Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Hotel Carlton

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.1
1055 reviews
|Hotels|San Francisco, CA 94109

1075 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109

(415) 673-0242

https://www.jdvhotels.com/hotels

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(5) · Hospitality

1135 4th St

(415) 459-9557

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Hotels

20 12th St

(415) 861-2373

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Hotels

345 California Street

(415) 276-9602

1 person is looking at this business

4.9
(11) · Hotels

609 Old County Rd

(650) 288-7707

2 people are looking at this business

4.8
(464) · Hospitality

30 El Portal

(415) 332-9535

6 people are looking at this business

4.8
(160) · Hospitality

310 1st St E

(707) 996-0719

2 people are looking at this business

About

Hotel Carlton's boutique hotel rooms offer expansive city views and soothing color palettes punctuated by vivid accents. Each luxury guestroom is furnished with hand-painted Moroccan side tables and decorated with photographs of 15th-century Nepalese temples. To escape the bustle of the city, be sure to kick back and have a great time at the nightly wine receptions with live music by local musicians.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.1
1,055 reviews
5433
  
4330
  
3164
  
239
  
123
  
66 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
marcya23 review for Hotel Carlton
marcya23 on Citysearch

17 years ago

03/22/2005, 02:59 AM
Beautifully done – During our recent trip to San Francisco, we spent one night at the Hotel Carlton. Next time we go, we will spend EVERY night there. The location was great, service exceptional, and the decor was beautifully done. We loved it! Often times hotels look nothing like they do on their websites. This one does. I would give it a 10 out of 10 if you like Boutique Hotels.
Contributor review for Hotel Carlton
Contributor on Citysearch

17 years ago

11/01/2004, 08:01 AM
An intimate hotel offering great value in a central location. – The Scene This stylish boutique hotel was built in 1927 and recently underwent a significant renovation by the Joie de Vivre group. May 2004 saw its grand re-opening. Of note: Oriental rugs, carved furnishings and tribal figurines that give the atmosphere an "international vintage" feel. The Details Guest rooms continue the eclectic and exotic theme with color tones reminiscent of Indian and Moroccan fabrics. Soothing blues and creams are offset by glowing colors like saffron and deep tones of red. Because the hotel is not hemmed in by other buildings, most rooms have unobstructed views of the downtown area. The lobby hosts a private collection of travel photographs courtesy of the locally based American Himalayan Foundation. The location is prime, in the best part of downtown with access to all of San Francisco's prize attractions.
dmirsky review for Hotel Carlton
dmirsky on Citysearch

19 years ago

05/05/2003, 04:52 AM
5 star service! Very clean! – My girlfriend and I stayed at the Carlton for 2 nights and would definitely stay there again. The service was better than any place I've ever stayed. The gentleman at the front desk was courteous and extremely helpful (especially when I got lost trying to find the hotel). It's an older place, but it only adds to the mystique. The only complaint is that noise from the hallways travels easily because the walls are a thin. If you're looking for all the updated technologies that most new hotels offer, don't stay here. But if you're looking for a nice, clean and inexpensive place to stay for a few nights, I would definitely recommend staying at the Carlton.
Featured content
How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation

How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation

How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation
What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?
the_emperor review for Hotel Carlton
the_emperor on Citysearch

19 years ago

11/14/2002, 01:44 AM
A Great Place To Stay – We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Carlton. The room was on the small side, but very clean and nice. We especially enjoyed the wine hour held in the lobby every evening. It was fun to talk to the other guests and have a glass of wne, or two. It's in a great location, a nice walk to Union Square, China Town and for the adventurous, North Beach. We'd definitely stay there again.
pointpleasant review for Hotel Carlton
pointpleasant on Citysearch

19 years ago

10/30/2002, 03:03 AM
Wine Happy Hour makes me Happy – The Carlton is a charming place. At 5 pm, they offer guests a wine happy hour. Usually, a talkative group finds itself chatting and sipping wine in the lobby around that time. Makes it feel a little like a B&B. Our room was small and cute. I liked the elevator with a door that you open yourself - very old school. I found the location to be pretty convenient - but I also enjoy walking. It's a fair distance from North Beach, but not far from China Town or Union Square.
johnkari review for Hotel Carlton
johnkari on Citysearch

20 years ago

06/26/2002, 08:11 AM
Nice but not great – There's a lot to like about this hotel: the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, it's affordable and the happy hour (included) was a very nice touch. It fell a little short only in a few areas. The door to our room didn't seal - it had a gap that let light and sound in. There wasn't a fan in the bathroom. Also, the place is a bit far from Chinatown, North Beach, downtown, parks, etc.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.