Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Distant Hill Gardens

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.9
22 reviews
|Botanical Gardens|Walpole, NH 03608

507 March Hill Rd, Walpole, NH 03608

(603) 756-4179

https://www.distanthillgardens.org/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
About

Distant Hill Gardens comprises fifty-eight acres of fertile high country land in the hills five miles east of downtown Walpole, New Hampshire. An environmental and horticultural learning center dedicated to inspiring and empowering children and adults to cultivate an intimate connection to the natural world through education and observation. We hope to inspire visitors to develop an ecological approach to working their land and to give them the tools to improve their landscape one plant at a time.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.9
22 reviews
520
  
42
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Nicholas M on Trip Advisor

a year ago

09/05/2020, 03:26 AM
A wonderful day outside A wonderful walk in the woods. Fairy houses, children's stories that unfold every 100 feet. The trails are paved with crushed stone suitable for wheelchairs. This is a great way to spend a half day in the country with your family. You will not find this place without written directions. No cost.Free
defaultS889JC on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

10/03/2018, 01:12 AM
Distant hill a beautiful & informative experience of rural nh I visited Distant Hill with friends on a beautiful September day. Michael, the owner was very gracious & extremely informative. His labors have produced beautiful flower & shrub gardens & arbor ways & fanciful sculptures made from farm tools. There is still wildness in his design & his woodland walks are delightful. There is a children's area in the woods too. Great for a peaceful day trip away from summer crowds.
Business Response:

Thank you for your excellent review of Distant Hill Gardens and Nature Trail. I'm glad that you enjoyed yourself so much, and hope you get to return again soon.

NikoWan on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

07/31/2018, 01:06 AM
A great place! We decided to visit Distant Hill pretty much last minute on our way back to the City after having read about it here. It was perfect, a real hidden treasure! We were greeted by Michael who happened to be working near the parking lot and he introduced us to the place before we went exploring on our own. The gravel trails were perfect for townsfolk like us who had forgot to bring proper hiking gear for other trails in the vicinity. The natural habitats they wind through and the wildlife there were stunning, and thanks to the map it was easy to find our way around. A real shame we couldn’t stay for longer, but we will definitely be back once we’re around again!
Business Response:

Thanks for spending the time to write a review of Distant Hill. It was a pleasure talking to you, and I hope you get a chance to come back and spend more time exploring out 58 acres.

Featured content
How you can create a winning customer satisfaction survey

How you can create a winning customer satisfaction survey

How you can create a winning customer satisfaction survey
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
AeroncaGuy on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

09/03/2017, 01:11 AM
Well worth a visit... A hidden gem! Over the course of 37 years, Michael and Kathy Nerrie have created a nature preserve that brilliantly fosters and explains flora and fauna. Hiking through woods, meadows and across bogs put us in contact with trees, wildflowers, mosses, grasses, sedges, mushrooms, salamanders and lots of birds. The sound of nestlings peeping for food drew us to a tree-cavity woodpecker nest.. Most of Distant Hills is accessible to those with mobility challenges. Well worth a visit...
Business Response:

Hello AeroncaGuy, I don’t know how I missed it, but I just saw your September 2017 review of Distant Hill Gardens.Thank you so much for spending the time to write the kind and thoughtful words about us. I hope you get to visit us again soon.

Lynneparsh on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

08/05/2017, 01:02 AM
Lyme Gardeners An amazing place. Beautiful gardens, wonderful forests, a big. Pristine. Peaceful. Taking home so many good ideas. We will return.
Business Response:

Thanks for the review of Distant Hill Gardens. I thoroughly enjoyed your visit. Such a knowledgeable and interesting group of gardeners! I do hope some of you get to return someday. Remember we do offer guided tours and visits by appointment if you can't make it on an Open Garden weekend.

Laura M on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

06/19/2017, 01:35 AM
Perfect way to spend an afternoon We made our plans to visit Distant Hill Gardens after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor. We wanted a place where we could be outdoors with our two children, ages 7 and 12, learning and exploring and moving. This was the perfect combination of diverse ecological environments, accessibility, beauty, and FUN. Michael was incredibly gracious, and took time to tell us all about the different things to look for on the trail, in the bog (fen), at the outcroppings, and more. We learned so much! And our children delighted in the discovery of frogs and tadpoles. The frogs' legs are so long! The egg sacks are so gooey! So much learning. Michael is truly a steward of the land, and he and his wife have created an oasis that inspires and informs. We really look forward to going back with others, and during other seasons. The admission is donation-based, and they offer light refreshments -- iced tea sweetened with their own maple syrup, and cookies, also donation-based.
Business Response:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It was my pleasure to meet you and your family, and I hope to see you all again in the near future.

briegel22 on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

06/15/2017, 01:39 AM
Neature at it's Finest. Great place to spend some time outside. The bog attracted us here, but we were delighted to explore the rest of the grounds as well. All of the plants are labeled and there are sculptures scattered throughout the gardens. The owners are very friendly, knowledgeable, and seem to be totally in their element. If you show genuine interest they are willing to point out different things and teach you about the bog.
Business Response:

Thanks you for the excellent review of Distant Hill Gardens. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and please tell your friend to check us out. FYI - July is a special time in the bog when the native Rose Pagonia orchids are in bloom.

Nanette P on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

06/05/2017, 07:05 AM
A lovely walk Michael is so knowledgable and friendly, our group was so interested in all he had to share about his lovely woods and gardens. Certainly worth a stop if you are driving thru Walpole, but check with them first to be sure they are open to the public. Our group of 10 really enjoy our few hours there!
Business Response:

Thanks for the 5 ★ review! I'm glad you all enjoyed the tour. I hope some of you get to visit Distant Hill Gardens again with friends and family. We have lots of upcoming events that might be of interest. You can sign up on our website for our monthly Events Newsletter to stay informed.

nanp444 on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

06/05/2017, 01:04 AM
A lovely walk Michael is so knowledgable and friendly, our group was so interested in all he had to share about his lovely woods and gardens. Certainly worth a stop if you are driving thru Walpole, but check with them first to be sure they are open to the public. Our group of 10 really enjoy our few hours there!
Business Response:

Thanks for the 5 ★ review! I'm glad you all enjoyed the tour. I hope some of you get to visit Distant Hill Gardens again with friends and family. We have lots of upcoming events that might be of interest. You can sign up on our website for our monthly Events Newsletter to stay informed.

Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.