Zarubin of this, and explained to him that the replacement of the intake manifold and exhaust adjustment magnet solenoid had improved the vibration, however there was still a vibration present. We asked him to drive his vehicle for several days to see if the vibration would improve over time. With the vehicle having a physically broken intake manifold and inoperable camshaft adjustment solenoid, there was no way for us to know that there was a secondary vibration. The above mentioned failed components will both cause the engine to run improperly, and cause vibrations through the entire driveline when not working properly. We strive to provide our customers with the highest levels of customer service and workmanship on their vehicles. As evidenced by our numerous positive customer reviews published on multiple websites and over 25 years in business our reputation speaks for itself. We are apologize that our standards were not able to exceed Mr. Zarubins expectations in this instance, even after extensively explaining the situation to him and refunding him a portion of his repair bill. Adam Kalck General Manager North Pointe Motors
5on Facebook, Feb 12, 2017
more »
1on Google, Oct 12, 2016
more »
5on Facebook, Aug 10, 2016
more »
1on Google, Jun 02, 2016
100$ to scan OBDII system on a 97 m3, click goodbye. more »
Business Response:
Hello and thank you for your review. We charge $100.00 to read out and spend up to an hour to diagnose your actual problem. This includes a complete report of all modules not just OBDII. We don't use generic OBDII readers but actual BMW software.
5on Google, Mar 31, 2016
This place is awesome!!! Very knowledgable staff, Litterally saved me half off what BMW was going to charge me. Going to the BMW dealer was a complete rip off. Thanks Adam for taking care of me, I9;m def a customer there for life for any of my cars. I highly recommend north pointe motors to anyone with a luxury vehicle. Thanks John more »
On Foursquare, Jan 26, 2016
North Pointe Motors more »
5on Google, Jan 17, 2016
Tim is an awesome guy, I always buy BMW parts from him. Better pricing than the dealership, and similar to Internet but you get it right away and usually oem. Fantastic mechanic as well, very knowledgable. more »
5on Facebook, Jan 05, 2016
more »
5on Facebook, May 13, 2015
Excellent customer service!! Family owned and operated!! Certified techs!! Great place! more »
1on Google, Apr 18, 2015
I was here with my mercedes(I gotta some problems with the RPM running up and down )they told me to give them the car for a couple days they will check it....I take the car they don't resolve the problem and they charge me 100 dollars for labor.Also they told me to bring car back and they will find the problem for another hundred dollars....don't go there with your car if you dont know what's wrong because they don't know anything....thanks.. more »
Business Response:
We are sorry that we could not resolve your problem at this time. You have a 23 year old Mercedes with multiple problems and we were seeing it for the first time. $100.00 was more than a fair price for the amount of time we spent trying to diagnose your problem. Please understand that wherever you take your car that people are trying to help you resolve your problem and this takes time which costs money. Thanks
5on Google, Mar 19, 2015
North Pointe is a rare find in today's repair world.If you find yourself in a position where the repair problem could be one that the cost makes you consider if it's worth keeping the car. They are "out of the box" thinkers who will go the extra distance in trying to find a way to repair your problem economically while you consider keeping or replacing your vehicle. Very fair, forthright and honest repair shop. more »
Business Response:
Glad we could be of good service to you. Thank you!
5on Google, Mar 19, 2015
My car (VW Jetta MK4) had 2 codes up: Engine coolant and TCM problem that needs replacement. Had to get my car towed to them after sitting on the driveway for months on end.
Already knew what th
e problem was and they went straight to the point. Very honest and Professional.
Gave me an estimate on cost and it turned out to be much cheaper when I finally paid and signed to get my car back.
I still have to go back to get my other OBD code fixed when I get the time. Will definitely be back. Highly recommend.
more »
5on Google, Mar 19, 2015
Everyone was super nice. Tim got the car checked out while I waited, which was very helpful. Thanks again! more »
5on Google, Mar 19, 2015
As fair and nice of a group of people you will ever find. The tech at my old shop that specialized in Audis left and I was in search of a new mechanic. A friend told me about North Pointe. I called after my S6's brake light came on. Sara got me in right away. Tim looked at the car and showed me that all I needed was front pads. He said no need to replace the rotors. Nick did the work. What do you know? One week later the brake light came on on my other Audi. Same deal as the first car. This time Adam did the work. Not needing rotors saved me a bunch. I would have never known, and probably replaced rotors at another shop.
Honest people. Good prices. I'm a very satisfied customer.
Larry
more »
Business Response:
Glad to have you as a happy new customer!
5on Google, Mar 19, 2015
EXCELLENT SERVICE!!!! GREAT HONEST PEOPLE A+++++++++++++++ ALL THE WAY AROUND!!! THEY KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING!!!!!!!! more »
Business Response:
Thank You Blerim! We appreciate your confidence in us.
5on Yellow Pages, Nov 14, 2014
What a quick turn around in service !! Price is right, extremely trustworthy staff. more »
5on Google, Mar 19, 2014
Exceptional service and knowledge at reasonable rates. What more can a customer ask for. more »
Business Response:
Thanks Reid for your continued support of North Pointe!
5on Google, Mar 19, 2014
I always feel like my car is in good hands when I go to North Pointe Motors and I can relax knowing they won't rip me off! more »
5on Facebook, Dec 06, 2013
Great service! more »
5on Facebook, Sep 23, 2013
more »
Page 1 of 2
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
9140 Terminal Ave, (at Arcadia St), Skokie, IL 60077
Auto Repair
Today 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
Visit Facebook Pagemore »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  26
4  
3  
2  
1  4
1 reviews with no rating
4.5
31 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence