BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Hair By Monica Johnston

4.7
27 reviews
(Hair Salons)
 13343 US-183 #400, 13343 N Hwy 183 Ste 400, Austin, TX 78750US

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(512) 567-2551

Write a review

5on BirdEye, Jul 19, 2017
Well, almost 4 years later I am STILL with Monica. Why? Because she has NEVER let me down, whether it be my cut, color, or pleasant , fun conversation. She is truly talented and actually listens to her clients. I am still OCD about my hair, and unlike other stylists who get annoyed with clients telling them what not to do with their hair, Monica encourages me to show her, or actually gives me the comb to let me part my hair, and even wants me to check it to see if I see anything I want changed before I get out of the chair. I have always been more than satisfied with the results. I have never had to ask her to change a thing about the style she has given me. I have had to reschedule with her in the past and she has always been understanding and accommodating. However, I do give her at least 24hrs notice, because, as a small business owner myself, I understand that frequent cancellations at the last minute are disrespectful. If she can't rebook that time slot on short notice it affects her paycheck which in turn negatively affects her livelihood. Most people, unless there is an emergency, are able to give at least 24hours notice. I am a healthcare professional for 30 years and almost all physicians offices will tag on a $25 or more cancellation fee. Thank you Monica for the excellent service you provide. more »
5on BirdEye, Feb 28, 2017
Monica is wonderful ! I just moved here and being busy had let my hair "go" a bit. it was quite a job with a corrective color and cut, but Monica knew exactly what to do. It came out fantastic! Highly recommend her. more »
5on Google, Oct 10, 2016
Monica is an outstanding color specialist and I always love the cut. She always takes special care of my fine hair which is hard to find. If you are looking for a stylist you can trust I highly recommend Monica and her years of experience more »
5on BirdEye, Jun 09, 2016
We moved here two half years ago and it took three different stylist to find "the one" for me. Monica knows what she is doing when it comes to my crazy thick curly hair and that is a feat on its own. Not only does she do my hair bit my husbands as well and his is the complete opposite of mine. We love our look when Monica is done and the way we feel as we are friends not customers when we are with her. more »
5on Google, May 31, 2016
Love the way Monica sombe' highlighted my hair and the cut was prefect. more »
5on BirdEye, Dec 18, 2015
I have been going to Monica for about 3 years now. She does amazing men's cuts! I go every 3 weeks. She's very nice and has a great sense of humor. more »
5on BirdEye, Dec 17, 2015
I've been going to Monica for cut/color/highlights/Keratin treatments for years. I'm very particular and she does an outstanding job! She listens to what I want, takes the time to understand and gives very honest feedback about what may look good or bad on me and keeping my hair healthy. She never rushes and it shows that she wants her customers to leave satisfied. I love that I found Monica on this side of town. Bonus: she's super cute, funny and caring. more »
5on BirdEye, Dec 16, 2015
Monica has been my colorist and hairstylist for 13 years and I think she is the best! She is very knowledgeable about color and when I ask for advice about a certain hair color or style, she will honestly give her opinion about whether it will work for me or not. I trust her judgement and I like her direct approach. When I have been late for an appointment a couple of times, she was very courteous, respectful and understanding. And when I needed to change my appointment, at times, she was very accommodating and gave me several different dates and times to choose from. Monica exudes professionalism and she has treated me well. I recommend her to all my family and friends!!! more »
5on BirdEye, Dec 04, 2015
Absolutely love Monica! Always running on time and always does my hair exactly like I want it done. I would highly recommend Monica. Very pleasant atmosphere! more »
1on BirdEye, Nov 29, 2015
Monica is great at cutting hair and I had been with her for several years but she's also crazy. I work very erratic schedules, as my clinic is open 7 days a week, 12 hours a day 365 days a year and sometimes I have to reschedule as I, like many people, don't know what they are doing 6 weeks in advance. God forbid you attempt to reschedule with her, even with notice. She will either not talk to you or lecture you, or even debase you, making you feel like crap. It's unfortunate that this happened but i will happily go to another person, who was highly recommended, is cheaper, is good, and appreciates a loyal customer. Someone that realizes they get paid by their clients to be a professional. more »
5on BirdEye, Nov 21, 2015
I highly recommend Monica. She's been doing my hair now for 13 years and I would never go to anyone else! She's always done an excellent job and really cares about the quality of her work. We have become great friends over the years! more »
5on BirdEye, Nov 18, 2015
Monica is an awesome colorist I have been going to her for 15 plus years. I think she is the best in town and want to make sure everyone knows she is at Salon Republic. Her attention to detail is out of this world, she will tell you what you need to hear not what you want to hear. That is what I love about her and am proud to call her my friend. I would and do recommend her to anybody looking for a well rounded professional. We laugh a lot!!!! more »
5on BirdEye, Nov 17, 2015
Monica is awesome! I've been going to her for 20+ years and she always does a great job. Since she started coloring my hair, it's not uncommon for me to get stopped by strangers so they can compliment my color and ask where I get it done! Highly recommend her! more »
5on BirdEye, Nov 17, 2015
Monica does a great job EVERY time. I never leave with a bad cut or color. She listens and understands whenever I want to change my style & helps me figure out what will look good. She was even available for 'therapy texts' when I was growing out my bangs! I refer everyone to her and they all love her. more »
5on BirdEye, Nov 17, 2015
I don't usually write reviews, but I do believe in giving credit to experience and professionalism. Monica is by far the most knowledgeable stylist I have had care for my hair. Monica has given me the best accessory that I wear every day..... I could have no make up and in my sweats and still get compliments on my hair!! I would recommend anyone who wants a stylist that is professionable, knowledgeable and fabulous!!! more »
5on Facebook, Sep 16, 2015
Awesomely talented hairstylist!!! Not to mention a wonderful soul.... more »
Business Response:
Ditto David !!!!
5on Google, Mar 16, 2014
As everyone mentioned, great service, great prices, but one little known fact, she keeps beer in the fridge!!! more »
5on Google, Mar 16, 2014
I have been going to Monica for about 5 years now after loosing my long time hair dresser to cancer. A friend from work referred me after my having a hard time finding someone that I felt comfortable with. Monica does a fantastic job of making you feel comfortable and truly listens to what you want your hair to look and feel like. From cuts and highlights to styling Monica does top notch work, my husband and both daughters continue to go to Monica as well. more »
5on Google, Mar 16, 2014
I met Monica about 25 years ago when I had a huge hair disaster. A colleague of mine recommended her and I went to her right away. She did wonders when I thought there was no hope and I've been going to her ever since! Yes, that means I'm no spring chicken. So, if you have your own tried and true style, Monica will give you that. If you want the latest style or color, she can do a great job of that, too. You can see that from her website. Don't let that scare you away, though, if you are traditional like me and want the style you've always had. One thing I like best about Monica is that she will tell you if a style is right for your hair. I have very fine straight hair and very few styles (like one!) will work. I can't remember how many times I have asked her if a certain star or model's hair style would work on me. Her answer: "If you have a stylist who follows you around all day like they do." I need that honesty to keep me on the straight and narrow - hair-wise! She won't let you walk out looking goofy unless it's truly what you want! Monica is skilled, dependable and funny. I'm her client for life! more »
5on Google, Mar 16, 2014
I found Monica through a neighbor after a very bad cut. She was able to fix my cut while leaving most of my length. I have since been back for highlights and they look beautiful! My husband has started going to her as well. She is so nice and professional and I never feel rushed. The salon is beautiful and her prices are fair. If your looking for a new stylist you must try her! more »
5on Google, Mar 16, 2014
I went to monica on a friends recommendation. she started off making me feel very comfortable asking questions about what i wanted. she actually listened to me and gave me an incredible haircut and color. i am so happy with the results and will recommend her to all my friends. thank you monica more »
5on Facebook, Mar 15, 2014
She is good! more »
5on Facebook, Oct 09, 2013
more »
1on Facebook, Feb 14, 2013
more »
5on Facebook, Feb 13, 2013
more »
Page 1 of 2
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
13343 US-183 #400, 13343 N Hwy 183 Ste 400, Austin, TX 78750
Hair Salons
Today 9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
I sprcialize in color, corrective color, haircuts for men and women, dry cuts available for curly hair. I have been in the hair industry 20 years and I love to make people look and feel great about themselves when they leave. You can call me for a free consultation! I look forward to meeting you!more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  24
4  
3  
2  
1  2
1 reviews with no rating
4.7
27 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence