Logo White
Watch Demo

Classic Tuxedo

Own this business?
4.9
161 reviews
|Retail|Boston, MA 02116

85 Newbury St Ste 3, Boston, MA 02116

(617) 424-7707

https://www.classictuxedo.com/

Open now:11:00 am - 7:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Retail in your area
5.0
(7) · Retail

59 Wareham St # 2

(617) 422-0663

4 people are looking at this business

5.0
(8) · Retail

178 Wayland Ave

(401) 621-6452

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Men's Clothing

Northshore Mall

(978) 531-7019

2 people are looking at this business

4.9
(30) · Retail

2 Newbury Street

(617) 236-1000
4.9
(65) · Men's Clothing

76 Coolidge Hill Rd

(617) 924-8240

2 people are looking at this business

About

Specialties Best of Boston Winner! We Specialize in Tuxedo and Suit rentals and sales for weddings, proms and all black tie events! History Established in 1991. Classic Tuxedo & Custom Clothing is a local Mens rental and sale shop with four convenient locations in Massachusetts. We understand that you are renting or buying your tuxedo suit for a very special occasion, so we are committed to making you look and feel your very best on that important day. Stop in today or contact us for more information!

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.9
161 reviews
5145
  
44
  
31
  
20
  
14
  
7 reviews have no rating
  • 148 Reviews4.9Google
  • 6 Reviews3.2Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Phil 'Bakuri' Cohen on Facebook

a year ago

07/18/2019, 01:26 AM
This is the place to go for tuxedos in Boston. Leo spent hours with me to make sure the tux fit perfectly. His staff was always super friendly and the quality was great. Thank you for a great experience!
Barry W. on Citysearch

8 years ago

10/07/2012, 01:37 AM
We actually rental tan suits for our wedding we were going to buy them for each guy for a lot more money from another place, then the wedding planner we used Miriam suggested renting from this place the Won Best of Boston a lot of times including this year. We got the perfect color Tan which is also hard to do when you actually shop around some places sell one that’s way to yellow other places rent one that is way to dark the one Classic has was right on the color tan that looked best in the pictures. They also had it in a slim fit with a non pleated pant so the guys were on point with their fashion we save a lot of money over buying and everyone in my wedding party looked great.
Ramandeep S. on Insider Pages

8 years ago

09/22/2012, 01:00 AM
Really satisfied I wanted to have a tuxedo for my friend's wedding, didn't want to spend much. So take that from classic tuxedo, Quality of tuxedo was really wonderful, really amazed why people here are giving negative reviews to them. May be they dont follow the rules and return the tuxedos on time, i really recommend them
Featured content
Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
Carl L. on Insider Pages

8 years ago

06/18/2012, 02:07 AM
Worst tuxedo - Classic I recently was part of a wedding and we got our Tux and suits from Classic Tuxedo of Boston. I can see now why they are the worst rated Classic Tuxedo.
Respond to negative reviews
Bostontransplant on Citysearch

9 years ago

05/28/2011, 02:17 AM
Terrible, terrible, terrible experience - go elsewhere. – I cannot believe these people are still in business and despite my more than 30+ reviews, I'm upset that I didn't check their reviews before renting. My girlfriend told me that her coworker rented from there once (it was close to their office) so I thought it was legit. I was wrong. First, the prices are outrageous. Over $200 for a rental? That's highway robbery. Shame on me for thinking that was going to be okay. Second, if I am getting a $200 tux, I better get something smoking. Instead, I get this no-name brand tux with the worst material I have ever felt. Was it 100% polyester or worse? I didn't care to check. Whatever it was, I was sweating in it big time. Third, if I'm getting an expensive tux, it better fit. They told me I would get a form-fitting tux. Instead, I got a tux where the shirt was too big (think Pirates of the Carribbean with the sleeves looking like parachutes), the jacket was a size too big, and the pants were too tight. Were they willing to do anything about the size? No. Were they apologetic? No. I tried getting a refund but these shady business people wouldn't allow it. Instead, I got a tux where it seemed like I borrowed the different pieces from different sized friends. Best example? Hand me down tux. Lastly, the customer service is awful. These people hate what they're doing and it shows. This place is all about bad business. Stay away. Use your money elsewhere.
annexme on Citysearch

9 years ago

02/05/2011, 01:47 AM
Beware they will rip you off – Avoid this place they are complete shysters. I went into the store and prepaid $215 for a Calvin Klein rental. After going to pick it up they gave me an "After Six" brand tuxedo. I never even heard of that tuxedo brand but found out I could have bought the entire tuxedo brand new for $265. I tried to get the store to switch the tuxedo but the man tried to tell me After Six is the same brand as Calvin Klein. Not only did he lie to me but he would not own to his lie when I showed him on my iPhone that the tuxedo brand is completely different. The store would not refund my money after I voiced my dissatisfaction. Beware of this store and the crooks that run it. Do not get defrauded like me.
Robert T. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

02/05/2011, 00:11 AM
Beware of them Avoid this place they are complete shysters. I went into the store and prepaid $215 for a Calvin Klein rental. After going to pick it up they gave me an "After Six" brand tuxedo. I never even heard of that tuxedo brand but found out I could have bought the entire tuxedo brand new for $265.
Respond to negative reviews
redelephant on Citysearch

10 years ago

04/07/2010, 01:09 AM
NEVER AGAIN--terrible business establishment. – Renting a tuxedo should be fun. Not ruin or cast a shadow over your entire tuxedo-based event. I could write a lot of reasons that I dislike Classic Tuxedo, but the most costly and unprofessional part of my Classic experience was this: After renting my tuxedo, I tried to return my tuxedo on three occasions during posted store hours, and every time the store was closed. On my first attempt, they closed due to snow conditions. On my second and third attempts, I showed up ~45 minutes and ~17 minutes prior to posted store hours, and both time they were closed. When I complained to the store, the director of sales, Jeremiah Wilson, had the nerve to say that the store hours listed on the website were wrong [well then, maybe you should correct them], and then I receive an email from him a day later concerning my complaints, and the signature in his email lists these "incorrect" hours (i.e., the store website and his email signature reported a 6pm closing time, and he said 5pm). This would be annoying enough due to the time wasted commuting back and forth to try to return my tux, but then they charged me over $500 in late fees because my tux return was late because they don't have a drop box and I wasn't able to return the tux on time due to their "casual" store hours. Despite multiple complaints, they refused to refund these fees. Totally unprofessional. I'm never using Classic Tuxedo again, and I would strongly encourage everyone else to not use them either.
sch2525 on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/05/2009, 00:33 AM
NEVER go to Classic Tuxedo – I am the chair of a non-profit and classic sponsored our gala - needless to say, they are no longer the sponsor after this year! In addition to the very poor customer service, they can't get anything right. Last year, the sleeve on my tux was 6-inches too short (just one sleeve!!) and this year, my pants were about a foot-and-a-half too long. Not only did they screw up these measurements, but they also would not alter it to correct the problem - nor would they give me a refund! So I ended up having to go to Men's Warehouse to have Classic's problem fixed - MW was SO friendly and helpful. In fact, they are the new sponsors of the gala. I cannot stress enough - DO NOT GO TO CLASSIC TUXEDO!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.