Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Brown Sugar Kitchen

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
7 reviews
|Soul Food|Oakland, CA 94612

2295 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94612

(510) 839-7685

http://www.brownsugarkitchen.com/

Closed now
Suggest edits
About

Brown Sugar Kitchen is located at 2534 Mandela Pkwy, Oakland, CA. This location is in the Clawson neighborhood. This business specializes in Restaurants and has 4 review(s) with a star rating of 2.8.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
7 reviews
52
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
5 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Present F. on Citysearch

10 years ago

12/02/2011, 03:28 AM
Oakland Police Department Should Not Be On The Menu – Food is good, staff is great, owner...questionable! She called the police on us after we had eaten. In West Oakland? After people eat, they converse. Yes I said converse, not conversate. Yet we fit the description of suspicious activity to her? I will not eat there again until I get a personal apology from her.
sanfranellen on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/21/2010, 21:23 PM
Yummy! – Went here with some childhood friends and the food was incredible! I had the waffles and chicken....can't wait till I go back again! The only negative...we had an 1 1/2 hr wait, but it was worth it!
Readers Choice on Citysearch

11 years ago

08/22/2010, 02:51 AM
Oakland Soul Food, Disappointed. – Disappointed. Thought the location was hip and trendy, in a more industrial, Port-Authority - shipyard area, and just over the Bay Bridge from Oakland, near Ikea in Emeryville, could the location be more hip. I went at 1:30/2pm, they serve their signature dish "waffles and chicken" all day. I believe they're open for breakfast and dinner. It's a good space, clean and I like the open counter space, you can see the dishes being prepared. The place was full, just a short wait, I was hoping for the best, but, I was very disappointed. I had the signature waffle and chicken dish with the apple syrup/butter and just to test the soul-fullness the black-eyed pea salad. Hmmm? Let's say this, my hot food was served cold to me. The biggest disappointment was the waffles. The butter didn't melt on the waffles and they were just short of being a thin crispy cracker, it was truly sad. The chicken, even though cold, I picked at it for flavor. The only thing I could taste was the tabasco sauce and maybe paprika that was in the coating, other wise it lacked flavor. The black-eyed pea salad must have been the bottom of the bowl. I couldn't taste the peas for the onions, red pepper and vinegar were far to overpowering and the peas; the skins were tough. They had an ice tea that was interesting. Was my food sitting around somewhere, couldn't say but that's what I was served so this is the review. I can only say "take a chance" you might have to leave the food on the counter it's never worth the $27 tab. Oh and yes, the waitress told me " you can stay as long as you like but, you have to pay-up now." Hmmmmmm? Reader's Choice
Featured content
Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management
SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy
Accident Prone on Citysearch

11 years ago

03/28/2010, 12:17 PM
Healthy Soul Food! – I've been here a few times. I'd go more if the wait wasn't sometimes an hour long. The reason for the wait? The food. Some of my favorite menu items: Chicken and waffles with apple syrup, pulled pork sandwich with homemade (very FRESH) cole slaw, mac and cheese. They also have pies and other dessert treats. The dining room is very modern and streamlined. Unfortunately, the service is not. It often takes awhile to get your water or coffee refilled, or to get the bill. Oh, and it is a bit pricey for a breakfast spot - so don't bring your unemployed friends unless you're footing the bill. The food is worth the hassle though...when you have the time to spare.
Paul P. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

09/17/2009, 04:31 AM
Brown Sugar Kitchen is da kine Brown sugar kitchen is the best thing to happen to West Oakland in a long, long time. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is really nice. If you are looking for a special place for a breakfast meeting, it's the one.
Breanna F. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

12/17/2008, 12:00 PM
Best Food Ever! I can't say anything negative about my experiences at Brown Sugar. Everyone there has been nice, the lines are never too long, decore is attractive, and the food is to die for. I get so tired of eating at places that just warm up mediocre food - Brown Sugar is great food prepared local and fresh by a real chef. It's become our favorite place to have breakfast or lunch - even my 80yo supper picky aunt loves it.
Contributor on Citysearch

13 years ago

05/09/2008, 21:07 PM
Soul-food spot serves standard southern brunch fare in the mornings and wood-smoked BBQ for lunch--with local flourishes. – In Short Down-home cooking takes up residence in an industrial area away from any other attractions in West Oakland. Yet the quick sell-out of "home" baked goods--pecan pie, ginger molasses cake and sticky buns--is proof that the soul-food fare is fine enough to pull in Bay Area diners. Dishes such as cheddar cheese grits, buttermilk biscuits, crusted ctfish and shrimp po' boys are southern classics. Yet there's also love affair with the locals--Acme bread, Blue Chair Fruit Co. preserves, Blue Bottle Coffee and Marin County Three Twins Ice Cream are featured. Hits: Caffeine junkies will get their fix with locally roasted, French-pressed Blue Bottle coffee. Misses: With wait staff moving at their own pace and sometimes inaccurate bill calculations that may work for or against you, service is undeniably spotty.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.