Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Mara's Homemade

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
123 reviews
|Cajun/Creole|New York, NY 10003

342 E 6th St, New York, NY 10003

(212) 598-1110

https://www.marasouthernkitchen.com/

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
123 reviews
51
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
122 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Ashrin Colchamiro on Facebook

9 years ago

11/20/2012, 02:22 AM
daddyoo on Citysearch

10 years ago

11/26/2011, 03:03 AM
Worst EVER – have been to my fair share of restaurants , I am a gourmet cook and commercial fisherman. I also know what New Orleans food is suppose to at least emulate, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE i would NEVER go again . From the crappy jalapeno cornbread to the soggy jambalaya,, the shrimp feast was horrid they were soggy spongy shrimp that are claimed to be shipped from the bayou,cooked FOUR ways and ,covered in zatarans crab boil mix , butter oil and crappy seasoning , the craw fish ettoufou was the worst thing i have eaten in my life the chef does not know how to make a proper roux or sauce , the craw fish were gray and tiny after a bite that was it for me, dont go near the specially flown in red snapper with creole mustad sauce (basically mustard and white wine )to smother this horrible quality fish ,flownin "I dont think so" Did i mention i am also a commercial fisherman ! Last the was the the Cocky derby wearing guy with his stained shirt that he has probably worn for the previous 5 days who ran the place! With his decaying teeth and "make you want to puke smile", and total control freak attitude who had basically no control over his kitchen or wait staff. GOD HELP SYOSSET ! I totally agree with Amal D. So go if you want to pay for bad taste in you mouth for years !
JackSa on Citysearch

11 years ago

10/26/2010, 04:08 AM
Homemade fun. – I challenge you to find someone who would not consider the atmosphere charming. And the food is quite good, at reasonable prices.
Featured content
Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea

Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea

Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea
How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage
CSMobileUser2 on Citysearch

11 years ago

06/28/2010, 01:00 AM
Maras Homemade-just like home – I've been living in NYC since 2000. Originally I'm from South Mississippi where Crawfish is a part of our weekly diet. It took some time but my wife finally uncovered a GOLD MINE for me. Mara's is now my FAVORITE place to eat in all of NYC. The crawfish comes in a bucket with potatos, corn on the cobb and mushrooms - JUST LIKE BACK HOME!! There's even SAINTS (who dat!) Posters adorning the walls. No place is better.
litlmutt on Citysearch

11 years ago

04/17/2010, 01:20 AM
Best Restaurant in the City, hands down. – I've been dining here for years. Ive read all thr reviews about the staff being rude, mean or rushing people out. Ive NEVER EVER experienced any of these. The staff has ALWAYS been courteous to me and my wife.Ive had birthday parties here and family gatherings. Ive taken half the restaurant and Ive taken a single table by myself, Ive always enjoyed myself. Food has always been spot on (especially the BBQ). After eating BBQ here, Ive been looking for better. Ive been to Northern Cali, Miami, Orlando, Boston THIS IS STILL MY FAVE! Prices have gone up, but considering how good it is, its always worth the splurge. Mara also does cooking classes which seem interesting.
amappleflower on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/28/2010, 01:00 AM
Will not be returning – Went there last night to meet a friend for dinner and was asked to leave after inquiring about a table and a fifteen minute seating wait (with 3 tables avail). I was told that a big party was leaving and that we would get two seats up front. Those tables were cleared and they sat others waiting who had arrived after. I asked about our seat, reminding that we were also waiting, and was told, "Probably will not be able to please you, it would be best if you would leave" by owner David. A personal first to be asked to leave a restaurant after inquiring about seating! Suggest those with interest read posts here and on other sites before deciding on Mara's- odd behavior from owners and poor service are both common if you read through comments.
Josh Ozersky on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/26/2009, 04:05 AM
Funky cajun joint specializes in crawfish. – Despite its East Village locale, Mara's homemade has an undeniable Arkansas/Louisiana authenticity. For some patrons, it may be too authentic, given how messy and anatomically challenging the crawfish dinners can be. But on the other hand, the jambalaya, fried green tomatoes, pepper cornbread and other southern specialties are well-made, cheap and arrive in copious portions. The room is as raucous and homey as a roadside joint on Highway 3, which makes it a favorite of the young crowd that lives and hangs out nearby.
nummytreat on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/24/2009, 04:22 AM
Key Lime Goodness! – It's hard to find good Key Lime Pie in the City. Too often, the taste is wrong, the texture is off or worse: it tastes pre-packaged. That's why it was a delight to discover the perfect Key Lime pie at Mara's Homemade! The taste is sweet with the right balance of key lime. The texture is firm but creamy, complimented by a thin graham crust. Best of all, there's no whipped cream or other frippery to distract you from the subtle nuances of this rare treat. It succeeds on its own, as the best pies do. If you're in the mood for a Southern delight done right, head over to Mara's and grab a slice of Key Lime Pie. You won't be disappointed!
jstein6583 on Citysearch

12 years ago

05/24/2009, 04:37 AM
Smells like a public TOILET!!!!!!!!!!! – I can't believe this place is once again a top NYC BBQ spot. The restaurant smelled like an open sewer when my brother and I went last summer after it had just made the list. The food is horrible, the drinks weak, and the atmosphere like something out of a Third Avenue, frat-boy nightmare. Anyone who thinks that this is good BBQ has never had it...and has no palate.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.