BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?

early to bed

45 reviews
 5044 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60640US

Write a review

(773) 271-1219

Write a review

on Citysearch, Jul 22, 2010
Best Sex Shop! – Early 2 Bed is the best! Comfortable space, great selection, and a friendly and knowledgeable staff. What else could you ask for? I wouldn't go anywhere else. more »
on Citysearch, Jul 11, 2010
The Real Deal – Love Early to Bed. Really, it's hands down the best shop for sex goodies in town.
Their curated product offering is exactly what I was looking for... I don't like buy
ing stuff and finding out 'later' that it wasn't what I had hoped. I appreciate that they hand-select only the best stuff that's quality made. I also like that they have reviews of everything and I can read what other people thought (good and bad). Where else does this?
I really like that they are so women + queer focused too. They do have stuff for guys, but it's a nice change of pace to feel like I'm being catered to at a sex store.
This place is the real deal. I'm thankful to have found it.
Long time fan!
more »
on Citysearch, Jul 08, 2010
I've Never Been to a Sex Shop Like This One – Early To Bed is by far the most interesting and exciting sex shop I've ever visited. It's not seedy, it's not cheesy, it's welcoming, and it's actually a lot of fun. Searah, who owns the shop (and was the first ever female sex shop owner in Chicago!) is the nicest person,and she knows everything about every one of the toys in the shop, all of which you can handle and turn on and basically do everything except "try it out." There are no embarrassing boxes, or mouth-breathing men looking for pornos. This is a shop that you are comfortable going into by yourself, with a girlfriend--I've even been in there and seen women with their mothers.
But I think the most impressive thing about Early To Bed is its celebration of individuality and its dedication not to force women into pre-determined models of beauty or sexiness. Everyone is welcome there--straight, gay, bisexual, transgendered, thin, fat, gorgeous, um, not-so-gorgeous--really! It's kind of a magical place that dispels every myth you could have about sex shops. You aren't accosted by racks of black lace garters and red teddies and intimations of "pleasing your man." Early to Bed is about pleasing *yourself* and maybe your very lucky partner.
And it's beautiful. It feels cozy inside and clean--more like a gallery than a store--and I get a little thrill every time I go inside and see the toys on their long shelves against the wall. I'm never embarrassed there--and for me, that's saying a lot.
If you haven't been, you should go. It's better than online, because you can actually try things, and it's better than other shops because it's *genuine.*
more »
on Citysearch, Jun 18, 2009
Chicago's best adult toy store – A classy joint with a super cool staff. I love this place. They have amazing selection and I never feel creepy when I go in here. I really think anyone who';s looking for this kind of a store needs to go here first. Thank you - Early To Bed - for spicing up my love life. more »
5on Yellow Pages, Jul 21, 2008
I've been to few adult stores. Usually they're pretty dirty and creepy and anytime I've mustered up the courage to ask a question about something the person working there doesn't (usually) have much helpful information. So I've bought some good things and some junk in the past because of that.
A friend recommended Early to Bed and assured me it wasn't like most of the other shops. I was skeptical but he was right! It's pretty, clean, feels friendly (and the employees are too-- they didn't loom over me but also made themselves available for when I did have questions) and all of the toys were out of the packages with batteries in them! It was pretty cool to see how things worked before I chose which one to buy. I also had never watched "movies" (sorry they don't allow certain words) before but I checked out their rentals, some of which looked like I guess "regular movies" but others looked like independent films or something. The girl behind the counter gave me around down of the movies and I was able to pick out one that didn't have gross endings involving women's faces being "decorated."
I'm going back again for one of their workshops they had advertised too! I'll write another review if those were as good as the rest of the shopping experience was!
more »
on Citysearch, Nov 13, 2007
BEST/ONLY Adult Toy Store in Chicago – There is no store like Early to Bed in Chicago. Not since Babes in Toyland has such a wonderful, radical, feminist, amazing store come alive. Seriously...don't even bother going anywhere else - this place will knock you off your butt. The staff are amazing and know things that other stores couldn't even begin to explain. Go go go go go go go GO!!!!!!!!!!!!! Seriously, drop what you're doing and go right now. more »
on Citysearch, Nov 13, 2007
Best Store for all needs and desires!!! – Early to Bed is the best store for all types of sextoys and they have the MOST knowledgable staff. The store itself is amazing and the online store is great too if you are far away or prefer descretion. There is no other store in this business that compares to the way this store, staff and thier products promote sex-positive feminism. The staff actually know what they are talking about and make it easy to shop. They give you the space to browse on your own and leave you alone if thats what you want, but they are right there if you have questions. They have the best variety no matter what you are looking for -products for women or products for our trans community. I highly recommend Early to Bed. more »
on Citysearch, Nov 13, 2007
THIS STORE IS WONDERFUL!!! – This store is welcoming to all people. You can park across the street in the Dominicks parking lot and the staff is super helpful and knowledgeable. more »
on Citysearch, Oct 23, 2006
Editorial Review by Citysearch Editors – Woman-owned boutique for erotic toys and sensual gift items; shop specializes in creating welcoming and educational atmosphere. more »
on YellowBot, Oct 21, 2006
Woman-owned boutique for erotic toys and sensual gift items; shop specializes in creating welcoming and educational atmosphere. more »
on Citysearch, Aug 21, 2006
Great store! – I love this place. At first, I was very shy going to a "toy store", but the woman behind the counter made me feel at home, and that none of my questions were "stupid." The prices were very affordable, and I was happy with my experience.
For the reviewer who said "the atmosphere is a little too dykey" - I think that is homophobia on their part. It seems more a reflection on where they're at, than the store's atmosphere.
I am not a lesbian, but felt completely comfortable shopping at Early To Bed. So I highly recommend this cozy store!
more »
on Citysearch, May 02, 2006
pretty good – They definitely have their niche here. Well-priced, wide selection, friendly staff. There's something for everyone (and some things that WON'T be for you). They do a good job of normalizing all kinds of sex practice. Clean and quirky, mayeb a little sterile. more »
on Citysearch, Mar 26, 2006
Way too Offbeat – I want a comfortable environment and a wide selection. Although this is a women's store, it just doesn't deliver. more »
on YellowBot, Mar 25, 2006
I want a comfortable environment and a wide selection. Although this is a women's store, it just doesn't deliver. read more >> more »
on Citysearch, Jan 12, 2006
User review by dark_raven_amadahy – I love this store, its well set up, inviting, the people are polite and helpful with any questions. The selection is nice and they will order when able, they have reviews of the items (so you don't spend half an hour staring at an odd item wondering what it does). The store itself is warm, rather than dark and seedy. more »
5on Insider Pages, Jul 08, 2005
Great atmosphere and helpful staff
Early to Bed is an unexpected gem in the Edgewater Community. Searah, the owner, creates a comfortable atmosphere to do your sex toy shopping. All of the merch
andise is out, so that you can touch it and see if it's what you are looking for. There are also helpful descriptions next to the items along with costumer reviews. Visit Early to Bed if you are looking for a relaxed, women-friendly shopping experience for all your personal needs. more »
5on Insider Pages, Jul 06, 2005
A great place to shop even on line!
This is a great little store up in the Edgewater community. Sareah, the owner, the fabulous and very community oriented. She has educational workshops in her
store as well as a great display. I think the thing people like most about the store is the descriptions next to the items so you don't have to ask embarrasing questions about sex toys. She also has a great website that is easy to navigate and she sends cure things in your very discrete package.
This the best a great place - and she gives back to the community!
more »
on Citysearch, Jul 17, 2003
Best Sex SHop in Chicago!! – This has got to be the best sex shop in chicago! The staff is all women (no creepy men learing at you) and SUPER friendly. They totally know what they are talking about and spent a lot of time helping me pick out a new toy. I also saw something there that I had bought somewhere else for $10 cheaper! Seriously, this my new favorite place to shop! more »
Page 1 of 1
Are you a business owner?
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!


5044 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60640
Today 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm


We specialize in helping folks find the perfect erotic accessories for healthy, happy sex lives.
We love helping our clients find the accessory that right for them (and not just the newest, most expensive thing we have). We are happy to take the time to listen to our clients needs and help them however we can to make their sex life hotter.
We are particularly interested in helping first time sex shop visitors have a fun, stress-free experience and work hard to make Early to Bed accessible to people of all experience levels and interests. From helping you find the safest lube to choosing a unique and exciting erotic accessory, we pride ourselves on providing all our customers with kind, personalized service.
Established in 2001.
In September 2001 Early to Bed opened shop on Chicago's north side. We felt that Chicago was in dire need of a place where women (and people of all genders) could shop for quality sex toys in a safe, welcoming space. Knowing that many women were uncomfortable in "traditional" adult stores, we hoped that by creating a sex-positive, women-oriented (& guy-friendly) shop, more women would feel comfortable taking control of their sexual selves and finding new ways to experience pleasure with their partners and on their own. Our shop is staffed by people who take their sex toys seriously and are able to honestly answer questions about toys and sex in general. We help people from all walks of life find toys, books, accessories and information to help them have happier, healthier erotic lives.
Meet the Business Owner
Searah D.
Business Owner
I was in graduate school studying art when I realized that perhaps I had a different calling. Being very comfortable talking about sex, I had found myself on many, many occasions helping co-workers pick out vibrators, looking up answers to other people's sexual questions and initiating (probably too many) conversations on the topic among my friends and co-workers. I was also spending more time reading about sex then I was making art. I kept hoping that someone would open a sex shop in Chicago that was focused on quality toys and staffed by people who cared about them and about helping people have healthy sex lives. No one seemed to be doing that at the time, so I dropped out of grad school, spent a year doing serious research on the industry, scrounged up what money I could and opened Early to Bed.
My passion for sex toys and talking about sex has only increased over the years. I love doing this job and feel incredibly lucky that I get keep helping people pick out items of pleasure!
more »

Review summary

5  25
4  1
3  1
1  3
15 reviews with no rating
45 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence