Logo White
Watch Demo

Maymont Foundation

Own this business?
4.7
1930 reviews
|Hospitality|Richmond, VA 23220

1700 Hampton St, Richmond, VA 23220

(804) 358-7166

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits

Top Hospitality in your area

Balloons To Go
5.0
(2) · Hospitality

13546 Waterford Place

(804) 495-9883

About

Maymont Park is a 100-acre stretch of verdant green in southern Richmond. The serene park lands dotted by myriad trees with rich vegetation, flora and fauna that are a treat to the eyes. Within the park is located the sprawling Maymont Mansion, an esteemed venue for weddings, private bashes, concerts and a host of other events. The 'Italian Garden' with is gorgeous statues and fountains and the 'Japanese Garden' with its soft, intimate ambiance and beautiful waterfalls are major attractions at Maymont Park. Horticulture enthusiasts can take a round of the Arboretum, while leisure-seekers can enjoy the cool shades of trees. Maymont Park is a delightful oasis by Richmond's Lakeside. Check webs

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.7
1,930 reviews
51,485
  
4381
  
345
  
29
  
110
  
  • 1929 Reviews4.7Trip Advisor
  • 1 Review3.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
seventysx on Trip Advisor

12 years ago

02/21/2008, 05:09 AM
best furniture
This is a great house, our tour was fantastic. We've been to many historic homes and buildings. this one is beautifully kept with a great story and some of the most interesting pieces of furniture I've ever seen! The pieces in the first room are intricately carved and the swan bedroom set is really unusual. check out the stained glass medallions on the second floor stairs. We visited in February so the grounds had no blooms at all but even with that the Asian garden was impressive. I would go back again just to see the grounds in bloom.
WillBTraveling on Trip Advisor

12 years ago

01/28/2008, 01:00 AM
Definitely Worthwhile & Worth A Return
I was planning a daytrip to Richmond with my 20 year daughter when I stumbled upon Maymount House & Gardens. At first, being January I thought it might not be worthwhile as the gardens wouldn't be in bloom.
We are both glad we made the trip. Maymount, the home of James and Sallie Dooley, is a very well preserved example of turn of the century Gilded Age Americanna. It is like stepping back in time. If you enjoy history even a little bit I'm sure you will find Maymont well worth your time.
Our guide, Susan Anderson was very knowledgable and helped bring the home and period to life. Reminds me of the mansions along Bellevue Avenue in Newport, RI.
Having t
...  more>>
MOBX on Trip Advisor

12 years ago

09/03/2007, 02:09 AM
Quiet in the midst of the city
It is such a surprise to arrive at Maymont so close to the highway and a very urban feeling neighborhood. The Italian Garden is lovely, the gazebo overlooking the water fall is perfect for a summer picnic dinner. The grounds are a little run down but still lovely.
A wedding was taking place as we ate our dinner but that only added to the out of time feeling of the place. We were too late to tour the house but it is definitely on the list of places to go back to.
Featured content
Hotel Reputation Management Strategy - 10 Useful Tips to Enhance It

Hotel Reputation Management Strategy - 10 Useful Tips to Enhance It

Hotel Reputation Management Strategy - 10 Useful Tips to Enhance It
9 advantages of having good customer service reviews for hotels

9 advantages of having good customer service reviews for hotels

9 advantages of having good customer service reviews for hotels
Traveler_VA on Trip Advisor

13 years ago

01/10/2007, 01:01 AM
An oasis...
As a Richmond native, I practically grew up in this wonderful park. Sure, it was a great place to go on field trips in third grade, but it has something for everyone of any age. Carriage rides, a petting zoo, and an incredible nature center about the local river and its animals. Huge open lawns for picnics, or games of frisbee. Exhibits of native Virginian animals (bison? who know bison were native to VA?) in natural settings. Sculptured Italian and Japanese gardens, with waterfalls, fountains, and hidden paths. And an amazing Victorian-era mansion, preserved in wonderful condition. They've recently created an amazing historical exhibit in the basement of the house, detailing the
...  more>>
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.