Logo White
Watch Demo

Gloria's Cafe

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
714 reviews
|Salvadoran|Los Angeles, CA 90034

10227 Venice Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90034

(310) 838-0963

http://www.gloriascafelosangeles.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.5
(50) · Restaurants

1011 S Alvarado St

(213) 383-1980
4.4
(171) · Restaurants

136 E Arrow Hwy

(626) 966-3460
4.4
(414) · Restaurants

560 W 19th St

(949) 722-8632
4.4
(190) · Salvadoran

5027 Melrose Ave

(323) 468-0119
About

Gloria's Cafe is a charming and affordable eatery serving a mix of Mexican and Salvadorian fare. It welcomes one with a pleasantly lit, colorful interior, supremely friendly service and – according to many – some of the best pupusas in town. Other "must try" are the carne adobada and plantains. The menu features a lot of seafood options, including the impressive Seven Seas Soup with fish, crab, shrimp, calamari, octopus, and scallops.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 60,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.4
714 reviews
5457
  
4126
  
335
  
218
  
132
  
46 reviews have no rating
  • 478 Reviews4.4Google
  • 205 Reviews4.5Facebook
  • Show All
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Laura G. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

05/20/2008, 05:15 AM
friendly home cooking, El Salvadorean style This place is within walking distance, and I'm there all the time. Either Gloria or one of her sons is serving, and they are super friendly! Dining there always has a warm, friendly family feeling. Prices are VERY reasonable...in the $8-15 range for pretty much every diner. The nachos are huge and so yummy! The pupusas and fried yuca are my favorites.
vidlyvid on Citysearch

13 years ago

03/08/2008, 11:09 AM
excellent Salvadoran specials – this place is way too tasty. We have ordered take-out a few times and the food is ready fast, the people are friendly, and it's delicious. What we've loved is the carne adobado and the marinated chicken steak and the pupusas, of course. I can't comment on the restaurant atmosphere since we get takeout, but man, is that food good. Can't comment on the more tex-mex type dishes like enchiladas (I love that stuff, but the Californian versions taste weird to me) but their Salvadoran and chef specials sections are excellent.
bluemooner on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/20/2007, 10:46 AM
Great mexican food, great enchiladas, great service, low prices – We went on a Saturday night and the food was very good. I loved the cheese enchiladas wuth green sauce and my husband loved the chicken enchiladas with red sauce. The refried beans were very tasty and as well as the rice. The servers were friendly and very accomodating. Very reasonable prices. Will definitely be coming back. A very good value for the money.
Featured content
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
Demystifying Google Business Reviews

Demystifying Google Business Reviews

Demystifying Google Business Reviews
pandadaisy on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/21/2007, 10:03 AM
Great neighborhood destination! – I have gone to Gloria's almost once a week since moving to the area. They are the NICEST people, have great service, and great food! I tried their burrito once, and it was ok, but then we started trying their salvadorian food (and I got hooked on their awesome pupusas). Try something off their specials menu - especially their carne adobadas or their pupusas loroco, and you WON'T be dissapointed).
sbizzy57 on Citysearch

13 years ago

05/09/2007, 16:27 PM
Great Salvadoran and Mexican food... – I love this place. First of all, it has a very friendly, attentive owner in Gloria who remembers all her customer's and will actually care what you have to say. But most importantly, for a reasonable price you get excellent food. I usually order the House Special Burrito with chicken, and it is one of the best I have had anywhere. The soups are excellent as well, and the guacamole tests very fresh. Overall, it's a hole in the wall, but you'd be hard pressed to find many restaurants with food this good at such reasonable prices.
mpecora on Citysearch

13 years ago

04/07/2007, 03:01 AM
Salvadoran food at it's best – A cozy homey family restaurant with great Salvadoran and Mexican food, Gloria's shows what attention to business can do. Try the Salvadoran tamales, a real treat. Gloria herself goes from table to table and chats with each group, and she actually listens to what you have to say. This is a special place, a great meal and a pleasant experience.
luckysun on Citysearch

14 years ago

12/05/2006, 01:16 AM
South of the Border Comfort Food – Gloria's is a good family style place. It's cozy, old school, and affordable, with some excellent El Salvador cuisine. I recommend the Carne Adobada, carnitas style pork simmered in a tangy tomato based sauce. The steak picado and the pork chops are also tasty. This is not a low fat-nouvelle-baja kind of place. Some may find it heavy or oily. The Mexican fare is also good, but it's the Salvadorean enterees and appetizers (papusas, tamales) you must try to really appreciate this well kept secret tucked in a mini mall on Venice Blvd. They serve beer and wine, no hard stuff. Muy Sabroso.
b3ndi3tz on Citysearch

14 years ago

05/16/2006, 02:08 AM
shhhh!!! – My fiancee and I live right down the street from Gloria's and it has become our regular Friday "date night" locale. The food is absolutely phenomenal (she loves the tortilla soup and the fish tacos; i like it all!), the service is first rate, and the ambiance is very traditional but festive. Gloria herself is a wonderful woman, always greeting us when we arrive, offering helpful menu suggestions and answering any questions we might have. On Cinco De Mayo, they had a special celebration where we were treated to two of Gloria's specialties (the Chicken Mole and the Birria) both of which were out of this world. My only fear is that the rest of the world will find out about our "hidden jewel" and it will become too crowded--so please, come and enjoy but shhhhh!!!!
Private P. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

04/13/2006, 03:32 AM
Thank you insider pages... ...for sending me to this wonderful quaint spot just around the corner from me. Yes, what the other reviewer wrote is all true - Gloria, the owner, takes your order at your table. The food is very good, and the whole place has a nice integrity to it. One thing - it was crowded lunch hour midweek - and service was a little slow. I'm going back.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.