Logo White
Watch Demo

Dancing Bear Toys and Gifts

Own this business?
4.8
274 reviews
|Retail|Frederick, MD 21701

15 E Patrick St, Frederick, MD 21701

(301) 631-9300

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits

Top Retail in your area

Incredible Flying Objects
5.0
(1) · Hobby Shops

111 N Loudoun St

(540) 678-9993

1 person is looking at this business

About

Located in historic Downtown Frederick, Dancing Bear is an independent toy store filled with educational toys and games--all powered by imagination and no batteries. At the Bear, you'll find family board games, eco-friendly toys, European toys, baby gifts, puzzles, puppets, science kits, arts and crafts, and so much more. Our battery-free toys and games are made in the U.S. and around the world to inspire safe, creative play. Children and adults love our kid-friendly, hands-on toy store, as well as our year-round calendar of children's activities, classes, and events.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.8
274 reviews
5231
  
431
  
36
  
21
  
12
  
3 reviews have no rating
  • 137 Reviews4.8Google
  • 133 Reviews4.8Facebook
  • 4 Reviews4.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Kathleen Ministri Madrid on Facebook

10 months ago

01/03/2019, 07:28 AM
Dancing Bear is one of my favorite “happy places”. Anywhere. I loved taking my children here when they were small. So many quality toys, activities, and Games that rely on children’s (and adults’) brains, imaginations, and creativity. No batteries! Be prepared to PLAY when you walk in here! You will not be able to resist the warmth and enthusiasm of the employees and Tom, the store owner. ❤️❤️❤️
Ashley Rotty on Facebook

a year ago

08/17/2018, 06:59 AM
We love this store! Friendly staff, great products!
Kevin Grant on Facebook

a year ago

08/12/2018, 05:34 AM
I would recommend the store - especially as I love the sister store, Curious Iguana - except the difference between the two stores is staff. While the store has great options for more hands-on, electronics-free toys and fun games and science experiments or such - it lacks consistent staff. Iguana has friendly, knowledgeable staff who greet every customer warmly and quickly. Dancing Bear does not. I have been in numerous times, with my nieces and nephews and by myself. I have noticed an unfortunate habit the staff has of not greeting or approaching every customer. I don’t know the why of the situation but it is upsetting to spend over ten minutes browsing without a hello or offer to help - I ...  more>>
Featured content
How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails

How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails

How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails
5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response
Hillary Martinez on Facebook

a year ago

07/11/2018, 04:23 AM
Such a great toy store. I really love the selection and quality of toys. No batteries required, just toys and imagination �
Trish DeVaney on Facebook

a year ago

06/04/2018, 08:36 AM
Very friendly staff, cool toys, excellent music venue!
Kaitlyn Keefer on Facebook

2 years ago

03/28/2018, 01:33 AM
This is our favorite place to go in Frederick. My daughter attends some of the amazing programs and loves every minute of it. They have the best selection of toys and art supplies, and the staff is so friendly and helpful every single time. ��
Elizabeth Cox Cromwell on Facebook

2 years ago

03/16/2018, 08:26 AM
Kari E'Nama on Facebook

2 years ago

01/02/2018, 05:59 AM
We are here regularly and love it! My 2 and 4 year old consistently want to 'go out downtown' just because they want to stop by the Dancing Bear. We love that there are so many toys on display, meant to be played with! Really great to see what the kids are interested in. The best (no battery) brands are here...eboo, hape, calico critters, schleich, chewbeads etc. We have been buying here for years and the staff are always very friendly and fun. All price ranges, great, evolving selection. A downtown staple!
Elisa Rodero on Facebook

2 years ago

12/19/2017, 06:07 AM
By far our favorite haunt in Frederick. We stop in at least once a week to play and say hi. The staff are so helpful and friendly and over the years have become like family. We love that it is a comfortable space where my son can play and test out toys without feeling like he’s doing something wrong, or worrying about breaking anything. It is definitely our first stop when we need to buy gifts for any other kids, and usually we find a few fun things to take home ourselves, too. And there is the added joy of supporting a locally owned business. It’s the first place we tell anyone about if they are moving to the area with kids.
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.