Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Cana

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
280 reviews
|Breakfast & Brunch|Oakland, CA 94610

530 Lake Park Ave, Oakland, CA 94610

(510) 832-1515

http://canaoakland.com/

Open now:11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.7
(3) · Breakfast & Brunch

2101 Sutter St

(415) 655-9169

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(86) · Latin American

1403 Solano Ave

(510) 841-3800

2 people are looking at this business

4.7
(687) · Breakfast & Brunch

1987 Santa Rita Rd Suite C

(925) 846-9900

15 people are looking at this business

4.7
(200) · Cocktail Bars

673 Geary St

(415) 563-8192
4.7
(276) · Restaurants

101 W Main St

(408) 354-3263

7 people are looking at this business

4.7
(298) · Cafes

2211-B San Ramon Valley Blvd

(925) 837-2886

20 people are looking at this business

About

Caña is a restaurant, cafe and lounge located right next to scenic Lake Merritt. The cafe serves coffee drinks and a small selection of Cubano sandwiches, salads and soups. Next door, the restaurant and lounge serves Cuban specialties like Ropa Vieja and Arroz con Pollo. On weekends, they host a brunch of Cuban as well as American favorites along with bottomless mimosas and live music in the afternoons. Sundays Caña calls "Sunday Funday" and has live salsa parties in the afternoon and evenings.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
280 reviews
5150
  
464
  
334
  
26
  
111
  
15 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Bobby Brown review for Cana
Bobby Brown on Facebook

9 years ago

11/05/2012, 14:42 PM
Sherrod Wayman review for Cana
Sherrod Wayman on Facebook

9 years ago

11/04/2012, 09:37 AM
Rosemary Alonso review for Cana
Rosemary Alonso on Facebook

9 years ago

11/01/2012, 08:39 AM
Featured content
Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers
Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?
Brittany Darwell review for Cana
Brittany Darwell on Facebook

9 years ago

10/30/2012, 05:11 AM
Delaine Ally review for Cana
Delaine Ally on Facebook

9 years ago

10/25/2012, 06:08 AM
rldavis review for Cana
rldavis on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

06/20/2012, 13:25 PM
Caribe @ Lake Merritt If you don't speak Spanish, just learn this one phrase: SANDWICH CUBANO. Caña does a great job putting together a delicious combo of ham, pork, cheese--and don't underestimate the importance of the pickle! I don't know where they get their bread, but it's perfect for this sandwich. I haven't tried their full menu, but if the other items are as good as the cubano, you will eat very well. The cafe section is a bit noisy--right on the 580 highway--but is perfect for a lunch spot. I look forward to trying the restaurant/lounge!
Mark C review for Cana
Mark C on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

06/18/2012, 05:12 AM
A disappointment I was really looking forward to trying out this new Cuban parlor/restaurant in the Lake Merritt area. We need the variety in this neighborhood. I first tried it in its to-go counter. Ordered the empanadas and the pork dish. The food was good, but the prices I think was too much! It didn't seem to be good value for the money then. They finally opened the restaurant side months later and I always believe in second chances, so my partner and I went in for dinner. The atmosphere was ok, they were busy. We thought the place was loud, not from the music but from the noise of the different conversations. Hard to really talk over the table. Our waitress started out friendly enough and took our orders promptly. However, she made a mistake with my drink, instead of a berry Mojito, she gave me the standard, which would have been ok if the drink was any good at all! I was really shocked that their Mojito was not up to par. I have Cuban friends and they prepare this drink for us all the time and of course I got into a habit of ordering Mojitos from other places too. Cana's mojito is one of the worst I've tasted, sorry to say. We ordered several dishes including appetizers. One of the smaller dish also come along with the main entree'. Our waitress forgot to bring in the appetizer and when we inquired later, she said she thought we only ordered the entree with the side dish. We let that go, but the crazy thing was as we were finishing up, she brought in the first one that we ordered and made it sound like that she was giving up a "comp" so we can taste it anyway. Of course, we found out later that the "comp" was actually included in our bill. What? The food was nothing special. The service was ridiculous. Maybe stick with the to-go counter- if they ever have a half-off discount.
33JMS review for Cana
33JMS on Trip Advisor

10 years ago

04/24/2012, 15:34 PM
Amazing!! This Cuban restaurant/bar/lounge is great. The music is great, they have live Cuban bands and amazing DJ's spinning the best Spanish music. It's very small and can get crowded however it's worth it. The ambiance is wonderful, a very happy place. Great location and love the crowd this place brings in. If you don't know how to salsa dance I'm sure by the end of the night you will. Thumbs up to the two gentlement who brought this sexy restaurant/bar/lounge to Oakland, CA. It gets crowded therefore waiting in line to get is worth it. I would like this restaurant to make more authentic Cuban food.
Tico_Rob review for Cana
Tico_Rob on Trip Advisor

10 years ago

04/22/2012, 05:01 AM
Little Havana on the Lake Cana has been a great Cuban sandwich shop and now they have a wonderful dining room and bar next door squeezed into an historic storefront overlooking Splash Pad Park and Lake Merritt. The specialty drinks are unique, the imported beers are distinctive and the food is pure Cubano. Try the share-plates to start. Large tapas-style servings, these plates have a broad sampling of Cuban flavors. We love the castillitos - ribs; and the dungeness crab cakes with a sabroso dipping sauce. Every thing from the salad dressing to the serving staff have a pure cuban vibe. Warning: Cana is very popular, loud, crowded...and fun. Not for the uptight; but the clientele is cool, there is spontaneous dancing, live music and and all-around good time.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.