Logo White

funmi's cafe

Own this business?
4.9
75 reviews
|Restaurants|Louisville, KY 40205

3028 Bardstown Rd, Louisville, KY 40205

(502) 454-5009

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits

About

Takes Reservations Walk-Ins Welcome Good For Groups Good For Kids Take Out Catering Waiter Service Outdoor Seating

Suggest edits

Review Summary

4.9
75 reviews
557
  
48
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
10 reviews have no rating
  • 43 Reviews4.8Google
  • 32 Reviews5.0Zomato
Sort By:
3 results available.
Newest
on Zomato

3 years ago

04/21/2015, 01:04 AM
Good food, great service. Nobody in my party was very familiar with this type of food, but our server was gracious and did a great job of describing the entrees. All the food was good, particularly the Asun Chicken. After our dinner, it was raining heavily and our server got an umbrella and walked my family to the car. I would definitely eat at Funmi's Cafe again.
on Zomato

3 years ago

04/04/2015, 02:04 AM
We ordered the Vegan appetizer platter. For dinner we had the vegan platter 2 and meat platter 2. Everything was delicious and filling. I had to take leftovers home. Love all the vegan options available. Will definitely go back.
on Zomato

4 years ago

08/17/2014, 02:08 AM
Delicious food, friendly people, lots of vegan options. My whole family loves Funmi's! They're one of the best restaurants in Louisville for vegans. There are vegan options for starters, salads, soup, main meals, and desserts. That's really exciting because so many restaurants only have one or two things vegans can choose from. The food is always DELICIOUS to the point that I sometimes dream about it. I love her plantains in anything. I like the way she cooks her rice because it's so plump and has a great texture. Her cooking is so good that I crave things from Funmi's that I don't even normally like. The puff puffs dessert is like funnel cakes, doughnuts, and yeast rolls came together for a...  more>>
Featured content
5 positive review examples: it's all in the response

5 positive review examples: it's all in the response

5 positive review examples: it's all in the response
Tempted to buy google reviews? Why it is a bad idea

Tempted to buy google reviews? Why it is a bad idea

Tempted to buy google reviews? Why it is a bad idea
on Zomato

4 years ago

06/30/2014, 04:06 AM
Don't waste your money. Came here with high expectations based on several reviews. Food was wayy too small for the price you pay, what I ordered did not have a piece of chicken next to it just tiny pieces cut like im a kid or something. Will never come back here. My husband and I payed over $40 to eat here and we left hungry!!! They are very stingy with their portions but charge the same at American restaurants, RIP OFF
on Zomato

4 years ago

05/22/2014, 03:05 AM
Excellent flavors off the beaten path. Tucked away in the back of this strip mall, Funmi's is a too-easily-overlooked gem. I've lunched there when circumstances allow, and their flavorful, hearty stews always satisfy. The flatbread's a bit underwhelmingly similar to storebought pita, but otherwise every meal's been a pleasure. Complementing your meal with a zobo is an absolute must -- sweet and mingled with spices, it's a refreshing adjunct to their pleasingly spicy (but moderated on request) fare.
on Zomato

4 years ago

04/27/2014, 03:04 AM
Delicious food!!! I ordered a vegetarian entree (vegan platter II) & it had really good flavor & the portions was pretty big. The zobo tea was really good too. When I read it was a "tart" tea, I thought it was going to be really tart but it wasn't. I would compare it to one of starbucks tea. Will be back!!
on Zomato

5 years ago

07/23/2013, 04:07 AM
If you have a groupon do not wait till last day. We are in the restaurant now and so far we have waited 1 hour and still don't even have our water. One waiter for the whole place. Yes it is packed but its called planning and you should try it.
on Zomato

5 years ago

05/12/2013, 02:05 AM
We've eaten at Funmi's once before, in the previous location on Bardstown, and loved the food so much, we gave he rave recommendations to friends. The service was good, even though it took awhile to get the food - good food is worth a wait. But tonight? We were incredibly disappointed. The new location is smaller, so there are fewer table tops to worry about. We got in, were seated & ordered an appetizer almost immediately (because we know it can take awhile for the food). At least 75 minutes later, we still had no appetizer, nor did at least four of the six tables ahead of us), and or drink glasses were dry. As our guests were from out of town & needed to get home, we had to leave without g...  more>>
on Zomato

5 years ago

05/08/2013, 03:05 AM
Family Friendly African Flair. The service was friendly, if a bit slow. We were greeted warmly by Funmi herself, after which she disappeared into the kitchen as the cafe quickly filled up, and a young waiter buzzed busily from table to table. The food was delicious. Although it is billed as a Nigerian restaurant, the menu features a sampling of dishes from various parts of Africa. Most dishes can be ordered spicy, medium, or mild. My spicy Tanzanian stew was warm and flavorful without knocking me out. The peanut and chicken dish my husband ordered was also really good.
The restaurant itself is a bit on the small side -- as the name "cafe" would imply. It's clean and freshly-painted with appr
...  more>>