Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Gold Leaf Restoration

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
23 reviews
|Art Restoration|Portland, OR 97214

544 SE Oak St, Portland, OR 97214

(503) 236-5546

http://www.goldleafdesign.net/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
About

Gold Leaf Restoration:: Gold Leaf Restoration was founded by Nancy Thorn in 1980, and through the years has grown to serve clientele worldwide, as well as interested customers visiting GLR's sunlit Portland, Oregon, studio. Nancy was introduced to gilding via a student of Daniel Thompson Jr., who taught at Yale in the 1930s and translated several important tomes on medieval painting techniques. Soon after, Nancy trained under two of the East Coast's foremost gilders, Boston's Nils Johnson and Connecticut's Bill Keck, spending several years under their tutelage. Now a master gilder herself, Nancy and her trained staff are typically engaged in a variety of projects, yet are happy to discuss th

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
23 reviews
515
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
8 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Meg Glasgow on Facebook

2 years ago

11/03/2019, 11:40 AM
The restoration work is superb and the speed & pricing is very fair. They've completed several projects for me and I look forward to working with them again.
Kingsley Jin on Facebook

2 years ago

04/24/2019, 02:58 AM
Professional customer of gilder
LuAnn B. Grazzini on Facebook

5 years ago

09/12/2016, 01:29 AM
Featured content
Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers
Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices

Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices

Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices
Elzbieta Osiak-Heise on Facebook

5 years ago

08/21/2016, 05:59 AM
Mark Montoya on Facebook

6 years ago

06/23/2015, 09:56 AM
Ashley Montoya on Facebook

7 years ago

08/06/2014, 09:06 AM
Maureen Sundstrom on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/29/2010, 02:38 AM
Fantastic gold leaf application – I had a very unique glass-top table purchased by my parents in the 1920's. The top was decorated with an antique mirror bordered with an extremely ornate pattern of gold leaf. The top was accidentally cracked. I was devastated since this had been my family's most prized possession. I took it to several glass shops who all told me it could not be repaired. My daughter found Nancy Thorn's Gold Leaf Restoration shop on line. I contacted Nancy and sent photos of the table. Although she had never worked on such a project before, she was extremely knowledgeable and felt sure she could create a new top. She referred me to Juno Lachman's Architectural Glass. Juno (who had never worked on anything like this either) carved the pattern. They then took the new top to an antique mirror shop for silvering. And, finally, Nancy faithfully copied the gold leaf pattern from the old top. I defy anyone to tell this reproduction from the original. It is a masterful job by everyone who worked on the project. Nancy was the guide and mastermind. She had the courage to proceed with a job unlike any she had done before. I cannot recommend her highly enough, both as an outstanding person and a marvelous artisan. I will be forever grateful to her and to the others involved in this restoration project.
Sachson Group on Citysearch

11 years ago

05/18/2010, 16:39 PM
Excellent Craftmanship – My clients thank you and I thank you for fabulous restoration to antique gilded frames. As an Architectural Interior Designer the key to a successful project is ones sources … you have made my list of the top ten of old-world technique craftspeople! In addition, I so enjoyed my two-day hands-on class…. my frames hang prominently in my studio with a newfound respect for the detail needed to restore & create magnificent pieces of art.
eosiak on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/23/2008, 11:04 AM
Best gilder in Portland – I am a painting conservator who has worked in Portland since 1993. In my experience, Nancy is one of the best gilders in the nation. She restores frames for my clients and she makes period reproductions for diverse antique paintings which are missing frames with amazing results. She has a true mastery of her craft. I highly recommend her and her personable staff. They are the best in the city. Elzbieta Osiak Painting Conservation Studio
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.