Logo White
Watch Demo

Dead Broke Farm

Claimed
3.9
564 reviews
|Recreation|Raleigh, NC 27613

6921 Wildlife Trail, Raleigh, NC 27613

(919) 596-8975

https://www.deadbrokefarm.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Top Recreation in your area
5.0
(8) · Recreation
4.8
(40) · Recreation

3417 Old Milburnie Rd

(919) 795-9796

2 people are looking at this business

About

Dead Broke Farm offers horseback riding on more than ten miles (16 kilometers) of trails on 110 acres (44.5 hectares) of land half an hour outside of downtown Raleigh. Take a western style riding lesson on bridles trails past creek crossings, hardwood forests, and wildlife. Rides are between one and six hours long, and horses can be rented for overnight and weekend camping trips. There are some age restrictions, as children less than six years old cannot ride alone. The farm also has campsites and fishing ponds.

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
3.9
564 reviews
5238
  
437
  
313
  
214
  
178
  
184 reviews have no rating
  • 344 Reviews3.8Google
  • 36 Reviews4.5Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Daniel Delgado on Foursquare

a year ago

04/17/2019, 04:24 AM
Great place to go for a ride. Friendly & attentive staff, especially to the kids in our group, healthy & well behaved horses & the trail is well shaded. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Aimee J. on Citysearch

a year ago

02/04/2019, 05:25 AM
I really enjoyed my ride at Dead Broke Farm. My friend and I did a 1-hour ride this past weekend. It was easy to set up the reservation and well explained what to expect once we got to the farm. We got instructions on how to control the horses before getting on the trail. All the horses looked taken care of, the guides were friendly, all horses were offered water before going out. It was just a lot of fun!! Really a genuine experience to be had. Worth checking out if you are in the area and want to get outdoors.
Eden B. on Citysearch

2 years ago

11/02/2018, 04:52 AM
An AMAZING Experience! If you are looking for the best place to learn and ride horses you most certainly want to go to Dead Broke Farm! The horses are all very calm and know the trails like the back of their own hoof! I highly recommend this farm because the guides are amazing and the horses are very sweet! Me and my sister both loved the guides and the trails, the trails were beautiful! At the camps the kids don't just ride horses they bond with them and learn to care for them
Featured content
Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO
Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?
Dana H. on Citysearch

2 years ago

07/19/2018, 07:50 AM
My daughter attended summer camp at Dead Broke last year and loved it so much she wanted to move up to the volunteer program this year. This is her first week as a volunteer and she is already learning so much. She loves being able to help take care of the horses and interact with them all while she is there. Whether interested in summer camp for your children, getting involved as a volunteer or just coming out to enjoy a trail ride, I definitely recommend this farm.
ChachinaNC on Citysearch

3 years ago

08/03/2017, 07:29 AM
My daughters (5 & 8) are attending this summer camp, and have really enjoyed it. They love the horses, and the staff!
Deb H. on Citysearch

3 years ago

06/21/2017, 02:44 AM
My 12 and 13 year olds went to camp here and had a wonderful experience. They learned so much about how to care for the horses ( feeding, brushing, bathing, saddling, caring for the tack) and also they have gained horseriding skills. They were both novices and had never ridden before. They each rode several different horses and had a great experience with every horse. It's been a real confidence builder. They love animals and the farm has many animals about, and the miniature horse is super sweet. Carla has been helpful with the information and answered all of my questions and Ms. Jean has been wonderful as well. They had such a fantastic experience here and I would definitely recommend.
betsy t. on Citysearch

4 years ago

07/13/2016, 01:14 AM
My 2 grandchildren (boy age 11; girl age 8) are visiting me from Italy. They are attending Dead Broke Farm Summer Camp the week of July 11-15. They are thoroughly enjoying the camp experience. They are excited to go in the morning, and tell me all about their day when I pick them up. They are learning so much about horseback riding, and the care of horses. They facetime with their parents in Italy, and share their daily experiences with them. This has been a great experience for them.
Kendell L. on Citysearch

4 years ago

04/04/2016, 11:46 AM
I have two young sons, 5 and 8, who attended track out camp at Dead Broke last week for the first time. I was a little skeptical at first as to how they'd react to riding these huge animals every day, but they absolutely loved it! The staff is excellent with the kids - so caring. It's a busy horse farm -65 horses- so I was surprised that they took time let the kids feed the horses, brush them, etc even after official 'camp hours'. They seemed really committed to the kids getting comfortable with the horses. And, mine did. We missed a day of camp due to illness and I was thrilled that the owner worked with us to make up that day! We'll be back soon! Great experience!
busillers on Citysearch

4 years ago

12/28/2015, 03:12 AM
Dead Broke Farm is a great place to go for a trail ride! My family went last month for the first time and we had a very enjoyable, fun-filled experience. My son (5) and daughter (7) had never ridden a horse before, so needless to say I was a bit anxious. However, the staff at Dead Broke Farm selected two wonderful horses for my kids that were perfect for beginners. My husband had called and made reservations ahead of time which I would recommend. He and my daughter went on the 1 hour trail ride, while my son went on the 30 minute guided ride. My son's guide was awesome. He totally put my son at ease and explained the process and told him about his horse. After my son got into the saddle with the help of his guide, he was led by the guide (who held the reigns the entire time) down a guided path. I got to walk along as well. If you have younger kids that have never ridden before, this is definitely the way to go for the first time. My son liked it so much that he wanted to go again once it was over. My daughter got the chance to brush her and pet her horse before the ridge started. As a Yguide member, she even got a patch (which was an added bonus. My husband had asked about the Yguide patches when he made the reservation. So anyone who is in Yguides or wants to go with a Yguide group, don't forgot to mention this when you make your reservation so you get your patch). After the ride was over, both my kids got to feed their horses apples. We had brought some from home and one of the guides cut them up for us and told us that the horses like the apples. That was a special treat for my kids to be able to do that. We will definitely go again. I would recommend Dead Broke Farm to anyone with kids. Even folks without kids will have a fun time out on the trail.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.