BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Law Offices of Michael W. Goldstein

5.0
19 reviews
(Business Attorneys)
 299 Broadway 8th Floor, (Church), New York, NY 10007US

Write a review

(212) 571-6848

Write a review

5on Google, Jan 19, 2017
Commercial Real Estate Transaction | CLOSED
Posted by AP
January 15, 2017
We signed a contract to purchase a commercial property over the summer but the seller tried to circumvent cl
osing. Remarkably, 6 weeks of Mr. Goldstein's involvement in a completely stalled real estate transaction managed to coax the outcome we had unsuccessfully chased for months prior to engaging him as litigation counsel.
Nearly 6 months post contract signing, the seller didn't seem to think the contractual obligation to close was real, however Michael sent a series of letters declaring time of essence which the seller rejected on merit-less claims, even citing a NYS Supreme Court decision defining "reasonable period of time" to fix a closing date as 30 days. Given multiple 11th hour adjournments offering no valid reasons over the course of several months, this was laughable, at best.
In response to the rejections, Michael drafted letters utilizing the contract and also cited NYS Supreme Court decisions to validate our position. We subsequently closed on the property. Though we were prepared to see this through to the end, we we were glad to avoid a lengthy and potentially costly litigation. There was a binding contract in place; we were resolute that we would not walk away from this deal.
Mr. Goldstein helped us realize our goal of closing. He got the job done and he did so by paying shrewd attention to the details and stalwartly maintaining our position that there was no easy way out of completing the transaction. His letters and emails were assertive, decisive and compelling. On phone calls, he was always open, frank and conveyed a brass tacks approach to the case. He is a good negotiator and works hard to get the desired outcome.
As a result, we will continue to consult Mr. Goldstein on legal matters. He absolutely earned this 5 star review.
1/8/17
Several months after opening escrow on a commercial property, we waited for the seller to commit and see the closing through. After multiple seller-initiated adjournments, we resolved to retain an experienced real estate litigator, someone to resuscitate this seemingly pulse-less deal.
Mr. Goldstein wrote a series of letters restating our position as sanctioned by the contract of sale. He articulated that we as the purchaser had been, remained and would continue to be ready, willing and able to close. He responded to seller's objections with hard facts and dates that supported our position as willing to close and underscored the number of seller initiated adjournment requests, with no clear explanation for cancelling. Seller appeared to be willfully breaching the contract by steadfastly adjourning closing date after closing date without good reason. Michael pointed to the extraordinary allowances of time as well as the associated financial costs we had incurred due to these irrational and unexplained delays.
A time of essence date was fixed and the clock is now counting down. Michael has been nothing short of professional, responsive and clear. He set a realistic timeline and gave us frank advice on what to expect as we neared the TOE date. He remains committed to the plan we set forth and is prepared to shepherd this deal to closing or successfully litigate our case. With Michael's guidance and support, we are confident and 100% committed to seeing this deal through to the end.
We will provide updates as this case progresses...
more »
5on BirdEye, Jan 05, 2017
I retained Mr. Goldstein to help me with a tricky real estate settlement case. Another attorney actually told me that the case was too complicated to take on. However, meeting with Michael made me realize that it is truly worth it to shop around before selecting an attorney.
Michael is very honest and personable. He made me feel comfortable even though I was stuck in a very uncomfortable situation. He is prompt with communication, and I felt like he was a knowledgeable guide through the twists and turns of the case. He is also a fantastic writer. The outcome of the case was good and I have Michael to thank for that. I would highly recommend Michael if you are in need of representation. He is a great lawyer with heart.
more »
5on BirdEye, Dec 15, 2016
My partner and I retained Michael Goldstein for a commercial real estate deal loaded with all manner of challenges. What seemed at first to be a seamless transaction between 2 parties, one to sell and the other to purchase devolved over time. We sought Mr. Goldstein's professional guidance based on the wealth of his experience in commercial litigation and strong, clear-cut approach. Let's see if we can mediate/coax a closing. If not, let's explore our legal options to actualize our ultimate goal of securing the property. To start, Mr. Goldstein pays attention to intricate document details to articulate his position and substantiate his statements. He's a natural at parsing out the minutiae from the consequential details that can steer the case into forward motion. For some time, communication had stalled between both parties and Michael relieved that bottleneck by flagging an important contract line item thereby stimulating responses. He's able to fluidly coalesce ideas and incorporate various opinions into a logical consensus, hard to do to say the least. He offers options and systematically guides/mentors, doesn't opine or invoke ego. He's innately tactical and decisive, which inspires confidence in us. He is a broad thinker yet highly analytical and empathic, a purple unicorn if you ask me. Mr. Goldstein is also uniquely stalwart both in intellect and basic common sense. More importantly, he is a remarkable steward of his clients. Mr. Goldstein is vested and appears to meet challenges and incalculable shifts and tides with a steady gravitas that we desperately needed. Though this case is ongoing and the outcome unsettled to date, our honest and present-day opinion is Michael Goldstein is a shrewd, incisive litigator who writes just as prolifically as he leads with deference and honesty. He's earned my respect, whatever the outcome. Worth consulting for legal matters. He's the real deal. more »
5on BirdEye, Dec 02, 2016
Mr.Goldstein is a very sharp Lawyer. He was very knowledgeable and got positive results very fast. I highly recommend him. more »
5on Google, Oct 15, 2016
Mr. Goldstein was great in helping me my case. He has also has been very helpful months after the case was closed in answering follow up questions I had.
Would certainly recommend.
UPDATE
10/11/16
Mr. Goldstein has continued to aid me in my case to this day. Extremely willing to go the extra mile!
more »
Business Response:
Thanks so much for your review.
5on Google, Oct 06, 2016
I have known Michael Goldstein for 14 years. I have referred a number of clients who had business transactions and commercial cases to him knowing that they would be handled well. Even more so, when I had my own Commercial Litigation case, I retained Michael. I have sought his legal advice on many occasions and am pleased to state that he has come up with trenchant and perceptive approaches as a matter of course. -Lawrence Leonard, Attorney at Law more »
5on Google, Feb 09, 2016
"Excellent Personal Injury Attorney"
Mr. Michael Goldstein represented me in a personal injury case against my landlord. I slipped on ice on the steps in the vestibule of my apartment building,
and my arm was fractured and required surgery. I am a warehouse worker, and this was a horrible injury that affected my livelihood. He immediately investigated, before any evidence disappeared, which turned out to be critical to my case. He thoroughly understood the issues involved with my injury and the impact on my work. He was masterful at developing my case and moving it quickly to completion. His persistence resulted in an out of court settlement that I was very pleased with. Mr.Goldstein fought hard for me. He was very professional and very caring. He was honest and forthright and always available to answer my questions, which he did patiently and thoroughly. I would recommend him wholeheartedly. He was the perfect lawyer to help me during an extremely difficult time. more »
5on Google, Aug 11, 2015
My family lawyer recommended Michael Goldstein to me for my business and real estate legal matters, and I really appreciate that referral.
Michael W. Goldstein is an extremely effective lawyer.
He explained everything to me, and got the result I needed in only a few weeks. In addition to resolving the issue on the terms I wanted, he went the extra mile to negotiate several additional provisions for my benefit, one of which saved me $9,800.00. I highly recommend him to anyone needing a New York lawyer to negotiate a settlement of a commercial or real estate dispute, or to negotiate or prepare a business or real estate contract. He will be the only lawyer I turn to for my business and real estate needs. more »
5on Google, Apr 11, 2015
Michael W Goldstein has been representing me in my accident case, against the truck that crashed into my car. I’m so glad I decided to leave my previous lawyer (a well known law firm). The difference is amazing. Michael always returns my calls, and answers my questions. Michael explained the entire process so I completely understand it.
Michael Goldstein fully investigated all possible sources of insurance coverage, and discovered several insurance policies in addition to the truck owner’s insurance. I had no idea that my own insurance policy, and even my daughter’s insurance policy could provide extra compensation to me for my injuries.
He has already settled my case against the driver and owner of the truck that hit my car for the full amount of their insurance policy, and is now in the process of settling the underinsured motorist claim against my insurance company. As a result of his knowledge and perseverance, I will be collecting a lot more than just the insurance on the truck that caused the accident.
It is really refreshing to find a lawyer who not only works really hard on my case, but also cares about me as a person. I would certainly recommend him to anyone who needs a New York accident lawyer.
more »
Business Response:
Carlton Thanks so much for your kind review. It's my pleasure to represent you. Michael
5on Google, Mar 12, 2015
Will soon find out more »
5on Google, Mar 12, 2015
Michael Goldstein is just what I was searching for - a creative thinker, an independent thinker, and one very smart man. I loved that he answered my call personally; I did not get and assistant and then have to wait for a call back at a later time. When we first spoke on the phone, he was immensely personable and totally engaged, totally there. He was genuinely interested in my case and what I wanted to tell him about it. I could tell that he has both a rigorous knowledge of the law based on lots of experience and a big heart - great combination! He is an excellent communicator.
I can recommend Michael Goldstein to you enthusiastically, unconditionally and wholeheartedly! Go ahead and give him a call - you will be glad you did!
more »
5on Google, Mar 12, 2014
Mr. Goldstein worked on a Co-op transaction with my brother and I recently, and I can honestly say that it was the best experience with a lawyer we ever had. He was always on top any issues that came up during the process, very responsible and attentive to every needs. He made the transaction easy and smooth, I will always have him in mind for any legal needs for me and my family, and I highly recommend him to anyone that has any legal needs. more »
5on Google, Mar 12, 2014
First, I want to thank Michael Goldstein, Esq. for his excellent negotiating and contract drafting skills, and dedication to protecting my legal rights. The provisions he added to the contract protected me when unexpected legal issues arose with the seller's title.
He learned that the iron fence & stone base were built on what is really supposed to be the sidewalk. You would never know that, because every house on the block has the same fence & stone base in the same location. Michael was able to negotiate a credit of $3,000.00 for me at the closing. In addition, he negotiated with the title insurance company for additional insurance addressing this issue. I seriously doubt that most other lawyers would have taken the initiative or the time to pursue that minor issue at all.
I learned of Michael as an experienced and knowledgeable New York real estate lawyer, while I was researching the process of buying a home. He has been interviewed for several newspaper articles on real estate issues.
I contacted Michael in August, 2013 to request his services. Mr. Michael Goldstein accepted me as his client and I have been extremely impressed by his professionalism, and the fact that he always returns my calls or emails, and how he explains things in a way that is easy to understand. I have received emails from him about the progress of my purchase, both during regular business hours, and also during evenings and weekends, and even while he was on vacation with his family.
As a first time home buyer, his constant communication with me during the entire legal process was extremely reassuring. I am glad that I did not hire a lawyer based solely on the legal fee, as many people do. The value of Michael's representation far exceeds the cost. I will recommend him to my friends and co-workers when they need a lawyer.
I closed on the purchase on November 8, 2013. My bank's Loan Officer also mentioned to me that I "have a good attorney."
I've made it known to Mr. Goldstein that I will retain him as my family attorney, now that he told me that he also handles several other aspects of law, such as business law, litigation, wills & estates, and accident cases.
Thanks again, Michael! Keep up your excellent service.
more »
5on Google, Mar 12, 2014
Michael represented us in our first condo purchase in New York two years ago.
He is very helpful and the transaction went smoothly. He is flexible and responds to our request very fast. I would
highly recommend him. more »
5on Google, Mar 12, 2013
Michael has always kept me Informed about the litigation process, and the status of my personal injury case. He also negotiated a great settlement of my accident case. I was totally pleased with my choice of Michael W. Goldstein as my accident lawyer, and would definitely recommend him to any of my friends who needs a New York accident lawyer. more »
5on Google, Mar 12, 2013
Dear Michael,
Thank you again for the excellent manner in which you handled the sale of my home and subsequent purchase of the co-op apartment where I now reside. Your efficiency and professiona
lism made the transactions easy and comfortable during an otherwise very stressful time.
I would be happy to recommend you to any prospective clients.
Sincerely,
Edythe Fastow
more »
5on Google, Mar 12, 2013
I recently retained Michael Goldstein to represent me in my contract dispute with a major non profit organization. He was highly recommended for his expertise in employment contractual issues. In my conversations with him he made me feel totally comfortable we were proceeding correctly. Michael gave me a clear understanding of the issues of my case and together we developed a strategy for obtaining the proof we will need to prove our case. He took his time to explain everything to me and answered all of my questions. I feel comfortable with his understanding of my case and with his sincerity and genuine concern for my situation. When i speak to Michael I feel like I am consulting with a friend who happens to be a lawyer and an expert in Independent Contractor agreements. Speaking with him has actually been a pleasurable experience which was certainly unexpected. I am also impressed with his many years of legal experience as a New York Contracts lawyer. more »
5on Google, Mar 12, 2013
Michael represented me in my personal injury case. I would highly recommend him to anyone who is looking for a lawyer to represent them . He was thorough in his approach, and he made the process smooth and simple. He negotiated a wonderful settlement despite difficult circumstances, and I am very happy with the outcome of the process.Again, I would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for a personal injury lawyer. more »
5on Google, Mar 12, 2013
My experience with Michael has spanned over a year. He comes highly recommended to me - and did an excellent job assisting me throughout the real estate / house buying process. He provided input which guided me in the right direction with his extensive experience in the field. Not only did he provide guidance, but he has immense knowledge of the industry, explains himself in a no nonsense kind of way, and articulates perfectly in writing when drafting up documentation and emails. He is very knowledgeable in his craft and I would highly recommend him to others. more »
Page 1 of 1
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
299 Broadway 8th Floor, (Church), New York, NY 10007
Business Attorneys
Today 1:00 pm - 7:00 pm

About

Edit
Contracts & Business Law
We are a New York law firm representing businesses and individuals in Contract Drafting and Negotiation, Employment Contracts; Commercial Transactions, Purchase or Sale of Businesses, Forming New Businesses, etc.

Commercial Litigation
As an experienced and aggressive business litigation firm, we represent clients in Commercial Litigation, including Breach of Contract Litigation.

Real Estate Transactions
We represent clients in New York Real Estate Transactions, and Home Renovation Contracts.

Real Estate Litigation
Our firm is also experienced in various types of Real Estate Litigation, including Mechanic's Lien Litigation, Partition Actions, Specific Performance of Real Estate Contract of Sale, etc..

Personal Injury Litigation
We aggressively and relentlessly protect the legal rights of each of our personal injury clients, in order to maximize their recovery of money damages.

Meet the Business Owner
Michael W. Goldstein's Educational Background
*undergraduate degree summa cum laude in 1975 with a major in economics and a concentration in accounting
*three year graduate fellowship
*taught accounting to college students, while attending law school full time
*Juris Doctor degree from Brooklyn Law School, 1978.

N.Y.S. Bar Admission
*Admitted to practice law in all courts of the State of New York
*Admitted to practice law in the United States District Courts for the Eastern and Southern Districts of the State of New York

Publications
Michael W. Goldstein has been interviewed and quoted by the following pre-eminent newspapers and publications:
*New York Times Real Estate section (article published in Real Estate section on Sunday, October 2, 2011
*Business Insider (article dealing with inter-vivos trusts and testamentary trusts) - published October 19, 2011
*The Real Deal (several articles on real estate law) - published various dates
more »

Review summary

5  19
4  
3  
2  
1  
5.0
19 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence