Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Extreme Snowboard & Ski

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
93 reviews
|Ski & Snowboard Shops|Banner Elk, NC 28604

3071 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604

(828) 898-7669

https://extremenc.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Retail in your area
5.0
(5) · Retail

2345 Puncheon Fork Rd

(828) 689-5162

12 people are looking at this business

4.9
(11) · Ski & Snowboard Shops

940 Ski Mountain Rd

(828) 295-7828

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(33) · Ski & Snowboard Shops

2916 Bristol Hwy

(423) 928-7547
4.7
(22) · Ski & Snowboard Shops

10821 NC-105

(828) 963-7792
About

Bluebird skies, powder days, terrain variety, mind-blowing views--nothing can compete with that. But, at Extreme Snowboard and Ski we can complement your natural experience with legendary customer service and unparalleled product selection. We know that you expect the best when you choose a world-class destination like Sugar Mountain, and it doesn't stop short of ski and snowboard rental equipment, apparel and accessories. With several convenient locations all over town plus our exclusive online reservation tool, an expert staff, and all of the gear you could possibly want, no other local ski and ride shop offers the comprehensive service and selection available. Whether you live here or you

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
93 reviews
575
  
49
  
33
  
21
  
15
  
  • 83 Reviews4.7Google
  • 6 Reviews4.7Facebook
  • 4 Reviews1.8Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Juan Jose M Serrato on Facebook

3 years ago

01/08/2018, 16:41 PM
Jeremy Saltz on Facebook

4 years ago

02/09/2017, 06:37 AM
People who work at the shop are rad. Always good conversation and service.
Tracie Wells Hicks on Facebook

7 years ago

12/28/2013, 00:09 AM
The folks that work here are awesome! We will never rent anywhere else!
Featured content
Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website
What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?
Quentin Houfflin on Facebook

7 years ago

11/05/2013, 05:46 AM
Lynn Worley Bailey on Facebook

7 years ago

10/15/2013, 13:45 PM
Bridgitte Davis on Facebook

7 years ago

08/30/2013, 13:35 PM
Jason S. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

01/18/2012, 17:37 PM
Confederacy of disorganized knuckleheads The worst rental experience I have ever had. We rented snowboards and gear for our family of four and bought extras like goggles, sunscreen, hats etc. Out of all the equipment we rented we had one pair of boots that were just too worn. As soon as we got up to Sugar Mountain and started, which meant driving up to the parking area and taking a bus the rest of the way up, my son tightened the metal sinch on his boot and it popped. Rather than have him board on broken equipment all day or busing it back to parking then driving back to the store, we rented a pair of boots at Sugar Mountain. I noticed that the boots we rented at Sugar were much newer and in much better shape. Later in the afternoon when I returned the equipment and requested a refund for the failed boots. I was told that they did not offer refunds. I informed the clerk that this was failure because the boot was very worn and that I lost a good bit of time getting my son set up with new boots at the resort. I figured I had simply lost the valuable time going through the rental process all over again because Extreme had failed to replace a worn part but the least they would do is refund the money for the boots we couldn't use. I asked to speak to the manager. Soon, multiple employees were coming out to confront me. I was amazed that these people were going to fight me over $14 rather that apologize for the inconvenience. I had shown up in a small town to spend a good deal of money on a day trip and was just surprised that I was not afforded a little more respect. As I grew impatient, I was confronted by a confederacy of disorganized knuckleheads who could not fathom that I would not bite the bullet and go ahead and pay for their failed boots. These kids working this store were all born at least 10 years after I rented my first skis but were focused on their policy that "the customer is wrong". One said that I should have brought the boots back down the mountain to them when it happened, a teenager named Cruz was gracious enough to inform me that their equipment doesn't wear out and that my son must have broken it. This obnoxious kid actually had the audacity to tell me that I should have been charged for the boots and that he was doing us a favor by not doing so. Another said that if I had called they would have delivered a boot to us on the mountain. I was informed that the manger (I believe it may have been a Ms. McGraw) had been contacted by phone. She would not authorize a refund and they had called the police. I can't imagine any of the people being pleased if they were in my position and being charged for something that they were unable to use and then being blamed. As a business owner who serves the public daily, and treats customers like gold and I am just disgusted and amazed by this place. Ironically, we had a meeting with our employees the week prior and customer appreciation was the topic. It was the principle of the matter. This was obviously not something we had abused or broken. This was a worn part that had needed replacing prior to our renting it, a worn out metal cable that popped from a lots of use. The right thing to do was to refund the money we paid for the boots that failed. When they refused again I told them that I would inform the hotel staff where we were staying that they should not recommend their store. This is when the young bearded buffoon got ugly. He loudly stated: "Your word aint s**t in this town, we know all the hotels and they love us!" I was stunned at how ugly things had gotten over $14! I took out my camera to catch what I could of the circus we were in. I realized of course that these were poorly trained employees in a badly managed store and that they simply did not get it. They had been trained to rent the equipment until it wore out and then blame the poor people it gave out on and charge them for it!. I later receive a call from the GM who was arrogant and just wanted to divert to my camera use. She said that I had broken the law filming in her store and could care less about the real issue. Ironically she informed me that the I had been filmed on security camera during this exchange. I pointed out that it was a bit ironic that she had called to tell me that I was breaking the law by turning my camera on while I was being filmed but she was incapable of comprehending this.
Respond to negative reviews
Jason S. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

01/18/2012, 12:26 PM
Confederacy of disorganized knuckleheads The worst rental experience I have ever had. We rented snowboards and gear for our family of four and bought extras like goggles, sunscreen, hats etc. Out of all the equipment we rented we had one pair of boots that were just too worn. As soon as we got up to Sugar Mountain and started, which meant driving up to the parking area and taking a bus the rest of the way up, my son tightened the metal sinch on his boot and it popped. Rather than have him board on broken equipment all day or busing it back to parking then driving back to the store, we rented a pair of boots at Sugar Mountain. I noticed that the boots we rented at Sugar were much newer and in much better shape.
Respond to negative reviews
randy m. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

08/12/2011, 15:33 PM
piss poor attitude Absolutely the WORST ski shop I've ever visited! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME HERE! The rental tech Gary was the only person who had a clue! He rang us out, after waiting forever, then set up the whole family's skis and helped us out to the car with our equipment. The lady who claimed to be the manager was a total b***h. She had a holier than though attitude and tried to talk us out of visiting Sugar Mtn as if she had a personal problem with the resort RIGHT ACROSS THE. STREET! Made no sense to us at all. Very proud of their overly priced demo equipment from 5 years ago. I will never return to this sad institute. I hope the nice ski tech guy gets a better job elsewhere. The management is running the place into the ground.
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.