BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Georgia O’Keeffe Museum

4.2
271 reviews
(Museums)
 217 Johnson St, Santa Fe, NM 87501US

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(505) 946-1000

Write a review

5on Google, Jul 11, 2016
Great museum. I recommend taking guided tour. Incredible works on display and staff is very knowledgeable about the works. I learned so much at this museum. more »
5on Google, Jul 01, 2016
Solid single artist museum. Heavy on the early work. more »
4on Google, Jul 01, 2016
I enjoyed the museum but it is pretty pricey for what it is. more »
5on Google, Jul 01, 2016
The art is nice. The security guards are awful, though more »
5on Google, Jul 01, 2016
Make sure you spend the extra few bucks for the guided docent tour. It's a great way to get insights into the artist's life and how she lived. more »
1on Google, Jul 01, 2016
Sad to say after living in New Mexico for 30 years, I finally went to the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum on Sunday, June 20, 2016 in Santa Fe, NM. The ticket takers were rude, demanded ID to prove residency - why is there a separate price for our out-of-state guests anyway? We should ALL enjoy our museums at the same price.
After entering the museum I was surprised to find only one of her famous moon flower works in residence. Much of the art in the museum were her earlier works - the best stuff must be at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City?
Throughout my residence in New Mexico I have heard about another O'Keeffe painting that a private family has kept in a safe for over 20 years. When discussing this with one of the "security" guards he vehemently assured me that there could be no other works of hers out there because O'Keeffe only worked with a few galleries, all of her paintings were well documented, and that O'Keeffe had destroyed all of her unfinished works. He talked to me like he considered me an imbecile. He went on to say that if there were such a painting - which he snarled down his arrogant nose at me - that it would have to be validated and that this particular museum was the most qualified to do so. The guy was one of those typical, arrogant, know-it-all jerks that you occasionally run into in Santa Fe. It leaves a bitter taste in your mouth. Don't waste your money. They don't deserve it and there's many, many other better things to do in Santa Fe.
It's not really a museum - it's a shrine of worship to a very dead artist.
more »
5on Google, Jul 01, 2016
Loved this museum, just so wonderful to be in Santa Fe and experiencing this first hand, have love her work for so long and to see some originals hanging was a real treat! more »
4on Google, Jul 01, 2016
must go in Santa fe more »
4on Google, Jun 01, 2016
Interesting article and life story. Well worth the visit. I wish places like this would have a few benches for us older folks to sit and contemplate the art. more »
5on Google, Jun 01, 2016
more »
5on Google, Jun 01, 2016
Really cool! Great collection of her works more »
4on Google, Jun 01, 2016
well managed and willing to take risks,, more »
4on Google, Jun 01, 2016
more »
4on Google, Jun 01, 2016
Nice visit in the city where the artist spent much of her life. Small space but good number of pieces. more »
5on Google, May 02, 2016
Lovely place to stroll through, both the art and the building are worth the trip. more »
3on Google, May 02, 2016
Nicely curated museum but it has a rather small collection. Worth a visit. more »
5on Google, May 02, 2016
Contrary to previous reviews, I thought the staff were friendly and welcoming. The museum does not have a huge collection of O'Keefe paintings, but the paintings they have are representative of her works and they illustrate her development as an artist and the impact that New Mexico had on her work and life. Tip: watch the video about her. more »
5on Google, May 02, 2016
Quintessential Santa Fe! more »
4on Google, May 02, 2016
A "must see" gallery. She blazed a trail, for sure. more »
on Foursquare, Apr 16, 2016
Small museum, lots of photographs of Georgia and keepsakes, not too many works of hers, but well organized, lots of info, and friendly and knowledgeable staff. more »
5on Google, Mar 03, 2016
more »
5on Google, Feb 18, 2016
Excellent gallery with a lot of great pieces. Definitely worth taking a stroll through the exhibits. more »
5on Google, Feb 18, 2016
Friend wanted to check the museum out so I went with him. So glad I did. This place is incredible, the level of detail in the art is amazing. I'm not a huge art person, but I really enjoyed what I saw here. more »
3on Google, Feb 16, 2016
Very interesting intro video will change how you think of O'Keeffe, but I wish there were more works on display. On the day of my visit, the gallery showed 10 rooms worth of works, but there were only perhaps a dozen works in each room. Most of the works that were shown were not the iconic Georgia O'Keeffe paintings of flowers or landscapes. This museum, I'd say, is concerned more with the woman than her art. more »
1on Google, Feb 16, 2016
The tickets were overpriced for the size of the museum and the lack of Georgia O'Keeffe paintings. It seems a little misleading to call it the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. If you are interested in seeing more of her paintings in one place, I suggest the Milwaukee Art Museum, WI. more »
Page 8 of 11
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
217 Johnson St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Museums
Today 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is dedicated to the artistic legacy of Georgia O'Keeffe, to defining its ongoing significance, and to the study and interpretation of American Modernism, late nineteenth century to the present. The Museum's collections, historic properties, exhibitions, Research Center, publications, and education programs contribute to scholarly discourse and inspire diverse audiences. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, in Santa Fe, New Mexico, opened to the public in July 1997, eleven years after the death of the artist from whom it takes its name. Welcoming more than 2,225,000 visitors from all over the world, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is the most visited art museum in the state of New Mexico, and is the only museum in the world dedicated to an internationally known American woman artist. One of the most significant artists of the 20th century, Georgia O'Keeffe (1887-1986) was devoted to creating imagery that expressed what she called ”the wideness and wonder of the world as I live in it.“ She was a leading member of the Stieglitz Circle artists, headed by Alfred Stieglitz, America's first advocate of modern art in America. These avant-garde artists began to flourish in New York in the 1910s. O'Keeffe's imagesinstantly recognizable as her owninclude abstractions, large-scale depictions of flowers, leaves, rocks, shells, bones, and other natural forms, New York cityscapes, and paintings of the unusual shapes and colors of architectural and landscape forms of northern New Mexico. The Museum's collection of over 3,000 works comprises 1,149 O'Keeffe paintings, drawings, and sculptures that date from 1901 to 1984, the year failing eyesight forced O'Keeffe into retirement. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is the largest single repository of O'Keeffe's work in the world. Throughout the year, visitors can see a changing selection of these works. In addition, the Museum presents special exhibitions that are either devoted entirely to O'Keeffe's work or combine examples of her art with works by her American modernist contemporaries. The Museum also organizes exhibitions of works by her contemporaries, as well as by living artists of distinction. Over 140 artists other than O'Keeffe have been exhibited at the museum, such as Arthur Dove, Sherrie Levine, Jackson Pollock, and Andy Warhol. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum Research Center opened in July 2001 as a component of the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. As the only museum-related research facility in the world dedicated to the study of American Modernism (late nineteenth century—present), it sponsors research in the fields of art history, architectural history and design, literature, music, and photography. Its annual, competitive stipend program awards six stipends to qualified applicants who can spend three to twelve months at the Research Center, which makes its library, collections, and unique archives accessible to researchers worldwide as well as to its in-house scholars. The Museum is open daily.more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  129
4  64
3  25
2  10
1  12
31 reviews with no rating
4.2
271 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence