Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Mon Ami Gabi

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
329 reviews
|French|Chicago, IL 60614

2300 N Lincoln Park W, Chicago, IL 60614

(773) 348-8886

https://www.monamigabi.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.8
(2871) · French

218 W Kinzie St

(312) 624-8154

3 people are looking at this business

4.7
(24) · French

1846 N Milwaukee Ave

(773) 384-8911

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(119) · French

676 N St Clair St

(312) 202-0001
4.7
(247) · French

900 N Franklin St

(312) 335-5454

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(545) · Restaurants

1547 N Wells St

(312) 624-9430

7 people are looking at this business

4.7
(495) · Restaurants

466 S Rand Rd

(847) 438-8001

1 person is looking at this business

About

Named for supervising partner and chef Gabino Sotelino (of Ambria fame), Mon Ami Gabi offers a setting that is cozy and intimate, as any good bistro should be, with columns, large windows and crisp linens. This elegant bistro offers French classics, country wines, refined service and lovely Lincoln Park views. Mon Ami Gabi's menu hits include seafood appetizer platters, multiple variations on the steak frites, pan-seared trout and roast chicken. As you would expect from the owner of the best French restaurant in Chicago, everything on the menu is top-notch all the way.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
329 reviews
5214
  
474
  
317
  
26
  
15
  
13 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Liliane C. review for Mon Ami Gabi
Liliane C. on Citysearch

9 years ago

03/29/2013, 02:49 AM
I live in Lincoln Park and love to stop in for mussels and French rose when I have a unexpected reason to celebrate. I am never disappointed. Love their perfectly executed fish dishes and delicious sauces. Summer nights on the outside patio could not be more pleasant.
jimy39 review for Mon Ami Gabi
jimy39 on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/31/2010, 01:45 AM
Nice ambiance,,,average food..lousy service – Serving us was a chore to our waitress. Everything was an effort. Her attitude dampened our whole experience and the food, while some items were very good, were not good enough to offset the poor service. French Onion Soup was bland and lacked any depth. Probably the worst we ever had. Halibut and scallops were cooked well. Don't think we'll visit this place again.
jriehm review for Mon Ami Gabi
jriehm on Citysearch

13 years ago

03/07/2009, 10:09 AM
Vaguely disappointing – This wasn't our first visit -- and I truly don't know why we returned. I guess we forget -- it's a pretty popular place, so we keep thinking it'll be wonderful. Except it's not. Nice wine list -- but $15 Kir Royales left us feeling cheated. The pommes frites are just plain awful -- the traditional French version are delightful, and these are tiny and hard and disappointing. The pork shank was too much bone and fat, and not enough meat. The creme brulee felt chintzy. Service wasn't terrible, but why did our waiter take each course separately? I wish we had more dramatic complaints -- so maybe we'd definitely remember not to go back.
Featured content
Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions
Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?
jules1984 review for Mon Ami Gabi
jules1984 on Citysearch

14 years ago

12/17/2007, 04:37 AM
Great French for a great price! Delicious overall! – This is one of the best places to go in Chicago for affordable, quintessential French food without the heavy price tag, or the snooty staff. Very friendly and personable staff. Neighborhood feel. The onion soup has it's good and iffy days, but always melts in your mouth. My only problem is that the menu is very limited. Mostly meat and some sort of potato, there are some good fish options. Generous portions; I love having great food for lunch the next day. The desserts are yummy too! Great wine list, although most tend to be heavy wines. Small dining room, so make reservations!
Searcher44 review for Mon Ami Gabi
Searcher44 on Citysearch

14 years ago

11/19/2007, 05:44 AM
Regrettably disappointing...sigh – For more than 20 years we've gone to Mon Ami Gabi and its predecessor in the same location Un Grand Cafe. Our most recent visit was more than disappointing (i) two steaks ordered were clearly of an inferior cut or grade of beef - were not done as ordered and frankly on the tough and chewy side (ii) coffee delivered with caffeine rather than without (iii) a New York strip, usually highly reliable - was done correctly but the texture and odor suggested that it had either been frozen and thawed more than once or had been left out at room temp far too long. One salad ordered was dressed way too heavily. On the plus side the desserts were as reliable as always and the wine list remains fairly priced. I had the impression that they are crowding more people into the space than was the case a few years ago but that's just a hunch. Service was prompt and efficient. Perhaps just a bad Sunday night - but overall disappointing.
malexan review for Mon Ami Gabi
malexan on Citysearch

15 years ago

01/28/2007, 01:25 AM
Very Romantic – IT can be very romantic especailly if you sit in the back room. I went on a friday night and i was plesently suprised that the noise level was down the whole time i was there. The food is delicious as well as the wine. My one problem is that we arrived on time for a 9:30 reservation but waited untill ten to be seated. After that the service was great. It is a little bit of paris in chicago.
Contributor review for Mon Ami Gabi
Contributor on Citysearch

16 years ago

05/17/2006, 03:16 AM
Bustling, convivial brasserie serves French classics to a casual Lincoln Park crowd. – The Scene Dark wood, low lighting and a buzzing, crowded bar make for a casual, warm atmosphere. This is not the place for a quiet dinner date, but groups of friends in the mood for a chatty evening will adore this tightly packed room. The Food Francophiles rejoice--from the baguette in a bag to bubbling-hot escargots and meal-ending profiteroles, Mon Ami Gabi serves simple, delicious French classics. Aside from the tempting escargots, sea scallops gratinee are a rich, creamy starter that's not to be missed. Paper-wrapped Chilean sea bass is tops among Gabi's seafood options: light, subtle, and flavorful, balanced perfectly by a medley of vegetables. No fewer than eight steaks round out the menu--each served with Gabi's light, crispy frites. Try the Roquefort, splashed with a tangy roquefort cheese butter, or the Bordelaise, with a sumptuous mushroom and red wine sauce. Dessert classics include an impressive tarte tatin, profiteroles and chocolate mousse.
Shafe007 review for Mon Ami Gabi
Shafe007 on Citysearch

17 years ago

05/24/2005, 10:08 AM
Don't Forget Paris. – Mon Ami Gabi has a very special place in my heart by combining the essence of my two favorite cities, Paris and Chicago. After spending 4 months in France, I became accustomed to the typical Parisian bistro fare, and Mon Ami Gabi captures it with complete authenticty and grace. Combine the quality of the food with the quaint bistro decor and the ambiance of Lincoln Park, and you've got a formula for a tasty and euphoric dining experience. When I lived in Chicago, I sampled nearly everything on the menu and relished it all. The only thing I would veer away from is the Parmesean Crusted Cod as it pails in comparison to all of the other dishes on the menu. Regardless of what you order, be sure to save room for dessert. The profiteroles are the pièce de résistance...
drewtilton review for Mon Ami Gabi
drewtilton on Citysearch

17 years ago

11/23/2004, 07:54 AM
Good, but not outstanding – I took my girlfriend here for her b-day. The waitress helped us select a very good bottle of wine, althought the "wine cart" I heard so much about was never used. The escargots and patte were excellent. The lobster bisque was less than exciting for $9 (I've had better at soups and scoops). The steak was good, but nothing that I'd order again. The big suprise was the service. The waitress was fine, but I had to ask twice for my water to be refilled, my glass had lipstick on it, and our table was never properly cleaned throughout the meal (baguette crumbs, ect...), not too mention the wine cart again. Overall the experience was good, but I expected more.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.