BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Nong’s Khao Man Gai

4.5
247 reviews
(Thai)
 1003 SW Alder St, (at SW 10th Ave.), Portland, OR 97205US

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(971) 255-3480

Write a review

4on Google, Jul 28, 2017
more »
5on Google, Jul 21, 2017
This food truck is open on Saturday now (3/25/17). Based on Yelp, it says it wasn't open so I wasn't expecting to eat here. I was in the area to eat other food trucks when my friend saw a passerby holding the brown bag with one handle. We went to the brick and mortar location (609 SE Ankeny Street) so we knew what their togo bag looked like.
Indeed, when I went to this food stand, it was open! Rejoice! This is my second time visiting Portland and while Yelp surfing, I stumbled upon this food truck. I've been obsessed since then.
I'm a huge fan of hainan chicken rice and I love their version! Great flavored rice, the right amount of moisture in the chicken and that sauce tho. You can choose what type of meat you want- white meat, dark mean or mixed. It comes with soup too!
|Chicken and Rice- small| - $9.25 (mixed meat)
|Chicken and Rice- large| - $14.25 (dark meat more rice, more chicken, more sauce and chicken liver
Highly recommend when you visit Portland!
more »
5on Google, Jul 15, 2017
more »
5on Google, Jul 15, 2017
Despite the simplicity of its dishes, our meal was incredibly delicious and worth the ten minutes of queuing beforehand. more »
4on Google, Jul 09, 2017
Great cheap food! Wish the portions were a bit bigger but I'm a big eater so shouldn't be a problem for most people. more »
5on Google, Jun 29, 2017
more »
4on Google, Jun 20, 2017
more »
5on Google, Jun 20, 2017
I wasn't sure if this would be worth extending my trip to Monday afternoon as they were closed on Saturday (I think it says they're open online) but it was really good. I got the rice and chicken dish and I like that it came separate as we saved it for dinner after our drive home. The chicken was tender and the broth and other sauce container were perfectly seasoned. more »
5on Google, Jun 20, 2017
more »
5on Google, Jun 15, 2017
more »
5on Google, Jun 11, 2017
Glorious chicken more »
5on Google, Jun 11, 2017
more »
On Foursquare, May 27, 2017
Really good! But the liver is kinda meh. more »
5on Google, May 09, 2017
more »
5on Google, May 09, 2017
Chicken and rice = so good! Will go back to Portland for it. more »
5on Google, May 09, 2017
As someone who primarily lives off of chicken, Nong's has taught me that I've been eating it wrong my whole life. This place takes a simple dish of chicken and rice and elevates it to new heights. My only complaint is that there isn't a location in California!! more »
5on Google, May 04, 2017
I've died and gone to Bangkok
I must have gotten hit by a car while crossing Burnside Street drunk. Too many breweries on my brewery tour I suppose. I wake from a hazy daze but yet to open
my eyes. I hear music, sounds classic from the southeast Asia region. Almost midi-like music like back in the 90s. Wait...am I at a Thai wedding? Something smells delicious. I open my eyes to find myself in a restaurant with a large kitchen flanked to the side and steam coming from a massive vat with a bunch of chickens boiling inside. A glowing backlit sign hangs over the cashier similar to those on on the streets of Bangkok. Only a handful of special items, nothing more.
Yelp is always true...sometimes.
First and foremost, check Yelp, we all know that. Everyone raves about the chicken, but you know what, the pork and rice is better. Not to detract from the juicy skinless chicken, that sauce that has a flavor that you've never tasted before and amazing umami broth it comes with, but that pork is why I came back a second time in my 48 hour trip, I NEVER do that. Twice in one trip just for that dank ass (an expression frequently used by stoners and hippies for something of high quality) pork. This pig must have been God's pet pig because it's perfect in every way, and it was killed just for you to devour its delicious and fatty meat. The rice drenched in some sort of pork broth almost like a stew that comes with a nicely soft boiled egg.
Fugg, I'll see you in my dreams.
more »
5on Google, Apr 28, 2017
Great for vegetarians. Esp. if you love raw garlic - that is served as a condiment on the table. That is a bit strong for my taste but the peanut sauce with tofu is my new favorite. free tea and lime water are appreciated - the staff is very friendly also. more »
5on Google, Apr 14, 2017
more »
4on Google, Apr 14, 2017
I went to Nong’s for the first time with my sister and nephew who is a toddler. So you can imagine the experience was predictably exciting. The service was very good considering it was counter. Someone helped us get a booster seat and they were very accommodating. After my nephew had an accident Nong herself came out to help clean up the mess. It was a great experience and they even have a video online about how to eat Khao Man Gai… wish I’d seen it before going. Definitely a go to place for eats. more »
4on Google, Apr 04, 2017
more »
4on Google, Apr 04, 2017
more »
5on Google, Apr 04, 2017
One of the best food carts in Portland! more »
5on Google, Apr 04, 2017
The gluten free chicken and rice is spectacular. I always ask for the dark meat and get the fried chicken skins if there is any left. Delicious! more »
4on Google, Mar 05, 2017
Nong's has great Khao Man Gai. But it gets cold carrying from the cart. To eat it fresh and hot, go to the SE restaurant location. more »
Page 1 of 10
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
1003 SW Alder St, (at SW 10th Ave.), Portland, OR 97205
Thai
Today 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  117
4  27
3  16
2  2
1  6
79 reviews with no rating
4.5
247 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence