BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Jose Luis Salon

4.4
152 reviews
(Hair Salons)
 1717 W 6th St #123, Ste 123, Austin, TX 78703US

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(512) 474-1146

Write a review

5on Google, Jul 03, 2017
more »
5on Google, Jul 03, 2017
The interior always looking pleasant and clean. Best customer service. more »
5on Google, Jun 26, 2017
Was at the downtown salon today it was a very pleasant experience with Jose Luis. Very good customer service. Thank you very much. Looking forward for my next appointment. more »
1on Google, Jun 14, 2017
If I could give ZERO I would. I had an appointment on Sunday for a cut with a "master level stylist". Gave her exact instructions plus a photo of my previous cut. The result is not even remotely close to what I asked. She totally abused my hair in any way. My hair reached my lower back and now is shoulders length, when I asked take an inch off the length that's all!! The hair dresser was under skilled for a master level, and this results you can get at your local Supercuts for a fraction of the ridiculous price I have paid. I can't believe what a joke the salon at the domain is. Jose Luis is definitely a business man but not a hair professional if he allows himself hiring that kind of "master level" professionals. A Joke and a shame. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY AND YOUR TIME ON THIS PLACE. more »
3on Google, May 30, 2017
Keratin Treatment Review -
This was the first time I had a keratin treatment, and I know there are mixed reviews around the effectiveness of this procedure. On some people it works while others
it doesn't. On me it really didn't make any difference, and wanted to go over my experience at Jose Luis Salon. For reference I have long course wavy/frizzy hair and it takes me about 20min to blow dry and another 20 to smooth my hair with an iron.
JLS uses the GK Hair Professional product, which I have now learned is the more gentler product on the market. When I arrived, the stylist first combed through my hair while we discussed my morning routine. Next the stylist shampooed my hair twice and rinsed, this took about 10minutes. Back at the chair, my hair was divided into sections (no combing), while the stylist applied GK product on each section working from nape of neck to the top of my head. Application took about 15 minutes. Then, the stylist let my hair sit for an additional 15 minutes without any covering and I didn't feel like there was any smell or stinginess on my scalp. Then the stylist came back to blow dry my hair, running fingers until my hair was dry. The stylist then straightened my hair pin straight, working again from nape of neck to top of head - this was the most time consuming part of about 1hr. I have a lot of hair and know this was hard work. We had not discussed how the hair should look, and was a little scared seeing it pin straight. When the stylist finished, they kept emphasizing how this is how my hair would look the next time I dry my hair (must have said it about four times). Then the stylist walked me over to the shampoos/conditioner and grabbed the GK brand for dyed/colored hair saying it did not make a difference that my hair was not dyed. At checkout the stylist said not to wash hair for 48-72 hours.
Fast forward 72 hours, after first time washing my hair it had dried wavy and frizzy again. It still takes the same amount of time to dry and flat iron my hair, no difference seen at all. Now looking into instructions on GK website I found that course hair should have been left on for 60min for my hair type.
I don't know if (a) the stylist did not follow directions from product manufacturers, (b) the gentler GK keratin product is ineffective at my hair type, or (c) maybe keratin treatments do not work on me... but I will not get this treatment done again at this salon. I agree with other reviewers that it is a friendly staff with a nice atmosphere. I have my haircuts here regularly by a different stylist and have always been happy with the cut. Just wanted to pass along my experience on the keratin treatment.
more »
5on Google, May 23, 2017
Shout out to Elysse for the beautiful styling job she did for me on my sister's wedding day! I wear my fine hair in a bob and I'm growing my bangs out, so I was at a loss over what to do. She listened closely to my concerns and made my hair look bouncy and full, without being weighed down. Not to mention she gave a wonderful massage! I was so glad to not have to worry about my hair so I could focus on other things, like preparing for my reading. Thanks again Elysse! more »
5on Google, Apr 25, 2017
more »
5on Google, Jan 18, 2017
LAWRENCE , is a Genius!!! hair colorist I have gotten many compliments. I am glad I found Lawrence at the Domain location.
The newest salon is very chic too!
more »
1on Google, Jan 08, 2017
I had cancer and wanted a hair cut and they said no. WTF unbelievable they would that to a person with no hair SMH more »
4on Google, Oct 10, 2016
This salon is well established as one of the top salons in Austin. I wanted to go from a brunette to a red head and Mike helped me achieve that with the grace and beauty I hoped for! Salon is fun, clean, and well managed. I've had some trouble with scheduling but not enough to not return. Heads up - tips are cash only and given in an envelope to your designated stylist, assistant, etc. more »
5on BirdEye, Sep 07, 2016
Michael Jones is an amazing stylist and you'd be lucky to get in with him the girl that said he's horrible must have ugly hair not his problem more »
5on Google, Mar 30, 2016
more »
on Foursquare, Mar 13, 2016
Color and cut more »
5on Google, Feb 15, 2016
Love the interior and feel of this place, very modern and upscale look. It's easy to make an appointment, and you get email reminders as well, which helps a lot if you're a busy person. Service is exceptional, you are greeted, offered a drink while you wait, they really treat you nice. My stylist was great, and very friendly, I've also had a nice chat with the staff while waiting, so overall I had a great experience and a lovely styling. more »
1on Google, Feb 15, 2016
Micheal Jones is horrible. He lacks both skill and professionalism. He ruined my hair and made jokes as he did it. I expected much more from a salon this nice. more »
5on Google, Oct 16, 2015
Michael J. is an amazing stylist; always has advice that is specific(to each client). I carry the stigma of 'being difficult'. Michael is always patient (even after 17 yrs), professional and perfect. more »
1on Google, Oct 16, 2015
more »
5on Google, Jun 16, 2015
The did a great job for me. I would recommend them. more »
5on Google, Apr 16, 2015
I was a model for Connor today! He was very sweet and made me feel at ease! not to mention my hair color is awesome!!!! He will be such a great addition to the team. I came in for a "sombre" and that is exactly what I got! Soft and natural blondes and I am in LOVE! The salon is soo nice... they have a nice skincare section as well as makeup and jewelry in addition to their haircare. Will def be back! Thanks Connor! more »
1on Google, Apr 16, 2015
I was uncomfortable the moment I walked into this salon. I'm Hispanic and I was ready to spend some money on my hair. Lets begin. Everyone was drinking wine and I was only offered soda or water. After discussing that I didn't want ombre I actually wanted balyage after pointing out a few pictures and saying the words, "I want that. Let's do that." I still got a hideous ombre. Yup. After 4 hours of foils and heaters on my head, my hair was orange and ugly. The cut was awful too! I asked for layers and a few inches off. I got a short blunt boring cut. My hair was beautiful, long and dark. I was absolutely ruined. I felt stared at the entire time. Almost in a "you don't belong here" or "you don't fit in" manner. Latinas with beautiful long dark hair DON'T GO HERE. I figured hey, it's called Jose Luis, I'm Latina and I have money. I should try this place out. WRONG. more »
on YellowBot, Sep 10, 2014
talented stylists, owners who care deeply about their clients, attractive salon with great energy more »
on YellowBot, Sep 03, 2014
Service is excellent! more »
on YellowBot, Sep 01, 2014
Great group of stylists! more »
on YellowBot, Sep 01, 2014
A beautiful salon and talented staff who deserve to win. more »
on YellowBot, Sep 01, 2014
Been there for 8 years - still love it just as much. Couldn't do without you Blaine! more »
Page 1 of 7
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
1717 W 6th St #123, Ste 123, Austin, TX 78703
Hair Salons
Today 9:00 am - 8:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
Specialties
Making Austin fabulous for over 25 years. We specialize in Color, Balyage, Highlights, Cuts, Waxing, Skin Care, and Make Up services. We carry only the best products in the industry. Voted one of the top Salons in the United States. We are a member of Intercoiffure North America. We have been featured as top Color salon by In Style magazine, Participated in NYC Fashion Weeks, Paris Fashion Weeks , and much more..more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  94
4  6
3  1
2  2
1  13
36 reviews with no rating
4.4
152 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence