Logo White
Watch Demo

Knight Foundry

Own this business?
5.0
23 reviews
|Arts & Entertainment|Sutter Creek, California 95685

81 Eureka Street, Sutter Creek, California 95685

(209) 267-5647

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits

Top Arts & Entertainment in your area

Vale Fine Art
5.0
(4) · Arts & Entertainment

619 12th St

(310) 795-4680

2 people are looking at this business

Turquoise Museum
5.0
(8) · Arts & Entertainment

2107 Central Ave NW

(505) 247-8650

1 person is looking at this business

Lwf Lest We Forget Museum of Slavery
5.0
(5) · Arts & Entertainment

5501 Germantown Avenue

(215) 205-4324
Talbott Vineyards
5.0
(69) · Arts & Entertainment

4 East Carmel Valley Rd.

(831) 659-5410
African American Heritage
5.0
(5) · Arts & Entertainment

92 Farmer St

(770) 683-7055
Slater Cotton Mills
5.0
(7) · Arts & Entertainment

67 Roosevelt Avenue

(401) 725-8638

6 people are looking at this business

About

The Knight's Foundry and Shops is a cast iron foundry and machine shop in Sutter Creek, California and is registered with a number of associations as an important landmark. It is a California Historical Landmark, it is also listed in the National Register of Historic Places, Mechanical Engineering Historic Site by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and is also one of America's Most Endangered Places by the Smithsonian Institution. It is also one of the earliest water powered foundry machine shops which provided momentum to California's gold rush. The foundry is still functional.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
5.0
23 reviews
515
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
8 reviews have no rating
    Sort By:
    5 results available.
    Recommended
    Ray Cellar on Facebook

    4 months ago

    10/05/2019, 05:56 AM
    Great tour for history buffs...
    Janice Lovecchio on Facebook

    4 months ago

    10/05/2019, 02:34 AM
    Very interesting . Great piece of history!!
    Claire Stover on Facebook

    4 months ago

    09/22/2019, 05:06 AM
    Wonderful example of 1800's industry being preserved by dedicated volunteers!
    Featured content
    How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails

    How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails

    How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails
    5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

    5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

    5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response
    Nicholas Stavros on Facebook

    5 months ago

    08/21/2019, 10:51 AM
    Yesterday, we were given a private tour of the foundry. What an experience! The association is doing a fantastic job preserving this great piece of California history. Thank you Frank and Rick for all your time and attention. We will be back!
    -Nick & Mary
    Kristina Kristina on Facebook

    8 months ago

    06/08/2019, 12:06 PM
    Today we spent 3.5 hours at the Knight Foundry in Sutter Creek. Though we had been to the foundry previously, so many changes and new acquisitions made it feel like a wholly new experience. This is a fluid restoration that will continue to evolve for many years. The changes each visit are exciting and make the visitor feel connected to the larger project at hand......preserving history and making it attainable to our posterity. The docents were incredibly knowledgeable. ‘Hands -on' demonstrations and articles to touch and examine make the process of pattern making, machining and pouring at the foundry come alive. My 14-year-old was positively riveted. The additional opportunity of watching t...  more>>
    Joel Dujsik on Facebook

    8 months ago

    05/23/2019, 04:10 AM
    great history, wonderful place to visit
    Gary McKeeman on Facebook

    a year ago

    11/25/2018, 09:14 AM
    A must see!🇺🇸️ A part of an American historical site, that still works after 145 years in service, you will be amazed!
    Doug Carson on Facebook

    a year ago

    10/13/2018, 11:40 AM
    A working foundry from the 1870s. Spectacular!
    Donald La Grand on Facebook

    2 years ago

    07/29/2018, 03:42 AM
    I was at the state fair and learned that a person could volunteer helping restoring this foundry. Being a retired Tool and Die maker, this endeavor was right up my alley. This foundry and machine shop is a living testimony of how my industry began so many many years ago. I love this place.👍😎
    Footer Banner

    Get more reviews. Get more customers.

    Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.