BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Georgia O’Keeffe Museum

4.2
268 reviews
(Museums)
 217 Johnson St, Santa Fe, NM 87501US

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(505) 946-1000

Write a review

3on Google, Jan 16, 2016
It Used to be called "Spanish Baptist Mission", where many, including myself went to Kindergarten. more »
5on Google, Dec 17, 2015
more »
2on Google, Dec 17, 2015
Great art, staff was 80% crap. Rude and unfriendly from the moment we walked in, front desk to the guards. Totally ruined the experience for me. Also, despite their promises, student rates for both museums are actually more expensive. Just get the normal discount if you plan on seeing both of the museums. Also be prepared for rude and unsettling scowls from the security guards. more »
5on Google, Dec 17, 2015
Last time we were in Santa Fe the museum was closed. This time there was a superb collection of art from an early NY period. It is a small museum, so it does not take long to go thru it. more »
on Foursquare, Nov 27, 2015
Bring your ear buds and download the audio tour app more »
on Foursquare, Nov 17, 2015
Not super small, but don't expect to see tons of her works, and there were no large scale pieces on display of hers. Other travelling exhibit was a nice surprise. more »
5on Google, Nov 16, 2015
more »
5on Google, Nov 16, 2015
שווה more »
1on Google, Oct 17, 2015
Very little O'Keefe art in this museum. I would say 90% was from other artists from her period. No skull or bone images. Very disappointing. Go to the museum store and look through the posters for sale....you will see much more of her work that way, and save $12. more »
on Foursquare, Oct 14, 2015
Wonderful but tour app does not support Windows phones. more »
5on Google, Sep 16, 2015
Georgia O'Keeffe loved the Southwest. This was her home and place of inspiration. Hence the museum is in the heart of what she loved. The audio tour you can download for free is very informative. However, the introductory film on here life paints a Disney like idea leaving out the rough edges. The works shown are amazing. more »
1on Google, Sep 16, 2015
Always call before you go!! My husband and I drove over 4 hours from Colorado Springs and when we got there we were told the museum was closed because a late shipment of artwork arrived. I understand this was not the museum's fault, but they should have posted something on their website to let people know they are going to be closed for a day. more »
3on Google, Sep 16, 2015
interest in Georia O Keefe more »
on Foursquare, Sep 11, 2015
Ceviche & cocktails more »
on Foursquare, Aug 18, 2015
Download the app to take the tour and find out detailed info about her work. more »
4on Google, Aug 17, 2015
more »
5on Google, Aug 17, 2015
more »
on Foursquare, Jul 22, 2015
It's very interested more »
4on Google, Jul 17, 2015
Beautiful collection of O'Keefe's artwork. The collection is not huge, but very interesting and insightful into her life and influence. more »
3on Google, Jul 17, 2015
The collection is pretty small considering she was such a prolific painter. We were done with the whole museum in under 30 mins. Still, glad we went, the works on display were brautiful. more »
5on Google, Jul 17, 2015
more »
2on Google, Jul 17, 2015
Save your money and buy a book of her wonderful paintings. Very little available in the museum, and not even a place to park. more »
on Foursquare, Jun 10, 2015
WAY too small. Beware of going at the end of a semester-you'll be overrun with tour/school groups. No cafe, just a small food cart with coffee, drinks and donuts in the courtyard. Wi-Fi and lockers. more »
5on Google, Mar 18, 2015
Loved the current exhibit of O'Keeffe's work in Hawaii! The museum does a great job combining photograph's of the artist with her paintings and drawings. Look for the rooms with a great slice of the artist's life. more »
1on Google, Mar 18, 2015
Skip it!! 3 of 5 display rooms were closed, none of the paintings on display had working audio accompaniment and the staff were astonishingly rude.
A friend & I ventured to Santa Fe for the week
end and thought we'd see the works of the famous painter. I wondered why the google ratings were so low, at 3.5 stars. Now I know. First we were given complimentary audio sets because 3 of 5 rooms were closed. Fine, it happens. I punched in the numbers of at least 10 paintings, and nada. Not a single one worked. Each time the recorded narrator apologized and informed me that the selection had no audio. Ok, but annoying. Then as my friend & I looked for more work to see, we were accosted by a staff member demanding our "complimentary" audio sets back. She emphatically told us that she needed them for patrons. HELLO!!! That was us. At that point, we had only been there for 20 minutes, tops.
Then it got ugly. Surprised but accepting of the uselessness of the place, we quietly went to the gift shop. There I committed the unholiest of sins and asked if they had magnets. I heart magnets; they are fun, frivolous, easy to travel with, and usually a happy reminder of good times spent with friends and the odd places we've journeyed to together. I was honestly lectured by the hefty, matronly cashier about Georgia O'Keeffe's last Will and Testament (really???) and about how the "arteeest" would never consent to such appalling and disgraceful use of her work. Holy Cow. I just wanted to enjoy a weekend kicking it a Southwestern town.
If you're not into paying for stuff that doesn't work and being the target of frustrated art critics day-timing it as angry clerks, you probably want to avoid this place altogether. They can Keeffe it.
more »
Page 9 of 11
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
217 Johnson St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Museums
Today 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is dedicated to the artistic legacy of Georgia O'Keeffe, to defining its ongoing significance, and to the study and interpretation of American Modernism, late nineteenth century to the present. The Museum's collections, historic properties, exhibitions, Research Center, publications, and education programs contribute to scholarly discourse and inspire diverse audiences. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, in Santa Fe, New Mexico, opened to the public in July 1997, eleven years after the death of the artist from whom it takes its name. Welcoming more than 2,225,000 visitors from all over the world, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is the most visited art museum in the state of New Mexico, and is the only museum in the world dedicated to an internationally known American woman artist. One of the most significant artists of the 20th century, Georgia O'Keeffe (1887-1986) was devoted to creating imagery that expressed what she called ”the wideness and wonder of the world as I live in it.“ She was a leading member of the Stieglitz Circle artists, headed by Alfred Stieglitz, America's first advocate of modern art in America. These avant-garde artists began to flourish in New York in the 1910s. O'Keeffe's imagesinstantly recognizable as her owninclude abstractions, large-scale depictions of flowers, leaves, rocks, shells, bones, and other natural forms, New York cityscapes, and paintings of the unusual shapes and colors of architectural and landscape forms of northern New Mexico. The Museum's collection of over 3,000 works comprises 1,149 O'Keeffe paintings, drawings, and sculptures that date from 1901 to 1984, the year failing eyesight forced O'Keeffe into retirement. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is the largest single repository of O'Keeffe's work in the world. Throughout the year, visitors can see a changing selection of these works. In addition, the Museum presents special exhibitions that are either devoted entirely to O'Keeffe's work or combine examples of her art with works by her American modernist contemporaries. The Museum also organizes exhibitions of works by her contemporaries, as well as by living artists of distinction. Over 140 artists other than O'Keeffe have been exhibited at the museum, such as Arthur Dove, Sherrie Levine, Jackson Pollock, and Andy Warhol. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum Research Center opened in July 2001 as a component of the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. As the only museum-related research facility in the world dedicated to the study of American Modernism (late nineteenth century—present), it sponsors research in the fields of art history, architectural history and design, literature, music, and photography. Its annual, competitive stipend program awards six stipends to qualified applicants who can spend three to twelve months at the Research Center, which makes its library, collections, and unique archives accessible to researchers worldwide as well as to its in-house scholars. The Museum is open daily.more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  126
4  64
3  25
2  10
1  12
31 reviews with no rating
4.2
268 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence