BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Georgia O’Keeffe Museum

4.2
271 reviews
(Museums)
 217 Johnson St, Santa Fe, NM 87501US

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(505) 946-1000

Write a review

on Foursquare, Jun 10, 2015
WAY too small. Beware of going at the end of a semester-you'll be overrun with tour/school groups. No cafe, just a small food cart with coffee, drinks and donuts in the courtyard. Wi-Fi and lockers. more »
4on Google, Mar 18, 2015
The exhibits were compelling, from a rotating selection of Georgia O'Keeffe's work, to an exhibit that puts her work in the context of her time (by showing the work of contemporaries so also came to Santa Fe and the Ghost Ranch), to fantastic photographs of the artist in her later years. The museum is on the small side, but I thoroughly enjoyed the nine rooms. more »
2on Google, Mar 18, 2015
Very small collection of her most recognizable work. Not the most interesting or innovative museum. more »
1on Google, Mar 18, 2015
Skip it!! 3 of 5 display rooms were closed, none of the paintings on display had working audio accompaniment and the staff were astonishingly rude.
A friend & I ventured to Santa Fe for the week
end and thought we'd see the works of the famous painter. I wondered why the google ratings were so low, at 3.5 stars. Now I know. First we were given complimentary audio sets because 3 of 5 rooms were closed. Fine, it happens. I punched in the numbers of at least 10 paintings, and nada. Not a single one worked. Each time the recorded narrator apologized and informed me that the selection had no audio. Ok, but annoying. Then as my friend & I looked for more work to see, we were accosted by a staff member demanding our "complimentary" audio sets back. She emphatically told us that she needed them for patrons. HELLO!!! That was us. At that point, we had only been there for 20 minutes, tops.
Then it got ugly. Surprised but accepting of the uselessness of the place, we quietly went to the gift shop. There I committed the unholiest of sins and asked if they had magnets. I heart magnets; they are fun, frivolous, easy to travel with, and usually a happy reminder of good times spent with friends and the odd places we've journeyed to together. I was honestly lectured by the hefty, matronly cashier about Georgia O'Keeffe's last Will and Testament (really???) and about how the "arteeest" would never consent to such appalling and disgraceful use of her work. Holy Cow. I just wanted to enjoy a weekend kicking it a Southwestern town.
If you're not into paying for stuff that doesn't work and being the target of frustrated art critics day-timing it as angry clerks, you probably want to avoid this place altogether. They can Keeffe it.
more »
3on Google, Mar 18, 2015
Disappointing
I was looking forward to coming to the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. The day before our visit I heard on the news that several of her painting were going to be sold by the museum.
The wife & walked around looking for some of her great art, but found none. There were lots of Ansel Adams photography on display. What a waste of my time & money. I guess the better pieces are in private collections. more »
3on Google, Mar 18, 2015
I liked this cute museum. I think the exhibit should have more of O`Keeffe work. I discovered more of her work in the gift shop rather than in the museum itself. more »
4on Google, Mar 18, 2015
more »
5on Google, Mar 18, 2015
Loved the current exhibit of O'Keeffe's work in Hawaii! The museum does a great job combining photograph's of the artist with her paintings and drawings. Look for the rooms with a great slice of the artist's life. more »
on Foursquare, Mar 14, 2015
Amazing collection of O'Keefe's work that shows her growth as a person and an artist. If you love the NM landscapes, stop by to gain a new appreciation as you drive through. more »
on Foursquare, Jun 18, 2014
Make sure you mention you are military (active or retired) and it is free for the member and family. more »
5on Google, Mar 18, 2014
more »
5on Google, Mar 18, 2014
more »
4on Google, Mar 18, 2014
A small museum with rotating exhibits of Georgia O'Keeffe's work. Well lit and knowledgeable staff. Makes you want to go and visit ghost ranch near Taos. more »
5on Google, Mar 18, 2014
more »
4on Google, Mar 18, 2014
Excellent exhibit. Smaller than I expected given the volume of work she produced but that would be nitpicking. Go early enough to give yourself about 90 months to soak it all in more »
4on Google, Mar 18, 2014
I'm guessing the managers had a chance to read other reviews of this facility. To that end the guards were very nice to my 20 month old son! The combination of O'Keeffe as well as other (I think they used modern serialist) to describe pieces from guest artists was cool. Enjoy! more »
4on Google, Mar 18, 2014
more »
on Foursquare, Jan 30, 2014
Movies provide excellent background. They are part of the North American. Reciprocal Museum, so we got free entry. (Video phones not included.) more »
on Foursquare, Nov 16, 2013
Spent two hours, still not enough. more »
on Foursquare, Nov 16, 2013
Falling in love with my favorite artist again, rediscovering O'Keeffe. Love, love, love... more »
on Foursquare, Aug 15, 2013
Incredible museum! Make sure to bring a camera because they allow photography of certain works! more »
on Foursquare, Jun 17, 2013
Georgia O'Keeffe would often paint in her car. She referred to her Model 'A' Ford as her favorite studio. Learn more in this C-SPAN American History TV video. more »
on Foursquare, Jun 11, 2013
A must do! more »
on Foursquare, Mar 24, 2013
Curator guide is worth trying. Unlike our stereotypes, G O'Keeffe took very detailed, long, systematic processes in painting! But she had denied it!! more »
3on Google, Mar 18, 2013
I came to know her life through the series of her works, and I was more interested in each of her works than before. Watch a film which runs in a small room near the entrance of the museum. This will help you to understand her life.
一連の展示を通じて彼女の生涯を知ることで作品ひとつひとつにさらに興味がわきました。館内で放映されているビデオを見ることをオススメします。
more »
Page 10 of 11
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
217 Johnson St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Museums
Today 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is dedicated to the artistic legacy of Georgia O'Keeffe, to defining its ongoing significance, and to the study and interpretation of American Modernism, late nineteenth century to the present. The Museum's collections, historic properties, exhibitions, Research Center, publications, and education programs contribute to scholarly discourse and inspire diverse audiences. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, in Santa Fe, New Mexico, opened to the public in July 1997, eleven years after the death of the artist from whom it takes its name. Welcoming more than 2,225,000 visitors from all over the world, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is the most visited art museum in the state of New Mexico, and is the only museum in the world dedicated to an internationally known American woman artist. One of the most significant artists of the 20th century, Georgia O'Keeffe (1887-1986) was devoted to creating imagery that expressed what she called ”the wideness and wonder of the world as I live in it.“ She was a leading member of the Stieglitz Circle artists, headed by Alfred Stieglitz, America's first advocate of modern art in America. These avant-garde artists began to flourish in New York in the 1910s. O'Keeffe's imagesinstantly recognizable as her owninclude abstractions, large-scale depictions of flowers, leaves, rocks, shells, bones, and other natural forms, New York cityscapes, and paintings of the unusual shapes and colors of architectural and landscape forms of northern New Mexico. The Museum's collection of over 3,000 works comprises 1,149 O'Keeffe paintings, drawings, and sculptures that date from 1901 to 1984, the year failing eyesight forced O'Keeffe into retirement. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is the largest single repository of O'Keeffe's work in the world. Throughout the year, visitors can see a changing selection of these works. In addition, the Museum presents special exhibitions that are either devoted entirely to O'Keeffe's work or combine examples of her art with works by her American modernist contemporaries. The Museum also organizes exhibitions of works by her contemporaries, as well as by living artists of distinction. Over 140 artists other than O'Keeffe have been exhibited at the museum, such as Arthur Dove, Sherrie Levine, Jackson Pollock, and Andy Warhol. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum Research Center opened in July 2001 as a component of the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. As the only museum-related research facility in the world dedicated to the study of American Modernism (late nineteenth century—present), it sponsors research in the fields of art history, architectural history and design, literature, music, and photography. Its annual, competitive stipend program awards six stipends to qualified applicants who can spend three to twelve months at the Research Center, which makes its library, collections, and unique archives accessible to researchers worldwide as well as to its in-house scholars. The Museum is open daily.more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  129
4  64
3  25
2  10
1  12
31 reviews with no rating
4.2
271 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence