BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Georgia O’Keeffe Museum

4.2
271 reviews
(Museums)
 217 Johnson St, Santa Fe, NM 87501US

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(505) 946-1000

Write a review

on Foursquare, Dec 29, 2012
The collection was smaller than I expected, although there were some pieces that aren't published or reproduced anywhere. So that was nice. The gift shop ladies are extremely helpful and knowledgeable more »
on Foursquare, Oct 12, 2012
Smaller than you expect. You'll likely not need more than an hour to fully appreciate. more »
on Foursquare, Mar 24, 2012
A must in Santa Fe and easily doable in 45 minutes (or much longer if you like). Good rotating exhibits as well. more »
3on Google, Mar 18, 2012
more »
3on Google, Mar 18, 2012
more »
4on Google, Mar 18, 2012
more »
4on Google, Mar 18, 2012
more »
5on Google, Mar 18, 2012
This museum is relatively small and makes for a stress-free visit. The collection does not include many of her most famous works -- I supposed they are all in major museums or private collections, but the collection is broad and includes photographs. Take a tour by one of the docents. It will make your visit much more interesting. They are strict about not crossing the black lines on the floor in front of the paintings. more »
on Foursquare, Jan 19, 2012
Small, beautiful, and the most of O'Keeffe you'll see anywhere! more »
on Foursquare, Dec 29, 2011
Audio tour is an extra $3 and definitely worth it. more »
on Foursquare, Dec 01, 2011
I echo the other commenters. The museum has a robust permanent collection. But just a slice of it, perhaps 8-12 O'Keeffe works, is on display. Truly disappointing. more »
on Foursquare, Aug 29, 2011
No photography allowed inside, but a extremely varied collection that I quite enjoyed. more »
on Foursquare, Aug 12, 2011
Very little o'keefe on display :( more »
on Foursquare, Jul 12, 2011
Small Georgia O'keeffe section. Mostly curated shows, which are really good. The group shows can range from artists like Chuck Close to Warhol to Norman Rockwell. more »
on Foursquare, May 29, 2011
Surprised how little of O'Keefe's work was on display . more »
1on Google, Mar 19, 2011
This is not the first art museum our children have visited, and while the Albuquerque Museum of Art was very patient with and welcoming of our children, the O'Keeffe museum was not. The guards literally followed us through the museum. If the children even got close to a wall, we were told..."Don't let them touch!" Like we would let them do that! NO! My huband took our little girl out of the stroller and we were told that if she wasn't in the stroller he would have to take the stroller out of the exibit. So we put her back in the stroller, and she started crying. We were then told that we'd have to leave because we were disturbing the other people looking at the art! My adult brother leaned against a wall and was yelled at by a guard. So...very uptight atmosphere. And I agree...I wasn't impressed with what I saw on display anyway. more »
5on Google, Mar 19, 2011
This place is lovely. more »
2on Google, Mar 19, 2011
My husband, my sister and I visited the museum with much anticipation this May. The cost to visit is too high for what is there. (even as seniors) A small collection of Ms. O'Keefe's work was on display in a museum type presentation but we all found it boring and disappointing. Most of the paintings were small in size and none of the paintings that I looked forward to seeing were on display. I do agree that the 15 min. movie presentation was good, informative and well made, however I doubt any family with children would enjoy this museum OR the movie.
Other artist(s) work is also on display here.
Unfortunately we heard afterward, go to the Ghost Ranch outside of Santa Fe and you will be pleasantly surprised with her collection there and probably a much better place to take the kids. I would not recommend this museum.
more »
2on Google, Mar 19, 2011
An offshoot of the O'Keefe Museum, they are doing a great job at discouraging visits to the location. The main person dealing with reservations is officious and even insulting. There is a world of difference between efficiency and effectiveness. The person I dealt with was quite beyond her depth.
As others have observed, the system seems to be paranoid about anyone breathing on anything. This is an historic home, not the Church of the Nativity (where one has considerably more freedom). The guide was effective and helpful. However, the overall impression was such that I could not in conscience recommend this place as a priority, even though I am a huge fan of O'Keefe's work.
They need to rethink how they treat visitors and how they want to position the site. Otherwise it will sink beneath the waves.
more »
4on Google, Mar 19, 2011
Loved it! Make sure to see the tour at Ghost Ranch first!! more »
on Foursquare, Feb 03, 2010
Small but good; current susan rothenberg exhibit was a nice surprise more »
Page 11 of 11
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
217 Johnson St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Museums
Today 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is dedicated to the artistic legacy of Georgia O'Keeffe, to defining its ongoing significance, and to the study and interpretation of American Modernism, late nineteenth century to the present. The Museum's collections, historic properties, exhibitions, Research Center, publications, and education programs contribute to scholarly discourse and inspire diverse audiences. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, in Santa Fe, New Mexico, opened to the public in July 1997, eleven years after the death of the artist from whom it takes its name. Welcoming more than 2,225,000 visitors from all over the world, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is the most visited art museum in the state of New Mexico, and is the only museum in the world dedicated to an internationally known American woman artist. One of the most significant artists of the 20th century, Georgia O'Keeffe (1887-1986) was devoted to creating imagery that expressed what she called ”the wideness and wonder of the world as I live in it.“ She was a leading member of the Stieglitz Circle artists, headed by Alfred Stieglitz, America's first advocate of modern art in America. These avant-garde artists began to flourish in New York in the 1910s. O'Keeffe's imagesinstantly recognizable as her owninclude abstractions, large-scale depictions of flowers, leaves, rocks, shells, bones, and other natural forms, New York cityscapes, and paintings of the unusual shapes and colors of architectural and landscape forms of northern New Mexico. The Museum's collection of over 3,000 works comprises 1,149 O'Keeffe paintings, drawings, and sculptures that date from 1901 to 1984, the year failing eyesight forced O'Keeffe into retirement. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is the largest single repository of O'Keeffe's work in the world. Throughout the year, visitors can see a changing selection of these works. In addition, the Museum presents special exhibitions that are either devoted entirely to O'Keeffe's work or combine examples of her art with works by her American modernist contemporaries. The Museum also organizes exhibitions of works by her contemporaries, as well as by living artists of distinction. Over 140 artists other than O'Keeffe have been exhibited at the museum, such as Arthur Dove, Sherrie Levine, Jackson Pollock, and Andy Warhol. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum Research Center opened in July 2001 as a component of the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. As the only museum-related research facility in the world dedicated to the study of American Modernism (late nineteenth century—present), it sponsors research in the fields of art history, architectural history and design, literature, music, and photography. Its annual, competitive stipend program awards six stipends to qualified applicants who can spend three to twelve months at the Research Center, which makes its library, collections, and unique archives accessible to researchers worldwide as well as to its in-house scholars. The Museum is open daily.more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  129
4  64
3  25
2  10
1  12
31 reviews with no rating
4.2
271 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence