Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Blockhouse Creek Animal Hospital

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
578 reviews
|Emergency Pet Hospital|Cedar Park, TX 78613 United States

2200 N Bell Blvd, Cedar Park, TX 78613 United States

(512) 259-4200

https://www.bhcah.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
4.9
(171) · Emergency Pet Hospital

15400 Ranch Rd 12

(512) 847-5514
4.8
(310) · Healthcare

3421 W William Cannon Dr # 110

(512) 892-3486
4.7
(284) · Emergency Pet Hospital

11846 Jollyville Rd

(512) 250-8048
4.7
(313) · Emergency Pet Hospital

11951 W Parmer Ln

(512) 260-5443
4.7
(125) · Healthcare

1409 W Whitestone Blvd

(512) 219-7774
4.7
(703) · Emergency Pet Hospital

3981 West State Highway 29

(512) 864-9668
About

Block House Creek Animal Hospital is a full-service-animal-care provider since 1988. Located in Cedar Park, Texas, the veterinary facility serves customers in Cedar Park, Leander and the surrounding communities. The hospital offers a full range of medical, boarding, examination and surgical services for small, large as well as exotic pets and animals. It also provides a wide range of veterinary services, including puppy/kitten vaccinations, spay/neuter services, dental cleanings, baths/nail trims, emergency services and walk-in care. Blockhouse Creek Animal Hospital also provides pet food products.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
578 reviews
5435
  
417
  
37
  
210
  
145
  
64 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
Lane R. review for Blockhouse Creek Animal Hospital
Lane R. on Insider Pages

8 years ago

11/29/2014, 06:00 AM
Who's on first?!!! The staff whom I spoke to are nice enough, but lack any attention to detail, or are poorly trained on using their own system for recording charges. I went in two weeks before Thanksgiving to reserve boarding space or three dogs. The young lady at the computer kept wanting to charge me for a 3rd day, instead of only two that I needed. Finally, a mature lady with red hair came over to help her and I paid in advance. I came to pick up our dogs after the holiday and was told that I still owed $80 for the 3rd day! I had to be very blunt that I would not pay for a service I had not received before the young girl would go to the back and verify number of days of service with the doctor. She came back and said it was their mistake. The next morning, we realized that they had not returned the dog food we had left. I went back for it Saturday morning and realized the scoop is missing from the container. They are still looking for the scoop. If you do not mind watching people work for you without training or a checklist and are overflowing with patience and have all the time in the world, then this is the place for you. -- Enjoy!
Susanna S. review for Blockhouse Creek Animal Hospital
Susanna S. on Citysearch

9 years ago

03/29/2014, 02:06 AM
The doctors there are great!I took my border collie there when she had a torn acl and even though she was 11 yrs old at the time we went ahead with the surgery because if we didn't her last few years with us would have been miserable since she has always been such an active dog. To this day she loves to be active and we wouldn't have had that without such great doctors! I truly thank the staff there who helped my skyler enjoy whatever years she still has with us,two years later and she is still going strong
Cathie R. review for Blockhouse Creek Animal Hospital
Cathie R. on Citysearch

10 years ago

05/25/2013, 02:10 AM
Dr U, was rude and disrespectful. Got really upset that I said I might have to reschedule if I wasn't seen after already being there for over an hour. He didn't speak to me for awhile after finally entering the examine room. Didn't introduce himself or shake my hand. Called his friend who referred us to complain about me and said that he would be nicer to me next time. There won't be a next time. We were planning on canceling the follow up but was certainly advised by the person who referred us after he heard the ugly way the dr spoke about me.
Featured content
Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews
The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews
pocott review for Blockhouse Creek Animal Hospital
pocott on Citysearch

11 years ago

09/10/2011, 03:13 AM
poor service – We went to Blockhouse a year ago and at that time the office seemed friendly and competent. This time the experience was totally different. We arrived for our 5:30 appt. at 5:20. We stood in front of the receptionist who, by 5:30, had literally not looked up from her computer once to even say, "I'll be right with you". We were right in front of her and she never acknowledged us. A man at another computer station seemed to be multi-tasking. He said he'd be with us in a minute and then tried to help a number of other people who were just sitting in the waiting room, none of them smiling, evidently waiting for their pets. They were there before us and I didn't see one of them get their pet before we went into the exam room. We waited in that room for about another 15 minutes before anyone even came in. We gave that person the information about the dog. He left and about 10 minutes later another tech came in who did not have the information about our dog accurate, and we had to start all over again. Our dog was there for an exam. During our time there, she was seen by 4 different technicians who came in and out of the room. One of them appeared to be trying to be helpful, but began diagnosing the dog during our conversation. When the vet came, he appeared hurried and somewhat frazzled. We did not leave the clinic until after 7:00. I am sorry that our experience this time was so different than the first. The whole feel of Blockhouse was one of disorganization and a lack of genuine interest in the customer/animal. Even the other customers we saw didn't seem happy. Never again.
G H. review for Blockhouse Creek Animal Hospital
G H. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

08/25/2011, 03:26 AM
Avoid this ripoff factory! What a bunch of rude people in this place. Our cat developed a urinary blockage. We brought him in the next morning and was told that it would require a 2 or 3 day stay. We were quoted a price of $1000-1500 which would include aggressive treatment to include IV, X-rays, boarding, food etc. We said let's try the most conservative approach to bring the price down. So they agreed to inject the fluid under the skin instead of a IV and to not do the X-rays. We were told this would dramatically lower the price. Well 7 days later he was finally able to go home. The bill was $875. All they did was insert a catheter for 4 days and after that they manually expressed his bladder(they push on it to make them urinate) and gave him oral antibiotics. And they said all that cost $875? Seemed a bit high to me. Finances are tight for us, for many of the same reasons they are tight for other people in this economy right now. So I asked if it was possible to pay $600 now, $150 next month and $125 the month after that. Nope! They wanted ALL their money RIGHT NOW. NO EXCEPTIONS. Per their rude office manager this was straight from Dr. Urbanczyk himself. Not to mention Dr. Urbanczyk was very rude to my wife at about day 5 when we were given wrong information about our cat. We were told by his vet tech that the cat was doing great and would be able to go home the next morning. My wife called and spoke to Dr. Urbanczyk who immediately got defensive and told her he was not ready to go home and was very short with my wife. After she told him what we were told and that there was a communication problem Dr. Urbanczyk did not have the common courtesy to apologize. He wouldn't even come out to talk about payment arrangements, only his rude office manager. Gone is the day when vets would work with their customers. i guess they are like everyone else now. It's all about money, money, money! Well as the owner of four animals he lost all future business with us. So buyer beware, you are nothing but a dollar symbol to these people and God forbid you have any extenuating circumstances because they only care about the bottom line here. Avoid this place. Most of the the other vets and staff get their caring attitudes from Dr. Urbanczyk who has a cold demeanor and lacks any type of warm, caring bedside manner. I've owned dogs and cats all of my adult life and was also raised with them and have had plenty of experience with vets over the years. Dr. Urbanczyk and his practice are without a doubt the worst vet clinic I have ever dealt with. I wish I had checked this site before I brought our cat here. It's pretty obvious there's a major problem with this Vet.
Respond to negative reviews
greg3564 review for Blockhouse Creek Animal Hospital
greg3564 on Citysearch

11 years ago

08/25/2011, 01:34 AM
Awful Vet Service – What a bunch of rude people in this place. Our cat developed a urinary blockage. We brought him in the next morning and was told that it would require a 2 or 3 day stay. We were quoted a price of $1000-1500 which would include aggressive treatment to include IV, X-rays, boarding, food etc. We said let's try the most conservative approach to bring the price down. So they agreed to inject the fluid under the skin instead of a IV and to not do the X-rays. We were told this would dramatically lower the price. Well 7 days later he was finally able to go home. The bill was $875. All they did was insert a catheter for 4 days and after that they manually expressed his bladder(they push on it to make them urinate) and gave him oral antibiotics. And they said all that cost $875? Seemed a bit high to me. Finances are tight for us, for many of the same reasons they are tight for other people in this economy right now. So I asked if it was possible to pay $600 now, $150 next month and $125 the month after that. Nope! They wanted ALL their money RIGHT NOW. NO EXCEPTIONS. Per their rude office manager this was straight from Dr. Urbanczyk himself. Not to mention Dr. Urbanczyk was very rude to my wife at about day 5 when we were given wrong information about our cat. We were told by his vet tech that the cat was doing great and would be able to go home the next morning. My wife called and spoke to Dr. Urbanczyk who immediately got defensive and told her he was not ready to go home and was very short with my wife. After she told him what we were told and that there was a communication problem Dr. Urbanczyk did not have the common courtesy to apologize. He wouldn't even come out to talk about payment arrangements, only his rude office manager. Gone is the day when vets would work with their customers. i guess they are like everyone else now. It's all about money, money, money! Well as the owner of four animals he lost all future business with us. So buyer beware, you are nothing but a dollar symbol to these people and God forbid you have any extenuating circumstances because they only care about the bottom line here. Avoid this place. Most of the the other vets and staff get their caring attitudes from Dr. Urbanczyk who has a cold demeanor and lacks any type of warm, caring bedside manner. I've owned dogs and cats all of my adult life and was also raised with them and have had plenty of experience with vets over the years. Dr. Urbanczyk and his practice are without a doubt the worst vet clinic I have ever dealt with. I wish I had checked this site before I took my cat there. The negative reviews are almost an exact carbon copy of what I experienced.
DebE review for Blockhouse Creek Animal Hospital
DebE on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/20/2011, 02:14 AM
I do not agree – Last month I read earlier reviews and emailed BHCAH what I found. Not believing those posts for a minute, mind you, as they sounded like sour grapes to me, having nothing to do with the care of their animals. Dr. U is treating my dog Buddy, an 8 yr old pomeranian. When we thought there was no hope for his condition, Dr. U proved otherwise providing medication that has made a difference. Even though Buddy is not up to par, I have every confidence that Dr. U and his staff will continue to find all means available to treat our beloved pet. Kim Messenger, and the rest of the staff, is very helpful and caring. Even though their days are extremely busy, time is always allowed, thus the lengthy wait at times. To me, the wait means they are spending the time necessary with every animal, not rushing. Dr. U has called me in the evening, more than once to discuss Buddy's welfare and condition. I am very pleased with this Animal Hospital and recommend them to everyone. Our dogs prognosis is bleak, his condition is chronic. Since going to BHCAH, he is more comfortable and playful than he has been in a long time. We will always take our pets to this animal hospital with no hesitation. I highly recommend them. Veterinary services, no matter where you go, is expensive. I am willing to pay whatever I must to ensure my pets well being. I believe my pets are in good hands. Deborah Essary, for Buddy Essary. :)
Anonymous review for Blockhouse Creek Animal Hospital
Anonymous on Wellness

11 years ago

06/08/2011, 10:51 AM
They were so informative, and thoroughly answered every single question I had regarding pet care. I left feeling like I really learned a lot. Not only do my appointments never get canceled last minute, they take time out of their day to send me a reminder so I don't forget. They are extremely reliable. As far as boarding facilities go this is one of the better ones that I have seen and I feel confident that the staff takes great care of my pets.They try to make pets feel as safe and comfortable as possible.
Anonymous review for Blockhouse Creek Animal Hospital
Anonymous on Wellness

11 years ago

06/08/2011, 07:00 AM
They were so informative, and thoroughly answered every single question I had regarding pet care. I left feeling like I really learned a lot. Not only do my appointments never get canceled last minute, they take time out of their day to send me a reminder so I don't forget. They are extremely reliable. As far as boarding facilities go this is one of the better ones that I have seen and I feel confident that the staff takes great care of my pets.They try to make pets feel as safe and comfortable as possible.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.