BirdEye Logo
Own this business?
Own this business?
Cancel
You might be interested in a similar business with higher ratings:
mountain travel sobek company
4.8

mountain travel sobek

4.9
27 reviews
Active Life
 1266 66th St, Ste 4, Emeryville, CA 94608US

Write a review

Rating Error
Review Error
(510) 594-6000

Write a review

All reviews summary

4.9
27 reviews
526
  
4 
  
3 
  
2 
  
11
  
  • 27 reviews4.9
5on Facebook, Oct 25, 2017
more »
5on Facebook, Oct 13, 2017
more »
5on Facebook, Sep 07, 2017
more »
5on Facebook, Jul 04, 2017
One of the best Hiking and trekking International Tour Company Operating in Bhutan for over past 3 decades more »
5on Facebook, Jun 10, 2017
more »
5on Facebook, May 25, 2017
more »
5on Facebook, Apr 05, 2017
more »
5on Facebook, Mar 20, 2017
more »
5on Facebook, Feb 11, 2017
My daughter and I recently took a trip through MTS to summit Kilimanjaro followed by a four-day safari. In short, we agree it was probably the most amazing trip we've ever taken. MTS as a coordination group truly dialed this to 11. All the logistical details of pickups, drop-offs, and other details were nailed. The entire trip was seamless. The guides we had were fantastic and the staff was top-notch - friendly, informative, and really took a keen interest and mission in making our trip successful and fun. The food was great and the accommodation far surpassed our expectations. In short, we couldn't recommend working with them on your next adventure trip more highly. more »
5on Facebook, Jan 23, 2017
more »
5on Facebook, Jan 13, 2017
My trip with MTS was absolutely fabulous and I highly recommend this company!! I booked a trip to Tanzania as a last hurrah before getting pregnant and it was totally the trip of a lifetime I was hoping for. We spent a few days on safari in the Taragire, a few days in the Serengeti, and then headed off to Zanzibar for a few days of relaxing beach time - the perfect mix of activity and rest. The sights and accommodations were unbelievable and I honestly felt like royalty the whole time! Each time we arrived a new lodge/ “camp” (more like “glamping”) the staff came out to meet us with hot towels and beverages, sometimes even singing a welcome song. In talking to other guests it became clear that our itinerary included only the top lodges, with the friendliest staff, nicest lodging, best food, and most secluded locations. One day we awoke to find a lion paw print literally six inches from our tent, and another night we were woken up by the sounds of a pack of hyena taking down an injured water buffalo that had been hanging around camp. The guides were all super knowledgeable and fun, not to mention skilled at finding all the wildlife we were interested in. There was one day that our guide spotted a cheetah from literally miles away. He tried to point it out to us, but I couldn’t make it out through the binoculars and totally thought he was full of it. Then we started driving in that direction, and lo and behold, 15 minutes later there we were, right next a gorgeous cheetah (see my picture on the wall). more »
5on Facebook, Jan 05, 2017
more »
5on Facebook, Nov 28, 2016
more »
1on Facebook, Nov 09, 2016
We booked two high-end multi-week trips with Mountain Travel Sobek --- one to Nepal / Bhutan in 2015 and one to China in 2016 --- and then asked Sobek in February 2016 to organize a Christmas / New Years 2016-2017 trip to New Zealand for us. They told us they would get right on it, but then never sent us a proposal. We sent them numerous follow-up emails over the months, and they kept sending us emails asking us to hold on a little longer, that they were putting together a very special itinerary for us that required private permitting, etc., they set hard deadlines on themselves for a proposed itinerary, and never delivered one. Ultimately, they just stopped responding entirely to our follow-up emails and calls. By the time we gave up on them in September 2016 and started trying to plan the trip ourselves, most of the places we contacted said they were sold out for the holidays. Sobek completely dropped the ball after we had been significant customers for them more than once before. Stay away!! more »
Business Response:
Dear Christine, Thank you for giving me the opportunity to discuss your experience with Mountain Travel Sobek directly. Your comments are extremely helpful. The delay that you encountered while we were planning your itinerary was unacceptable—simply put, that's not how we do business. We've never had that happen before and have reviewed our internal processes to ensure that it doesn't happen again. As I expressed, we are very sorry that this happened to you and appreciate your honest feedback. We wish nothing but the very best for all your future travels! Kevin Callaghan President & CEO
5on Facebook, May 27, 2016
I had an amazing trip with MTSobek! I went hiking through the historic villages of Portugal with some of the most knowledgeable and entertaining guides, Artur & Carla. Our group received the utmost attention from our guides as we trekked through a variety of landscapes. The local Portuguese would stop and tell our group some interesting information of the area. The cuisine was exquisite as well as some of the lodging provided. It was a very memorable trip and I would encourage anyone to make their plans to visit Portugal. more »
5on Facebook, Feb 22, 2016
more »
5on Facebook, Oct 30, 2015
more »
5on Facebook, Apr 26, 2015
more »
5on Facebook, Apr 07, 2015
I have done many trips with Mountain Travel Sobek in the past, most of the trips were with my dad, and a few of them with my girlfriend. The service of this company is outstanding, and the experience of each trip, is unforgettable!!!. The company itself, is truly superb!!!!. more »
Business Response:
Thanks Ivan! Always a pleasure to have you!
5on Facebook, Feb 23, 2015
more »
5on Facebook, Dec 27, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Oct 07, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Sep 10, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Sep 09, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Aug 04, 2014
more »
Page 1 of 2
Own this business?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
1266 66th St, Ste 4, Emeryville, CA 94608
Active Life
Today 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

About

Edit
Mountain Travel Sobek is the pioneer adventure travel company, and was named one of National Geographic’s Top 5 Adventure Travel Companies on Earth. Known for leading the first commercial trek into Nepal’s Himalaya in 1969 and the first sailing cruise to the Galápagos Islands in 1970, among many firsts, today they use their 40 years of experience to run more than 200 adventure trips worldwide!more »
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 40,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Get BirdEye’s free demo on how you can manage customer engagement and online-reputation.