BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Georgia O’Keeffe Museum

4.2
267 reviews
(Museums)
 217 Johnson St, Santa Fe, NM 87501US

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(505) 946-1000

Write a review

1on Google, Oct 10, 2016
more »
on Foursquare, Sep 16, 2016
Obviously a must. You can do this small museum very quickly if you have to, but I'd recommend taking your time. more »
5on Google, Sep 10, 2016
more »
1on Google, Sep 10, 2016
more »
Business Response:
Hi Kristen, we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time at the Museum. We welcome your feedback for ways we can improve the visitor experience.
4on Google, Sep 10, 2016
more »
4on Google, Sep 10, 2016
Didn't know much about Georgia before my visit and learned a lot. Lots of great paintings but missing some of her most famous pieces.
Great location.
Good place right next door for an
outdoor beer. more »
5on Google, Sep 10, 2016
more »
5on Google, Sep 10, 2016
Great stuff! Really enjoyed these beautiful works of art. more »
4on Google, Aug 11, 2016
New exhibition more »
4on Google, Aug 11, 2016
I really enjoyed this museum and found all of it very interesting. I would have given it 5 stars except for two things: 1) the app was not working correctly and I didn't know group tours were offered or I would have happily paid extra. 2) I have to agree with some other reviews about the unfriendliness of some of the women selling tickets. The lady that waited on us was unfriendly and offered ZERO information. This museum is a major draw for people, surely the manager can do better hiring people that show common courtesy (or retrain the staff that is there). more »
4on Google, Aug 11, 2016
Very interesting museum that proposes a reduction for NM citizens, even though the price's a little high, the collection is pretty broad and Georgia O'Keeffe's work is pretty astonishing. more »
5on Google, Aug 11, 2016
I loved seeing so much of Georgia O'Keefee's work in the same building. Then driving out into the places that she was inspired by afterwards; it made me happy.
Although maybe feeling t
hat way was not what she was thinking when she painted all of those beautiful works of art .... "I think it's so foolish for people to want to be happy. Happy is so momentary - you're happy for an instant and then you start thinking again. (Georgia O'Keeffe) more »
on Foursquare, Aug 06, 2016
This woman lived in Canyon Texas. Seriously! more »
4on Google, Jul 31, 2016
more »
2on Google, Jul 31, 2016
I'm glad New Mexico has this museum but I wish the experience of visiting it was more rewarding. The woman who sold us our admission tickets was very rude and impatient with my 83 year-old mother. Then the mobile app, which is supposed to include an audio tour, would not work properly. Finally, the collection of art is nice enough but we only saw a small handful of O'Keefe's iconic paintings. I recommend going if you're curious but don't be surprised if you leave feeling disappointed. more »
5on Google, Jul 31, 2016
An excellent collection of Georgia Okeefe paintings, sketches, drawings, and other materials to help visualize the art space in which she worked.
The staff was so friendly, my only concern was t
hat because I live out of town, their hours of operation at this location are somewhat limited. more »
4on Google, Jul 24, 2016
I enjoyed the Museum, but first and foremost I must say that when I was passing out from the altitude and heat, two of the three guards were most kind. Mark and John were my saviors. Mark got me to a bench and was most solicitous as was John also later on. The other guard ..... not so much. I do appreciate their caring. Those two were great hires by the Museum. more »
4on Google, Jul 24, 2016
My wife was very much looking forward took visiting. We passed through Santa Fe in 2013 with the intention of visiting the Museum only to find it was closed for a function or other. So when we were passing through again in June 2016 this was a must stop.
Let me preface this by saying I am not a Georgia O'Keefe fan and really know little about her or her work (though I did pick up a lot from my visit). Instead this is essentially my wife's views who had studied Georgia O'Keefe since high school.
My wife thought while the Museum was perfectly serviceable, it's collection was very lacklustre. She is of the view that most of O'Keefe's more significant work is housed at other galleries. However it is nonetheless worth a stop to see a large selection of her work in one spot.
more »
5on Google, Jul 24, 2016
美好的心靈與感官饗宴 more »
5on Google, Jul 24, 2016
I love visiting this museum and it is not always the same. This time, we downloaded an app and listened to descriptions of the paintings, and it took about an hour. This museum had a wheelchair for us to use since my hubby had a foot injury. They have a wonderful gift shop which is worth the trip there. Parking was a few blocks away in a building...be advised, there is no parking at this museum!! more »
3on Google, Jul 10, 2016
more »
5on Google, Jul 10, 2016
Awesome collection that rotates frequently. Decent app. more »
5on Google, Jul 10, 2016
Great museum. I recommend taking guided tour. Incredible works on display and staff is very knowledgeable about the works. I learned so much at this museum. more »
5on Google, Jul 01, 2016
Make sure you spend the extra few bucks for the guided docent tour. It's a great way to get insights into the artist's life and how she lived. more »
5on Google, Jul 01, 2016
Solid single artist museum. Heavy on the early work. more »
Page 7 of 11
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
217 Johnson St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Museums
Today 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is dedicated to the artistic legacy of Georgia O'Keeffe, to defining its ongoing significance, and to the study and interpretation of American Modernism, late nineteenth century to the present. The Museum's collections, historic properties, exhibitions, Research Center, publications, and education programs contribute to scholarly discourse and inspire diverse audiences. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, in Santa Fe, New Mexico, opened to the public in July 1997, eleven years after the death of the artist from whom it takes its name. Welcoming more than 2,225,000 visitors from all over the world, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is the most visited art museum in the state of New Mexico, and is the only museum in the world dedicated to an internationally known American woman artist. One of the most significant artists of the 20th century, Georgia O'Keeffe (1887-1986) was devoted to creating imagery that expressed what she called ”the wideness and wonder of the world as I live in it.“ She was a leading member of the Stieglitz Circle artists, headed by Alfred Stieglitz, America's first advocate of modern art in America. These avant-garde artists began to flourish in New York in the 1910s. O'Keeffe's imagesinstantly recognizable as her owninclude abstractions, large-scale depictions of flowers, leaves, rocks, shells, bones, and other natural forms, New York cityscapes, and paintings of the unusual shapes and colors of architectural and landscape forms of northern New Mexico. The Museum's collection of over 3,000 works comprises 1,149 O'Keeffe paintings, drawings, and sculptures that date from 1901 to 1984, the year failing eyesight forced O'Keeffe into retirement. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is the largest single repository of O'Keeffe's work in the world. Throughout the year, visitors can see a changing selection of these works. In addition, the Museum presents special exhibitions that are either devoted entirely to O'Keeffe's work or combine examples of her art with works by her American modernist contemporaries. The Museum also organizes exhibitions of works by her contemporaries, as well as by living artists of distinction. Over 140 artists other than O'Keeffe have been exhibited at the museum, such as Arthur Dove, Sherrie Levine, Jackson Pollock, and Andy Warhol. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum Research Center opened in July 2001 as a component of the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. As the only museum-related research facility in the world dedicated to the study of American Modernism (late nineteenth century—present), it sponsors research in the fields of art history, architectural history and design, literature, music, and photography. Its annual, competitive stipend program awards six stipends to qualified applicants who can spend three to twelve months at the Research Center, which makes its library, collections, and unique archives accessible to researchers worldwide as well as to its in-house scholars. The Museum is open daily.more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  126
4  64
3  24
2  10
1  12
31 reviews with no rating
4.2
267 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence