Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Marrakesh

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
851 reviews
|Moroccan|Philadelphia, PA 19147

517 S Leithgow St, Philadelphia, PA 19147

(215) 925-5929

http://marrakesheastcoast.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
About

Dinner is served as a seven-course meal and begins when the waiting staff cleans your hands with a water pitcher and basin. You sit on cushioned benches and eat at a table improvised from a Moroccan tray that reaches the height of the seats. The seven-course menu is firm, with few meat options and selections for vegetarians. Dishes include Oasis vegetables, Mediterranean seasoning, B'Stella layered pie, rabbit, lamb, beef and delicious Couscous. Red wine or hot mint teas make up for a good accompaniment choice. Enjoy Moroccan pastries or fruit for dessert.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
851 reviews
5642
  
4114
  
332
  
26
  
133
  
24 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
searchguy2359 on Citysearch

10 years ago

02/14/2011, 01:50 AM
Amazing experience, intimate atmosphere – From the greeting at the door to the personal goodbye, this is an experience that will transport you to another place, as you are invited to partake in a feast in a Moroccan home. The owner and his wife take great care to make you feel welcomed and ensure you are completely stuffed with perfectly prepared dishes, from carrot and cucumber salads to the spicy chicken to the warm sweet peppermint tea. One of the must-try experiences in Philly!
karen m. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

06/02/2010, 03:57 AM
Marrakesh Philadelphia, PA For a one-of-a-kind dinner event, Marrakesh is the place to go. If you can appreciate a different cultural experience, dinner here is engaging and really just 'takes you away'. Eating a delicious, exotic meal with different customs was an enjoyable learning experience. The atmosphere is true to theme and the belly dancing is delightful, especially if you join in.
Joe A. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

11/17/2008, 02:30 AM
What a weird place! BYOB and wait forever for some glasses and a bottle opener. Find the bathroom with a shower. You like manly looking belly dancers? They got 'em. Huge portions of food will keep you there to witness the spectacle that is Marrakesh. Seriously though the food is really tasty and the staff are overworked but attentive. All in all, we had a great time.
Featured content
Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management
5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers
queeenshakirah on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/24/2008, 03:29 AM
I'd do it again – I went to Marrakesh for my anniversary. Hubbie didn't like it much but I thought it was good. I will go again with some girlfriends to get a second feel for it. I was expecting so much more than what I actually got, as far as the experience went. I read lots of reviews before going so the bar was set pretty high and my experience didn't reach that bar. Pros: Spicy chicken, three salad appetizer, pita bread, that sweet appetizer thingy with the chicken, eggs and almonds, bahklava and friendly service. Cons: Could've done without the cous cous, mint tea was too sweet but I'm sure that's just my palate, restaurant is very small, sitting too close to other patrons, no conversational privacy, no bellydancer (not that there was enough room for one). Let it be known, there is a gargantuan amount of food, but they do offer to-go containers.
EVB on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/25/2008, 03:32 AM
I beg you, GO TO THIS PLACE! – If I lived closer to this restaurant, I would be broke. I could eat breakfast, lunch and dinner at Marrakesh. You knock on the door and get greeted by their very attentive staff. The ambience is dim, romantic, and fabulous. You enter a room with what looks to be antique metal tables embossed with detail surrounded by couches full of tapestries and pillows. You sit comfortable and close to your guests and/or loved ones for a very personal intimate feel. The servers come over and wash your hands with a rose oil, water, and a hot towel. (funny to say youll be sniffing your hands for a moment) The 7 course meal is to die for. I would seriously eat it every day. Ever entree in this place is fabulous finished with baklava and mint tea. GO TO THIS PLACE I BEG YOU! You wont regret it!
ljshi on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/14/2008, 01:21 AM
You'll forget you're in an alley – The restaurant is a little tricky to find but it's like a gem! It was very welcoming and like visiting a friend's house, you either have to use the knocker or ring the doorbell to be let in. The entire place is lavishly decorated and it's just absolutely beautiful! It is a little dark and we were a larger group, seated upstairs. I would be careful in that area because there are very small steps at the top. Our waitress was very accomodating while we waited for a few late friends. There was so much food and we had a good time figuring out how to eat everything without making a mess. It was a little strange at first to have towels as napkins but we all appreciated, as there are no utensils (except for the cous cous). For the fruit dish, we got an enormous bowl of fresh fruit. The food was good and there was definitely more than enough.
jshaft on Citysearch

14 years ago

01/28/2008, 02:23 AM
Food, service and language skills are all quite fine – I've been to Marrakesh on several occasions and in groups of varying sizes, and several things have been consistent: the food has been great, the service has been friendly, and the staff speaks English as well as the waitstaff in any other Philadelphia eatery. I've therefore been somewhat shocked by the other comments on this site indicating indifferent service or language problems, as I've encountered neither before at Marrakesh. The atmosphere is fantastic; this is a great place to wow clients, show appreciation for employees, or impress dates. You're already starting off on the right foot when you knock on the somewhat-obscured and mysterious door to the establishment, as if waiting to enter the meeting of a secret society of some kind. It's a nice touch that adds to the mystique, and the act of being greeted and invited inside places a subtle but meaningful emphasis on the spirit of hospitality that is present at Marrakesh. The only warning I'd give to first timers is to budget a lot of time for the experience and to come very hungry. The portions are large, there are many courses, and it takes time (2 1/2 hours to 3 hours) to properly appreciate the experience. Also, do pay attention to the note on this site indicating that cash is the only payment form accepted as it is accurate. If some of the other comments on the site have you hesitant to give Marrakesh a try, don't believe the hype - just go and give it a try. You're not likely to be disappointed.
munkee on Citysearch

14 years ago

01/17/2008, 01:23 AM
OK food, terrible staff and terrible belly dancer! – Food is ok, but the wait staff are just a few high school kids who could care less about you. I'm no belly dancer connoseur, but it was one reason we came. The belly dancer looks about 14 years old and she couldn't dance at all and did moves that looked more like stripping to crappy arabic techno music. It was embarrassing and so inappropriate. This place looks like it is run by high schoolers - what is up with that? Overall, a very unprofessional place but the food is pretty ok and the atmosphere is great (once the waiters and belly dancer leave).
godstrulioness on Citysearch

14 years ago

11/06/2007, 02:22 AM
A new dining experience – My family and I went to Marrakesh for a birthday dinner and experience something totally new. The restaurant was beautiful, and every staff member was polite and helpful. The food not only smelled delicious but tasted the same. Prepare to be there for at least 2 hours and you must go on a day when the belly dancing is there (usually wednesday or friday). The price was reasonable and you will leave with your taste buds fulfilled.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.