Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Brattle Book Shop

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
916 reviews
|Bookstores|Boston, MA 02111

9 West St, Boston, MA 02111

(617) 542-0210

https://www.brattlebookshop.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Retail in your area
5.0
(1) · Retail

10 Colonial Rd

(978) 745-7170

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Retail

121 High St Flr 3

(857) 284-7073
5.0
(18) · Gift Shops

410 Harvard St

(617) 925-6219
5.0
(6) · Bookstores

24 High St

(781) 391-7171
5.0
(2) · Bookstores

700 Boylston St

5.0
(2) · Retail

76 Langsford St

(978) 283-5299
About

Specialties We are one of America's oldest and largest antiquarian book shops. We have over 150,000 used and rare books in all subjects. History Established in 1821. The Brattle Book Shop was founded in the Cornhill section of Boston in 1825 and has been in the hands of the Gloss Family since 1949. Over the years George and his son Kenneth built this shop into one of the largest antiquarian bookshops in the country. Meet the Business Owner Kenneth Gloss G. Business Owner Ken Gloss is the current proprietor of The Brattle Book Shop. He is a past President of the Antiquarian Booksellers Association of America's New England Chapter. He also sits on the Associate Board of the Boston Public Libra

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
916 reviews
5697
  
4146
  
343
  
26
  
117
  
7 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Ahmed Khawaja on Facebook

a year ago

04/28/2020, 09:31 AM
I miss the Brattle Book Shop so much. While I was a student at Boston University, I would be there about once a week, for 4 years. I've been living in Abu Dhabi since 2012, where I was born and raised. Not even a proper public library out here. Just one used books shop, which is run by people who know nothing about books; it's more like a book shelf where people discard/donate books; occassionally great finds can be made, but nothing like walking into a place like the Brattle Book Shop. All the books I have from the Brattle still smell like it :) Am grateful for that. I hope to someday go back. Someday.
Patricia Bean on Facebook

2 years ago

01/25/2020, 09:04 AM
I love the smell of a library and love a good ole fashion book store. This did not disappoint. I could sleep there and live there frankly. So many books so little time !
Roberto Serrini on Facebook

2 years ago

06/13/2019, 02:36 AM
Absolutely unique, super special, and wildly interesting ... like a quarter of a million books packed into this little ancient alley store... pure bliss for the traveler seeking something special ... heard about this from Atlas Obscura and TravelClast ... little video if you wanna take a peek... much love to Ken ... what a sweetheart! https://youtu.be/PvbK2Jtxif8
Featured content
How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google
Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained
Scott Miguel Brown on Facebook

3 years ago

10/19/2018, 06:01 AM
its a really great book store everything you can possibly look for is there and if they dont have it they eventually will they even got a floor with really cool rare books that is un heard of at most book stores this is the best book store i ever been to ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Rebecca Ayers on Facebook

3 years ago

10/03/2018, 10:40 AM
Smile! Behave like you're happy to be there. Treat customers, and their questions, with interest. You were impatient, curt and dull. You acted like I was an interruption to your work...instead of the reason for it. I know it's Boston & the city vibe is real...I also know people can be jerks...but, come on...you're a bookstore!! What's there to be so gloomy about?!?
Leslie Bianco on Facebook

3 years ago

09/07/2018, 14:39 PM
A lovely bookshop with a wide variety of used books ❤️
Kirstin Sawicki on Facebook

3 years ago

07/29/2018, 01:07 AM
Looked this place up knowing I was gonna be in Boston for a week. Was not disappointed! So much selection. I loved the outdoor sale area the best. I’ll be back, I may need to send a box home with just books.
Paul Bunge on Facebook

3 years ago

07/27/2018, 08:55 AM
I'm always in search of rare and inscribed Robert B. Parker books, and was pleased to find a good selection on the third floor. I also found a couple surprises in the aviation section. All shipped back to my home, expertly packed, for a very reasonable charge. An excellent shop! I'll be back on my next visit to Boston.
Abigail LaBombard on Facebook

3 years ago

06/28/2018, 14:10 PM
Unique second hand bookstore. Highly reccomend.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.