BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Georgia O’Keeffe Museum

4.2
268 reviews
(Museums)
 217 Johnson St, Santa Fe, NM 87501US

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(505) 946-1000

Write a review

4on Google, May 02, 2017
Loved it. more »
5on Google, May 02, 2017
more »
5on Google, May 02, 2017
You are able to see her work very close up. You are also allowed to photograph some of the work. more »
3on Google, Apr 25, 2017
Glad I went but a little underwhelming for such a great artist. more »
1on Google, Apr 25, 2017
A friend and I recently went to see this museum. We are both Native artists and live in New Mexico. We decided to check out the museum to experience art in its multitude of forms. As we we're walking around the museum, we stopped to read a caption from a piece and slightly touched the glass that covered the plated caption. Mind you, the glass is thick. A security guard came over and asked us to not touch the glassed caption. We politely apologized and walked off. I noticed the security guard seemed to be a couple steps ahead of us as we walked to different rooms to check out more art pieces. It was so obvious that he was following us that I was beginning to get uncomfortable and upset. As we were heading out of a room, the security guard peeked from the around the entrance to get a look at us as we were getting ready to head out the room. There were plenty people who were in attendance but this guy seemed fixated on us. As an indigenous woman and a person of color, I have no doubt that this man racially profiled my friend and I. We were casually walking around and this man managed to be in every room we walked in, watching us. I suggest the museum and its employees educate themselves on the history of colonization in New Mexico. Santa Fe shares a horrendous history when it comes to genocide of Native people. There are plenty of museums, boutiques, etc. in Santa Fe that exploit and misappropriate Native culture. Needless to say, racism is extended in many forms. In closing, this museum and its employee(s) contribute to the racist propaganda of Santa Fe. more »
Business Response:
Dear Sherri, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum. We have heard your concerns and will address them with the appropriate parties.
4on Google, Apr 25, 2017
more »
2on Google, Apr 25, 2017
Pretty light on the number of pieces of her work (especially the more famous) and the historical perspective is no different than you'd get in a book. Considering the price of admission, we say "skip". more »
5on Google, Apr 18, 2017
We really enjoyed it, paintings organized by themes. Lots more about her work than just the flower paintings. more »
5on Google, Apr 18, 2017
more »
5on Google, Apr 18, 2017
more »
4on Google, Apr 18, 2017
Small.but wonderful museum more »
5on Google, Apr 18, 2017
Great place to visit. Get inspired by her art and learn. more »
4on Google, Apr 11, 2017
If you like Georgia O'Keeffe's art, you should definitely visit this museum! But be aware that you wouldn't see most of her popular stuff there more »
3on Google, Apr 11, 2017
Not impressed. Small venue. Obscure works. more »
4on Google, Apr 11, 2017
Museum dedicated to the famous artist. more »
4on Google, Apr 09, 2017
more »
5on Google, Apr 09, 2017
If you're into art this is a very cool museum, free app for a walking tour, but make sure to bring ear buds. Very informative documentary room at the start to give background info on Georgia O�39;Keeffe and her life in New Mexico. more »
4on Google, Apr 09, 2017
more »
5on Google, Apr 09, 2017
more »
5on Google, Apr 09, 2017
Staff was friendly and provided great insight into specific works. more »
5on Google, Apr 09, 2017
more »
4on Google, Apr 09, 2017
Didn't meet my expectations, but still a quality museum. more »
5on Google, Apr 09, 2017
I liked getting to know her and understand her better. A very interesting and talented woman. more »
5on Google, Apr 09, 2017
more »
5on Google, Apr 09, 2017
more »
Page 4 of 11
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
217 Johnson St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Museums
Today 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is dedicated to the artistic legacy of Georgia O'Keeffe, to defining its ongoing significance, and to the study and interpretation of American Modernism, late nineteenth century to the present. The Museum's collections, historic properties, exhibitions, Research Center, publications, and education programs contribute to scholarly discourse and inspire diverse audiences. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, in Santa Fe, New Mexico, opened to the public in July 1997, eleven years after the death of the artist from whom it takes its name. Welcoming more than 2,225,000 visitors from all over the world, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is the most visited art museum in the state of New Mexico, and is the only museum in the world dedicated to an internationally known American woman artist. One of the most significant artists of the 20th century, Georgia O'Keeffe (1887-1986) was devoted to creating imagery that expressed what she called ”the wideness and wonder of the world as I live in it.“ She was a leading member of the Stieglitz Circle artists, headed by Alfred Stieglitz, America's first advocate of modern art in America. These avant-garde artists began to flourish in New York in the 1910s. O'Keeffe's imagesinstantly recognizable as her owninclude abstractions, large-scale depictions of flowers, leaves, rocks, shells, bones, and other natural forms, New York cityscapes, and paintings of the unusual shapes and colors of architectural and landscape forms of northern New Mexico. The Museum's collection of over 3,000 works comprises 1,149 O'Keeffe paintings, drawings, and sculptures that date from 1901 to 1984, the year failing eyesight forced O'Keeffe into retirement. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum is the largest single repository of O'Keeffe's work in the world. Throughout the year, visitors can see a changing selection of these works. In addition, the Museum presents special exhibitions that are either devoted entirely to O'Keeffe's work or combine examples of her art with works by her American modernist contemporaries. The Museum also organizes exhibitions of works by her contemporaries, as well as by living artists of distinction. Over 140 artists other than O'Keeffe have been exhibited at the museum, such as Arthur Dove, Sherrie Levine, Jackson Pollock, and Andy Warhol. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum Research Center opened in July 2001 as a component of the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. As the only museum-related research facility in the world dedicated to the study of American Modernism (late nineteenth century—present), it sponsors research in the fields of art history, architectural history and design, literature, music, and photography. Its annual, competitive stipend program awards six stipends to qualified applicants who can spend three to twelve months at the Research Center, which makes its library, collections, and unique archives accessible to researchers worldwide as well as to its in-house scholars. The Museum is open daily.more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  126
4  64
3  25
2  10
1  12
31 reviews with no rating
4.2
268 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence