BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Jamila Salon Suites

4.5
81 reviews
(Hair Salons)
 7817 Rockwood Ln, Austin, TX 78757US

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(512) 467-2566

Write a review

On Citysearch, Mar 21, 2014
RUN DON'T WALK FROM "HAIR STYLIST" JAMILA. SHE RUINED MY HAIR BY TURNING IT BLACK THEN REFUSED TO GIVE ME A FULL REFUND. I met with Jamila because I was interested in getting my hair colored (to cover the grays) but was tired of using traditional hair color due to all of the detrimental chemicals. I was happy with my current color (brown with a reddish hue) and I advised her that I was not looking for a drastic change, I just wanted to cover the gray hair. She said she understood and henna would be the perfect solution for me as it was natural, plant based, and it would cover the gray without leaving my hair with an odor. She advised that she would put henna on my hair, which I would need to leave on my hair for a couple of hours, then wash out at home. She put the henna solution on my hair, wrapped it in a cap, put me under the dryer, and sent me on my way. I got home, left it on for a couple of hours, washed it out, and was horrified to find that my once brown hair was now shoe polish BLACK!!! I thought maybe if I washed it a couple more times, some of the color would come out leaving me with a dark brown but after 6 washes, it was still black. Not to mention the fact that my tub is still stained from the henna (5 days later). I emailed her (because her salon was closed at this point) and she never responded so upon her salon opening two days later I called her but she claimed that due to "other clients" she was too busy to speak to me and would call me back in 10 minutes. She never called. She emailed me to tell me that she had never had anyone complain about their color before and that if I was unhappy that I should try washing it or buy color remover. That was her idea of customer service. I told her that was unacceptable and that I wanted a refund because she ruined my hair and now wanted me to spend additional money to purchase supplies in order to fix her mistake. She never offered to look at my hair or even asked me to come in so that she could see if there was anything she could do. She did say that she was willing to put additional color on my hair but admitted that she was unsure how this would turn out which is why I refused her offer. She refused to give me a full refund, opting instead to chastise me about the fact that she had to use double the product on my hair (which is probably why it turned black) and she felt that she should be compensated for HER TIME. Forget about the fact that my hair is now BLACK!!! She was only concerned about herself. I have yet to see any type of refund. Apparently she has decided to ignore me hoping that I will somehow forget the fact that every day I wake up with BLACK hair. I asked her what she put in the henna because I couldn't understand how my hair turned black but she refused to tell me, which speaks to her credibility. I'm now afraid to color my hair again or put chemicals on it in the hopes of removing the strong black color in my hair because I don't know what she put in the henna and I'm afraid of breakage or my hair falling out completely. I decided to write this review in the hopes that no one else has to go through this ordeal. If you are interested in getting your hair colored with henna, I IMPLORE YOU, DO NOT go to JAMILA at JAMILA SALON SUITES. Take your business elsewhere. more »
1on Yellow Pages, Mar 20, 2014
I liked my color (which was brown with a reddish hue) but was interested in henna hair color to cover my gray hair naturally. I was tired of traditional hair color due to all the chemicals. Jamila informed me henna was perfect because it would naturally cover gray hair. She said henna needs to be on the hair for a couple of hours so she put it on my hair, wrapped it in a cap, put me under the dryer, and sent me on my way. I went home, waited a few hours, then washed it out only todiscover my hair was now jet BLACK. I thought washing it several times may help but it was to no avail. When I called her, she advised that she had “other clients.” She emailed to advise me to wash my hair or buy color remover. She offered to color my hair again but could not guarantee how the color would turn out. I refused her offer, opting instead for a refund. She informed me she would not refund the entire amount because she should be compensated for HER TIME. I have yet to see a refund and I’m now stuck with BLACK hair! I'm afraid to put another color or solution on my hair for fear that it will break off or fall out. I IMPLORE YOU, DO NOT GO TO JAMILA. You are better off viewing "You Tube" videos to see how to color your hair with henna. more »
4on Google, Mar 14, 2014
Very nice more »
4on Google, Mar 14, 2014
Love going there my stylist Dixie Wilkerson is the best more »
On Foursquare, Feb 28, 2014
Get your cut and color with Dixie Wilkerson in door number 2. more »
5on Yellow Pages, Dec 29, 2013
I rarely write review but I absolutely had to for Jamila at Jamila salon and spa. I went to jamila for an eyebrow threading because I just recently moved from Houston and had been searching for a threaded for a long time. Jamila is by far the most experienced eyebrow threaded I have found. I trust her with my eyebrows and would not go anywhere else after getting my eyebrows done with her! Amazing work! more »
On Foursquare, Aug 10, 2013
So glad Bonnie is here now. Great salon and closer to me! more »
On Foursquare, Apr 03, 2013
Jamila leaves you feeling as if you've had an eye lift. Great threading at a great price. more »
5on Google, Mar 14, 2013
I moved from New York recently and was very stressed over finding someone to do my threading. I had a wonderful person in New York that had been using for 3 years. I read some reviews and decided upon Jamila. I drove the 30 minutes and found it was well worth it! I didn't have an appointment but also didn't have to wait more than a few minutes. Jamila was professional and very quick and I felt much "cleaner" after leaving her. I am going back again today! more »
5on Google, Mar 14, 2013
The shaping of my eyebrows had been all messed up due to previous waxings at another salon, but since finding Jamila my eyebrows have never looked better! Every time I go, I am seen right away and the most I've waited to get seen was 5 minutes- not bad at all! Jamila is very nice and personable every time I go. I've been going to her since November and I have yet to have a complaint! :) I also got her hair thickening treatment and it really helped in reducing how much hair I lose in the shower! more »
1on Google, Mar 14, 2013
OVERBOOKED. ALWAYS. Terrible service. Jamila never takes names and it's total chaos. It's a sea of annoyed, crabby people who all made appointments and have been waiting forever. GO ANYWHERE ELSE. more »
4on Google, Mar 14, 2013
Jamila's been threading my eyebrows for several years now. She's great and so fast!
If you've never tried it, threading is awesome. The results are the same as waxing but you doin
g get the ripped, raw skin. more »
On Foursquare, Oct 10, 2012
Dixie is the one to see more »
5on Yellow Pages, Aug 24, 2012
Highly recommend Angie Munsey for a great haircut! She listens, is highly skilled, and she really cares about giving you a haircut you'll love. more »
5on Merchant Circle, Aug 24, 2012
I highly recommend Angie Munsey if you're looking for a great haircut. She is a high skilled stylist and, most importantly, she takes time to give you a cut you'll love! I have short hair and am very picky when it comes to haircuts but am always pleased. :-) more »
On Foursquare, May 30, 2012
Amazing threader! Can't trust anyone but jamila with my eyebrows! more »
5on Merchant Circle, May 30, 2012
I recently moved to Austin and the second I got here I started looking for a eyebrow threader because my skin is very sensitive. I read alot of great reviews about Jamila at Jamila Salon and Spa. People all said she had a light hand and she would be efficient with time while giving you a great shape! I have been going to her for two months now and I'm SO glad i found her! I'm a very lucky girl with great eyebrows thanks to Jamila! I suggest her to anyone! She's awesome! more »
On Foursquare, May 30, 2012
Jamila's herbal face mask is awesome it leaves my face feeling fresh and healthy! I feel young again! more »
On Foursquare, Apr 21, 2012
Great place for eyebrow threading more »
4on Google, Mar 14, 2012
Every time that I get my eyebrows done here, I get attended to right away. Jamila makes the whole experience comfortable through her small talk. She noticed my brows were being left too arched and corrected them for me. She also has a very gentle touch that doesn't make it feel like they are digging that thread into your skin. PLUS, as a guy, $12 is a bargain! (less for women) more »
5on Google, Mar 14, 2012
more »
5on Google, Mar 14, 2012
Best ever when it comes to Jamila herself & eyebrow threading. She is simply the best I've gone to. I had only waxed my eyebrows once b4 my sister introduced me to threading & Jamila. I've been going to her for maybe 3 or 4 years. I've gone to other ladies when I've missed her & have never been happy with them. Now I take my daughter to Jamila as well. Very minimal pain, & like she has told me b4 if it is too painful then it's not being done correctly, I'm speaking from experience. She's quick & knows what she's doing. I also get facial threading from her & facials. Love her. And her rates are very reasonable. more »
5on Google, Mar 14, 2012
I had my eyebrows and lip threaded for the first time by Jamila and I couldn't have been more pleased with the entire experience. Actually, I recently recommended Jamila to my sister and her experience of first time threading went just as well as my own. We are both now reformed facial waxing folks and we couldn't be more content. AFFORDABLE TOO!! :)
I recommend highly Jamila!!!!! :)
more »
On Foursquare, Feb 07, 2012
Steve is the best hairdresser in town! more »
On Foursquare, Sep 29, 2011
For beautiful eyebrows go to Jamila!! No wax better for your skin more »
Page 2 of 4
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
7817 Rockwood Ln, Austin, TX 78757
Hair Salons
Today 10:30 am - 5:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
Specialties
We opened in 2006, as a salon and salon suites leasing business. We specialize in many beauty services. Eyebrow "threading", Ayurvedic Facials, Ayurvedic Shampoo & Oil, Hair, Hair Services including: Haircuts, Color/Highlights, Color Correction, Henna, Henna Color, Perms, Hair Straightening, Hair Extensions, Eyelash Extensions, and Nails Services.
We focus on helping our clients create and maintain healthy hair with our ayurv hair products. See us at www.jamilasalon.com and www.ancientayurvedic.com.
History
Established in 2006.
Since its opening in 2006 Jamila Salon & Spa has catered to a discriminating and diverse clientele. The moment you enter the door, the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. The distinctive interior has been professionally designed for your total comfort and well being.
Our independent hairstylists are experienced and provide services that are carefully chosen to enhance a clients hair, features and lifestyle. Our salon offers the best in Austin Eyebrow Threading and Facial Threading. Try our "Ancient Ayurvedic" Herbal Hair Therapy Products by Jamila. Jamila makes all her hair therapy products using all natural herbs. Her products benefit her clients that are losing hair, have dry scalp and dry hair. Enhance your skin with our natural facials and facial masks.
For personal beauty or a modern escape .....we invite you to join us to relax, rejuvenate for an hour...an afternoon....or a day.
Private Suites and Chair Rentals available for Lease to Beauty Professional!
Meet the Business Owner
Jamila N.
Business Owner
I have been in the beauty industry for numerous years in my home country of Pakistan and here in Austin. My goal is to introduce Austin customers to professional eyebrow threading and the benefits of Ayurvedic based hair care products that are benenfical to the growth and beauty of the hair. I enjoy giving to my customers natural and relaxing facials in a beautiful and relaxing atmosphere. The hair professionals working with me are genuine and highly experienced in their field. I am proud to be part of the beauty industry here in Austin.
more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  52
4  6
3  
2  
1  6
17 reviews with no rating
4.5
81 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence